• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    92
    If not for the irritatingly long loading times, this might well be the best launch title for the PlayStation Vita Sony has in store for us. The feeling of speed still provides a satisfyingly big wow-factor, while the cross-platform options turn this title into a handheld pioneer. A must-have for every Vita-owner.
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    91
    I definitely think Wipeout 2048 is worth checking out, and from what I've seen it seems to be the racing game to beat amongst the Vita launch titles. I've heard and seen dubious things from both Modnation Racers and Asphalt (and Ridge Racer is MIA at the moment), so if you need to get your racing fix this seems like the way to go. It's a legitimately great experience on the new handheld, and looks absolutely fabulous on the OLED screen. I highly recommend picking it up.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    91
    Wipeout 2048 isn't just one of the best launch games (an achievement in itself, as the standard is very high), it's also one of the best games in an excellent series.
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Easily one of the best looking launch titles available. [May 2012, p.78]
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Everything about 2048 oozes class, screams quality and does more than enough to force the hardcore to take a serious look at Vita. [Issue#119, p.92]
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    Great visuals, sounds, controls and overall gameplay make for a remarkable experience on a portable device.
  7. 90
    This is the best Wipeout in a long time, and the best introduction to the series a newcomer could wish for.
  8. 90
    Despite the long loading times (typically 50 seconds before each track) and the excruciating learning curve for non-pros, WipEout 2048 offers a tactically exciting, rewarding and challenge campaign mode with some gloriously-designed tracks and nice variety of events.
  9. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    This WipEout 2048 is a true technology feat. Visually sublime, fast as hell, it's a comprehensive game as well. If the 3 seasons of the solo campaign will not challenge much until the last races, they will make a good training for the enhanced strategic elements, before heading into the multiplayer campaign. A splendid title, perfect for nomad play.
  10. Apr 17, 2012
    87
    Fast, fluid and stylish scifi racer. The multiplayer mode works very well. [Apr 2012]
  11. Feb 16, 2012
    87
    There's plenty of content, it's flashy and pleasing in so many ways, the presentation is singularly appealing, and the gameplay is rock solid. The load times are oddly slow and visibility can be a problem but for the most part, this is a highly enjoyable experience.
  12. Feb 16, 2012
    87
    There's an inevitable faltering in the fact that this is 'merely' WipEout again – there's not too much that can be done with the formula, but to be honest there's little we'd want to see done to change things up. Though a crossover with PSone's Rollcage, thus adding wheeled vehicles, would be pretty nifty. All the same, this does mean you're getting a game made up of a very good experience – but a very good experience you've played through seven times before. Eight if you had an N64. WipEout 2048 still comes with an unconditional recommendation.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD on PS3. The visual play looks awesome, the control is steady. However you may dislike the wait cause every time you must wait for 60 seconds long until the initial race-loading completes. The multiplay is sometime interrupted by sudden network connection losts due to authority server out of sync. On Feb 15 2012, the patch 1.01 has been released with improved load time, various bug fixes, and new audio track: Orbital Beelzedub! Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    This game is better than fury, HD and pure without a shadow of a doubt. there aren't as many teams as i would have liked but everything else exceeds my expectations far too much for me to care, plus we never know what DLC is planned, i for one cant wait to find out though. the best thing about the game is how detailed and more engaging the tracks are. i LOVE how there are standard road sections and even puddles on the tracks, it really sets the scene of the beginning years of wipe out and makes the races so much more interesting. worst part... the game crashes a lot, there will be a fix for this though im sure but the game thankfully is good enough to ignore a few crashes here and there. enjoy. Full Review »
  3. wrh
    Feb 24, 2012
    10
    There are already lots of helpful reviews out there, so I won't go into details. Let me just say that it is more immersive than anything I ever played on a mobile device. Awesome graphics, smooth controls, and a rapid pace - just like with the best console games. I don't understand people who insist on comparing Vita games to 3DS titles.... Full Review »