Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ys: Memories of Celceta has players revisit the land and characters of the Japanese cult favorite Ys IV. This re-envisioning of the fourth installment in the Ys series takes a new approach, changing and framing the story of Ys IV within an all-new tale of conspiracy, deception and mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    Just like Ys Seven was one of the very best games the PSP had to offer, Ys: Memories of Celceta is one of the best games the Vita has to offer. It's fun, it's fast, it's easy to pick up — what's not to like?
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    A fantastic action-adventure role-playing game, Ys Memories of Celceta is a great game to use to introduce yourself to the Ys franchise. It's not your typical AAA title, but it definitely plays like one.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    86
    The story is a little blasé and the game is a little slow to start but once you get drawn in, it's very hard to put this game down.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Hearing a sweeping synth-rock melody punctuate a flurry of sword strikes, mace combos, and stalagmites exploding into a shower of loot is a delightful event that you'll experience countless times.
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    For a game whose hero is only one letter short from being named after the greatest monster of the past century, Ys: Memories of Celceta doesn’t do too badly at all. Sure, the lack of vocal tracks and the balance issues conspire to stop the game from reaching its full potential, but it’s still a game that can stand proud both on the Vita and within the Ys catalogue.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    One of the best Ys’ games of the last decade. Memories of Celceta gives action-RPG’s fans a new reason to own a PlayStation Vita.
  7. 60
    I'm just glad that by JRPG standards Celceta is reasonably focused, allowing me to complete it and move on to the next game, neither having been bored nor especially inspired.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Best game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugest world ever seen in portable RPG. And music... I just love it. Collapse
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    I Have played many Ys games this one reminds me of Ys SEVEN and its even better! If you own already a PS Vita this title is MUST HAVE! Awesome quick combat system bosses locations and like in every YS Music is fantastic! I Really recommend it to everyone even if you didn't play Ys before! Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Definitely in my top three favorite vita games that I owned. The music soundtrack is great and game play is very addicting. Hope to see more RPG's on the Vita in the future. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games for Vita. I was skeptical when purchasing this game because I am not a big JRPG fan Ys: Memories of Celceta is really fun. I have about 10 hours into it and I am really enjoying it. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    This game is a must-buy for every PS Vita owner who likes RPGs. The graphics are meh and the story fulfills its purpose but can be easily ignored. The things that made me play it for 30 hours (and not being even remotely close to put it down) is the vast amount of content and the gameplay which are stellar; the world is humongous and the combat system very tight and rewards utilizing effective blocking and evading. So if you have a Vita and like RPGs then it's a easy choice you won't forget. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    One of the best games for vita. In agreement that only persona 4 golden is in front of it. Has a tight fast paced battle system and vast open world. Falcom made an absolute gem in this title. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    6
    It has its good points, such as the frantic-but-fun battle system and interesting music style, but the bland characters and increasingly dull story make the game something of a chore to complete. The forest of Celceta may start as an interesting and mysterious setting, but the novelty wears off after a few hours of tedious pathways and lakes. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews