Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    Just like Ys Seven was one of the very best games the PSP had to offer, Ys: Memories of Celceta is one of the best games the Vita has to offer. It's fun, it's fast, it's easy to pick up — what's not to like?
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    95
    Not a system seller, but it’s a game worthy of buying if you own a Vita and easily one of the best RPGs of the year.
  3. Action-JRGs don't get any better than this. [January 2014, p81]
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    90
    Ys: Memories of Celceta is a joy to play. It isn't a technical marvel and doesn't get an award for originality with its story, but the practically perfect combat system reconfirms developer Nihon Falcoms thirty years of experience creating action RPGS's. Memories of Celceta is incredibly fun, addictive and a must have for any RPG-loving Vita owner.
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    90
    I truly believe that Ys: Memories Of Celceta could be one of the strongest Vita titles introduced since the console’s launch.
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    A fantastic adventure from beginning to end, and one that everyone should play.
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    If you own a PS Vita, you owe it to yourself to get this game, especially if you like action RPGs.
  8. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    A fantastic action-adventure role-playing game, Ys Memories of Celceta is a great game to use to introduce yourself to the Ys franchise. It's not your typical AAA title, but it definitely plays like one.
  9. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    It doesn’t need extensive side missions, a sprawling mind-bending plot, or the full graphic capability of the Vita, because it’s just so much fun, which is why it’s garnering the reputation as a must-have for Vita owners.
  10. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    All in all, I'd say that Y's: Memories of Celceta enters the "Must Have" area for RPG fans. It shows it's age in some places and isn't the prettiest game ever, but the depth of game to be explored here is well worth the price of admission.
  11. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Clocking in at around twenty hours and with time attack/new game + unlocking after the completion of the game, there’s a lot to see and explore. While I was a bit surprised to find that the normal difficulty was a bit too easy for Ys standards and wished that I had started off on hard mode, I had a great time with Adol and company exploring the land of Celceta.
  12. 90
    It's a genuinely fun-to-play, feel-good experience that joins Tearaway as one of this year's best Vita games. I suspect that few gamers can resist being addicted to the excellent combat, or fail to crack a smile at the party's banter during conversations.
  13. Nov 30, 2013
    90
    It’s truly impressive just how solid a game Ys: Memories of Celceta is. It has a lot of moving parts, and yet never once does it get lost in all its trying to do. Instead, all of its aspects feel polished, well-conceived and executed in tandem with a remarkable sense of precision. This is one of the Vita’s most prized RPGs, and realistically, one of its best titles.
  14. Feb 21, 2014
    88
    This episode of the Ys series is a great example of what a RPG game is supposed to be. It offers the depth some users look for, and also the accessibility some others do. A great addition to the PS Vita's catalogue.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Best game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugest world ever seen in portable RPG. And music... I just love it. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best action RPGs to come to the Vita, it has excitement at every turn and the game-play is memorizing. The music is amazing, fits the game really well. The world for this game is huge! I love this game!!! Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Each new Ys game is a guilty pleasure. Every other games in progress are set aside for long sessions of incredibly satisfying hack and slash adventures with Adol.

    Very few changes have been made to the great party and skills systems of Ys Seven for the PSP and that's quite alright since Seven had already brought along changes like crafting and sidequests board that made the game feel much more substantial than previous games of the series.

    If you're a fan of the series or looking for a Diablo-like with an anime flair, Ys: Memories of Celceta's is another great production from Falcom and a solid buy for any Vita owner.
    Full Review »