Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward PlayStation Vita


Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward comes with a good plot and many surprise twists, in a storyline influenced by our choices that will lead to 24 different endings. With puzzles that will be a challenge for any player, and belonging to a not-too-common genre, Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward will constitute a unique experience.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    Virtue's Last Reward delivers a great amount of fun. With improved gameplay mechanics and +30h of lifespan, you won't find anything better than Chunsoft's last effort.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    An amazing storyline for an excellent visual novel that will keep you in suspense for hours.
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    Virtue's Last Reward takes everything that 999 did well and does it better.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 11, 2013
    Thematic appropriateness aside, a fantastic, mind-blowing narrative that will wreck havoc with your brain. [March 2013, p.82]
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    Virtue's Last Reward is as obscure as its title might make you suspect. Most gamers have never heard of this game and most of them are might as well steer clear from it. But those who are up for a large dose of storytelling and traditional puzzles, couldn't wish for better entertainment. We have an excellently written science fiction horror story and interesting relationships between the main characters to thank for that.
  7. Play UK
    Jan 23, 2013
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2013
    For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    This is an unique title, above all in the West. It's worth a try, and will manage to keep us playing for a long while. On the top of that, getting all the endings may take around 30 hours, so if you like this kind of games, this one is definitely a must have.
  10. Jan 8, 2013
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    If you are after a thinking man's game than Virtue's Last Reward is easily one of the most thought provoking puzzlers of the year. With a strange story that is reminiscent of an adult themed anime movie, this game will make you curse and at times cry with frustration and joy when you've solved some of the challenging puzzles.
  13. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    An absolutely amazing experience from start to finish, I couldn't put my Vita down without going through withdrawal a short time later. Zero's Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has a fantastic balance between story and gameplay that is somewhat rare these days.
  15. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 28, 2012
    Though Zero Escape comes with reams of text, it's all well written, thoroughly addictive stuff that encourages multiple playthroughs to see its 24 endings. Any Vita owner looking to try something different is advised to make the leap of faith and scoop this up immediately. [Christmas 2012, p.81]
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is a deep, engaging, and incredibly intelligent visual novel. It's a shame that the game doesn't do more with the hardware, but its meaningful player decisions, taxing puzzle elements, and unforgivably mature themes fuse to create one of the best Vita titles so far.
  17. Nov 27, 2012
    An excellent follow-up to 999, with a thought-provoking plot, compelling characters, and some of the hardest choices this side of The Walking Dead.
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is a mature, sophisticated, and delightfully dark whodunnit adventure.
  19. Nov 12, 2012
    Zero Escape is the very definition of a niche title. If you have experience with visual novels you'll be in love with the game, and if you like puzzles and don't mind a LOT of narrative it's still great. If you want nonstop action, move along!
  20. 95
    This mind-bending visual novel captivates with challenging puzzles and an intelligent story unrivaled in its ambition.
  21. Nov 6, 2012
    I recommend a lot of games to friends, but this is one of those "okay, if you only play one game on this list, make it this one" type of games. I'll go as far as to say if you don't own a Vita, Zero Escape is one of the best reasons to get one.
  22. Nov 2, 2012
    For the most part, I think you'll find Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward to be a step up from 999, and really, that's saying something considering how excellent 999 was. It's not flawless, no, but well worth your time, especially if you're the type of person that enjoys new gaming experiences that are far from the norm.
  23. Oct 31, 2012
    Its sharp wit, cleverness, and enigmatic plot provide not only a top-tier visual novel experience, but some of the best entertainment I've had gaming.
  24. Oct 26, 2012
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  25. Oct 25, 2012
    Among the many games released each year, there aren't many that leave you contemplating and debating their story and worldviews long after the final set of credits has rolled. Virtue's Last Reward takes its place proudly among this crop of games. As fun and challenging as the brainteasers in the room escapes are, they're merely dressing for the fantastic writing, memorable characters, and stunning plot twists that could only be presented successfully in a game format.
  26. Oct 24, 2012
    There should be no timeline ever created that doesn't contain you playing this game.
  27. Oct 23, 2012
    What's important isn't what genre Virtue's Last Reward sits in, what country it comes from, what platform it's on, or any of those other superficial things-it's the fact that this is a wonderfully crafted game that will grip you from beginning to end.
  28. Oct 23, 2012
    Virtue's Last Reward kept me addicted, challenged, and constantly guessing. As the sequel to 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors, it lives up to its legacy and invigorates the graphic adventure genre. Don't let this one pass you by; VLR is one of my favorite games this year.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Full Review »
  2. Dop
    Nov 13, 2012
    Im new to the series and its a fantastic game really, the only downside from me was the little choices to intereact with the other characters,Im new to the series and its a fantastic game really, the only downside from me was the little choices to intereact with the other characters, putting that aside outstanding game 100000% recommended. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    This is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very goodThis is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very good visual novel, this genre is often ignored in the West. Full Review »