Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ys: Memories of Celceta has players revisit the land and characters of the Japanese cult favorite Ys IV. This re-envisioning of the fourth installment in the Ys series takes a new approach, changing and framing the story of Ys IV within an all-new tale of conspiracy, deception and mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    Just like Ys Seven was one of the very best games the PSP had to offer, Ys: Memories of Celceta is one of the best games the Vita has to offer. It's fun, it's fast, it's easy to pick up — what's not to like?
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    A fantastic action-adventure role-playing game, Ys Memories of Celceta is a great game to use to introduce yourself to the Ys franchise. It's not your typical AAA title, but it definitely plays like one.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    86
    The story is a little blasé and the game is a little slow to start but once you get drawn in, it's very hard to put this game down.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Hearing a sweeping synth-rock melody punctuate a flurry of sword strikes, mace combos, and stalagmites exploding into a shower of loot is a delightful event that you'll experience countless times.
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    For a game whose hero is only one letter short from being named after the greatest monster of the past century, Ys: Memories of Celceta doesn’t do too badly at all. Sure, the lack of vocal tracks and the balance issues conspire to stop the game from reaching its full potential, but it’s still a game that can stand proud both on the Vita and within the Ys catalogue.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    One of the best Ys’ games of the last decade. Memories of Celceta gives action-RPG’s fans a new reason to own a PlayStation Vita.
  7. 60
    I'm just glad that by JRPG standards Celceta is reasonably focused, allowing me to complete it and move on to the next game, neither having been bored nor especially inspired.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Best game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugestBest game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugest world ever seen in portable RPG. And music... I just love it. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    It's a gem for the PS Vita platform!

    The gameplay is simple and effective: - Player can switch among the characters in the party
    It's a gem for the PS Vita platform!

    The gameplay is simple and effective:
    - Player can switch among the characters in the party real-time, based on the their skills, both in combat as well as exploration.
    - The levelling up mechanism is not too repetitive. Boss fights requires different strategies.
    - It's open world but at the same time there is a strong storyline to lead the player.
    - The teleport stones help to reduce the labour of travelling within the areas players have visited.
    - Special moves are easily executed.

    Excellent artwork, character/beast designs, soundtrack.
    Good story-line that blends well with the exploration and leveling up nature of the game.
    The appropriate voice in during text conversations adds on to the characters' personalities.

    Improvement
    - As with all games personal preference comes into play. I would prefer a little bit more depth to the combat (perhaps, possible to turn it on in hard mode?). Some more combo moves to make the combats a bit more engaging. Being an option, it can still be kept simple for a portable pick it up game, and at the same time satisfy hardcore gamers.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This is the second-best JRPG released in the past few years, behind only Persona 4 Golden IMO. The bread and butter here is the fast, smoothThis is the second-best JRPG released in the past few years, behind only Persona 4 Golden IMO. The bread and butter here is the fast, smooth gameplay, which keeps the action really intense, and the rock-based music and art style are fantastic as well. Only weaknesses are that the graphics aren't quite up to the standards of the best that the Vita has seen so far, and the sound effects seem to be sampled at a lower-than-average rate for a Vita game, but I'd say that those flaws still didn't really detract from my overall enjoyment of the game. I definitely recommend this one! Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Now THIS is the RPG the Vita has been DYING for! If you're like me and would rather play an action RPG as opposed to spending all your timeNow THIS is the RPG the Vita has been DYING for! If you're like me and would rather play an action RPG as opposed to spending all your time maxing out your "social links" as a four-teen year old Japanese girl buy this game now and pass on that other crap.... Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    It's the bread and the butter. With bacon, lettuce and tomatoes. And special sauce on bread of your choice. With a side soup or salad.It's the bread and the butter. With bacon, lettuce and tomatoes. And special sauce on bread of your choice. With a side soup or salad. Hot, gratuitous coffee too. In other words, Ys: Memories of Celceta manages to cover all the basics you need, all the extras you want, even going one step further with details that really help polish off the experience.

    I could probably write an essay on this, but who goes to Metacritic for essays? Here's the short version.

    Pros:
    Legit exploration, flexibility with encounters
    Varied difficulty with harder difficulties actually being difficult
    One of the fastest combat systems in any ARPG on the market
    Varied boss encounters
    Dungeons that use the "exploration gimmicks" for movement, not combat (yes, I care about that!)
    Surprising level of character customization, with varied playstyles and bonuses
    Full crafting and enhancement system
    A good story

    Cons:
    Graphical fidelity is barely better than PSP
    Occasional framerate drops
    Rear touch AI switching is somewhat unresponsive (but rarely necessary). Thankfully, you are unlikely to switch the AI by accident.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Fantastic handheld RPG. My second favorite Vita game behind Persona 4 Golden it is a must-have for every Vita owner. I cannot recommend itFantastic handheld RPG. My second favorite Vita game behind Persona 4 Golden it is a must-have for every Vita owner. I cannot recommend it enough. My score is a 9.5 only because I do not tend to give perfect 10s. Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    4
    Pros:
    Your characters level up
    You can equip different gear to your characters There are abilities (it was hard to find anything good to
    Pros:
    Your characters level up
    You can equip different gear to your characters
    There are abilities
    (it was hard to find anything good to say about this game as you can tell)

    Cons:
    Gameplay is boring
    Game does not properly show you where to go
    Story is uninteresting
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews