Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ys: Memories of Celceta has players revisit the land and characters of the Japanese cult favorite Ys IV. This re-envisioning of the fourth installment in the Ys series takes a new approach, changing and framing the story of Ys IV within an all-new tale of conspiracy, deception and mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    Just like Ys Seven was one of the very best games the PSP had to offer, Ys: Memories of Celceta is one of the best games the Vita has to offer. It's fun, it's fast, it's easy to pick up — what's not to like?
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    A fantastic action-adventure role-playing game, Ys Memories of Celceta is a great game to use to introduce yourself to the Ys franchise. It's not your typical AAA title, but it definitely plays like one.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    86
    The story is a little blasé and the game is a little slow to start but once you get drawn in, it's very hard to put this game down.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Hearing a sweeping synth-rock melody punctuate a flurry of sword strikes, mace combos, and stalagmites exploding into a shower of loot is a delightful event that you'll experience countless times.
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    For a game whose hero is only one letter short from being named after the greatest monster of the past century, Ys: Memories of Celceta doesn’t do too badly at all. Sure, the lack of vocal tracks and the balance issues conspire to stop the game from reaching its full potential, but it’s still a game that can stand proud both on the Vita and within the Ys catalogue.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    One of the best Ys’ games of the last decade. Memories of Celceta gives action-RPG’s fans a new reason to own a PlayStation Vita.
  7. 60
    I'm just glad that by JRPG standards Celceta is reasonably focused, allowing me to complete it and move on to the next game, neither having been bored nor especially inspired.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Best game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugest world ever seen in portable RPG. And music... I just love it. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    I Have played many Ys games this one reminds me of Ys SEVEN and its even better! If you own already a PS Vita this title is MUST HAVE! Awesome quick combat system bosses locations and like in every YS Music is fantastic! I Really recommend it to everyone even if you didn't play Ys before! Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games for Vita. I was skeptical when purchasing this game because I am not a big JRPG fan Ys: Memories of Celceta is really fun. I have about 10 hours into it and I am really enjoying it. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Falcom brings Ys:MoC to the PSV with a very well done adventure that I could recommend to anyone with the handheld system.

    The story is well paced and told nicely with story beats that tie into one another which keeps things interesting.

    Battle system is fun, where individuals can create their own play styles. You can button mash if you wish, or you can slow it down for a more methodical approach to situations. Either way the action is fast and can get intense at times.

    In game character portraits are great. The world is colorful and varied and doesn't fall into lava dungeon here, ice dungeon there cliches.

    Voiced dialogue is usually used in introducing main characters in the plot and in certain scenes here and there. The voices are okay. The voices themselves match the characters quite well, but the delivery of some of the actors lines can be hit or miss. Their is very little of it through the adventure so It shouldn't bother even the most snobby of critics too much.

    The pay off at the end is so so(pre-credits) but it didn't upset me, just a little underwhelming. The true payoff of the story was in the journey itself which I had a great time.
    Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Each new Ys game is a guilty pleasure. Every other games in progress are set aside for long sessions of incredibly satisfying hack and slash adventures with Adol.

    Very few changes have been made to the great party and skills systems of Ys Seven for the PSP and that's quite alright since Seven had already brought along changes like crafting and sidequests board that made the game feel much more substantial than previous games of the series.

    If you're a fan of the series or looking for a Diablo-like with an anime flair, Ys: Memories of Celceta's is another great production from Falcom and a solid buy for any Vita owner.
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    Honestly I just picked up the special edition version of this game, and my vita died before i could play very much. But this game sticks out. It's art style is amazing. Being my first game in the Ys series this seems like a good starting point to anyone looking to try the games out! also it's so very good to see another good rpg after P4G. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    6
    It has its good points, such as the frantic-but-fun battle system and interesting music style, but the bland characters and increasingly dull story make the game something of a chore to complete. The forest of Celceta may start as an interesting and mysterious setting, but the novelty wears off after a few hours of tedious pathways and lakes. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews