Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this all-action fighting adventure, a battalion of Viking invaders, 1200 years late to the party, are causing havoc in your town. Imagine getting together a posse of local citizens: a construction worker, a butcher, a policeman, a pastor, and a schoolboy, then ripping up a phone booth or picking up a car,and hurling it at the advancing Viking hordes. That's the sort of crazy action you can expect in this totally new and original PSN title for PS3 and PS Vita. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    It's a cute, easy-to-play, innovative brawler presented with humor and a well-developed sense of fun. It's even more fun played through with a partner or two, and though the vs. multiplayer isn't to my taste, I'm sure many gamers will like it.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    80
    When Viking's Attack is a fun little game, ideally played in short sessions. It looks and plays fine, with cross-platform options (if you buy the PS3 or the Vita version, you get the other one as well) available to extend playability. Not the most impressive title ever, but definitely good for a couple of laughs.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    80
    Thoroughly addictive. [Jan 2013, p.81]
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    70
    A simple, fun and perfectly executed idea, both visually and when it comes to the gameplay. It's surprising how something that simple can be that fun, but it ends up becoming repetitive. It can last way longer if we stick to the multiplayer modes, though.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    70
    It's a fun game whose only purpose is to amuse those who invest their money in it. But before spending your money, you should know that a dedicated friends list is necessary to pull the most fun out of it.
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    With more room for Chuckle Brothers impersonators than Nolan North when it comes to the voice work, When Vikings Attack is weird and personable and surprisingly hard to dislike. Cushty!
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    55
    We were hoping that this would be a game that we could easily pick up, play and enjoy, but When Vikings Attack's appeal doesn't last long. Even getting it on the PlayStation 3 as well as the vita for the same price doesn't justify what you spend on it.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    For the cheap price, this game is perfect. There are plenty of levels and multiplayer modes to keep you busy at first. The real fun though is when you complete the game, and then have to go back to beat the challenges on each level and unlock new characters. Getting high combos is very fun and challenging and extends the replay value indefinately. I have already invested 20 hours in this game, and can see myself playing for awhile. Some people call it too simple, but they are simple minded individuals....there is a hidding depth to this game that you will realize is there after a few hours. The game looks amazing on the Vita and runs at a constant 60fps. This game is very fun alone, but is super fun with friends or online. I have played all Vita games, and I would have to say that this is in my top 3.....AND ITS ONLY like 7 bucks on PS plus. If you love classic challenging gameplay, and are a fan of the powerstone series or any partygame that has a game within where you throw **** at eachother....PICK THIS UP NOW!!! I give it a 10 for its price(10.5 considering you get both copies)....I would give it a 9 if it was full priced. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Why aren't there much more games like these? Beautiful, quick, cheap and, the most important of all, easy to play. It's basically what anyone wants from a portable, not touchy things. GREAT portable game! Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    With great visuals, epic comedy-enthused slapstick gameplay, tons of content and sublime production values, for my money, When Vikings Attack is hands down, one of the best indie games available for Playstation Vita today. Add to that the wonderful 'When Vikings Relax' DLC and a relatively modest price of entry, and you're left with an utterly essential thoroughbred that no self-respecting Vita owner should do without. Seriously, free up 600mb's of memory real estate, drop £7.99 on When Vikings Attack (plus the DLC of course), and enjoy. I can as good as guarantee that you'll be glad you did. See you on the crazy golf battlefield! Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Am really enjoying this game. It IS very repetitive, and can be a tad frustrating at times, but the gameplay is solid and controls fluent. Great game to play if you've only got 20-30 minutes. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    Fun game but it has 1 fundemental flaw. You see, when Vikings attack is best played in a local multiplayer setting on a single tv, something the vita cannot physically do. It was amazing that you get the vita game for free if you buy the ps3 version but the ps3 version is far better because of the local multiplayer set up. Trust me, get 3 freinds round and play 4 player free for all and you will understand. You see without that the vita version just ends up being an average game that gets a bit boring after a while, but local multiplayer doesn't have that problem. Collapse
  6. May 6, 2014
    5
    The game looks good and has a quirky sense of humour but I found the game got REALLY repetitive, really fast. The gameplay was fun enough for a few minutes but that is about the longest I could see me playing it. If did not try the multiplayer so maybe that would be much more fun but I doubt it. Maybe younger kids would like it where it is so simple. I bought it for 99 cents on a flash sale but I'd say that's the most it is worth. Expand