Wipeout 2048 PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 22, 2012
    70
    Well done job as usual with minimum experiments. This is WipEout 2048 a game which does not surprise nor disappoint. [March 2012]
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    70
    It's absolutely gorgeous. But loading times and challenging races results in a game that doesn't really fit the portable format.
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    70
    At its core, Wipeout 2048 is a solid arcade racer, but it suffers from a few too many poor design decisions to truly shine. Die hard series fanatics will still find a lot to enjoy, but mileage may vary for first time players.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    WipEout 2048 is the best racing game in the PS Vita's launch line-up. The lack of 60 fps is a shame, since this game is mainly focused on speed and smoothness. This and the very long loading times are the main issues of a really good game.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    WipEout 2048 is an excellent entry in the series on Sony's new portable. Visually there aren't many differences when in comparison with the PS3 version. Its only fault is the simplicity of its contents such as events and goals.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    70
    Some technical issues aside, the future racing on Vita is really entertaining.
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    70
    Maybe the games' designers will clear up upcoming tracks from some of the visual ballast to take out some of the hecticness of some races and maybe even shorten the almost painfully long loading times. The basics are there, to be sure, to dub the astonishingly good looking WipEout 2048 as racing fans' first choice when the Vita launches on February 22nd.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    A great showcase for the PS Vita and at times as good as WipEout has ever been, despite a few questionable options and graphical issues.
  9. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    With stunning graphics, strong tracks, and a great soundtrack, Wipeout 2048 is a solid launch offering for the PlayStation Vita, even if the load times will make you want to make you throw yourself in front of your own hovercraft.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    Series fans will find a lot to love here, with plenty of new challenges, though those new to the series may find themselves frustrated with touchy controls and unforgiving levels. If you really need to go super-fast at Vita's launch, this one could fit the bill. Otherwise, there are more accessible launch racers out there.
  11. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    It's good, chaotic fun and has a baseline level of quality and polish that's pleasing to see. If this is your first Wipeout game, chances are you'll have a blast. For veterans, however – especially those schooled in the delights of HD and Fury – this game just isn't as smooth in feel or as elegant in design.
  12. Mar 15, 2012
    65
    While Zone mode is damn near worth the price of admission alone, it's time for Studio Liverpool to refresh the franchise with some big ideas or hand it over to someone who will.
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    It can be hard to look past the game's technical issues, which include insane pre-race load times and a frame rate that tends to rob the traditionally breakneck hover racer of its sense of speed. Toss in a UI that's a little too slick for its own good and you end up with something a little more ho-hum than you might be expecting.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD onI bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD on PS3. The visual play looks awesome, the control is steady. However you may dislike the wait cause every time you must wait for 60 seconds long until the initial race-loading completes. The multiplay is sometime interrupted by sudden network connection losts due to authority server out of sync. On Feb 15 2012, the patch 1.01 has been released with improved load time, various bug fixes, and new audio track: Orbital Beelzedub! Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    This game is better than fury, HD and pure without a shadow of a doubt. there aren't as many teams as i would have liked but everything elseThis game is better than fury, HD and pure without a shadow of a doubt. there aren't as many teams as i would have liked but everything else exceeds my expectations far too much for me to care, plus we never know what DLC is planned, i for one cant wait to find out though. the best thing about the game is how detailed and more engaging the tracks are. i LOVE how there are standard road sections and even puddles on the tracks, it really sets the scene of the beginning years of wipe out and makes the races so much more interesting. worst part... the game crashes a lot, there will be a fix for this though im sure but the game thankfully is good enough to ignore a few crashes here and there. enjoy. Full Review »
  3. wrh
    Feb 24, 2012
    10
    There are already lots of helpful reviews out there, so I won't go into details. Let me just say that it is more immersive than anything IThere are already lots of helpful reviews out there, so I won't go into details. Let me just say that it is more immersive than anything I ever played on a mobile device. Awesome graphics, smooth controls, and a rapid pace - just like with the best console games. I don't understand people who insist on comparing Vita games to 3DS titles.... Full Review »