Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    87
    Virtue's Last Reward delivers a great amount of fun. With improved gameplay mechanics and +30h of lifespan, you won't find anything better than Chunsoft's last effort.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Thematic appropriateness aside, a fantastic, mind-blowing narrative that will wreck havoc with your brain. [March 2013, p.82]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    90
    This is an unique title, above all in the West. It's worth a try, and will manage to keep us playing for a long while. On the top of that, getting all the endings may take around 30 hours, so if you like this kind of games, this one is definitely a must have.
  5. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    98
    An absolutely amazing experience from start to finish, I couldn't put my Vita down without going through withdrawal a short time later. Zero's Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has a fantastic balance between story and gameplay that is somewhat rare these days.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is a mature, sophisticated, and delightfully dark whodunnit adventure.
  8. 95
    This mind-bending visual novel captivates with challenging puzzles and an intelligent story unrivaled in its ambition.
  9. Nov 6, 2012
    94
    I recommend a lot of games to friends, but this is one of those "okay, if you only play one game on this list, make it this one" type of games. I'll go as far as to say if you don't own a Vita, Zero Escape is one of the best reasons to get one.
  10. Nov 2, 2012
    91
    For the most part, I think you'll find Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward to be a step up from 999, and really, that's saying something considering how excellent 999 was. It's not flawless, no, but well worth your time, especially if you're the type of person that enjoys new gaming experiences that are far from the norm.
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    Its sharp wit, cleverness, and enigmatic plot provide not only a top-tier visual novel experience, but some of the best entertainment I've had gaming.
  12. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  13. Oct 24, 2012
    95
    There should be no timeline ever created that doesn't contain you playing this game.
  14. Oct 23, 2012
    90
    What's important isn't what genre Virtue's Last Reward sits in, what country it comes from, what platform it's on, or any of those other superficial things-it's the fact that this is a wonderfully crafted game that will grip you from beginning to end.
  15. Oct 23, 2012
    88
    Virtue's Last Reward kept me addicted, challenged, and constantly guessing. As the sequel to 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors, it lives up to its legacy and invigorates the graphic adventure genre. Don't let this one pass you by; VLR is one of my favorite games this year.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Full Review »
  2. Dop
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Im new to the series and its a fantastic game really, the only downside from me was the little choices to intereact with the other characters,Im new to the series and its a fantastic game really, the only downside from me was the little choices to intereact with the other characters, putting that aside outstanding game 100000% recommended. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very goodThis is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very good visual novel, this genre is often ignored in the West. Full Review »