Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward PlayStation Vita

Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    94
    Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2013
    90
    For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Play UK
    Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    60
    This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    Great interactive drama game where you're choises truly have life and death consequences. Might be the best game ever created. The sequel 999Great interactive drama game where you're choises truly have life and death consequences. Might be the best game ever created. The sequel 999 is also just as brilliant and the store of that game somewhat affect this game so it's good to give it a look to. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    If you played 999 and you loved it as much as I did, Virtue's Last Reward will repay your hype like no sequel ever did. Plot twists. puzzles,If you played 999 and you loved it as much as I did, Virtue's Last Reward will repay your hype like no sequel ever did. Plot twists. puzzles, character design and gameplay are pretty flawless and the game will keep your eyes stuck on your Vita until you complete every available ending. Absolutely recommended! Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Quickly becoming one of my favorite video game series of all time, Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is the follow to the highly, HIGHLYQuickly becoming one of my favorite video game series of all time, Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is the follow to the highly, HIGHLY underrated 999 visual novel/puzzle game released in 2010 in the US. While you can get away with playing this game on it's own, you're doing yourself a disservice by not playing that one first. It tells the story of Sigma and 8 other's who are trapped in a life or death game. I won't give any other details beyond that as discovering what happens on your own is the best part of this game. The other part of the game is the puzzle portion, which is exceptionally well done. I personally played this game for the story and feel that is the main draw behind it, being a visual novel and all. But the puzzles will definitely make you think. I wouldn't suggest playing this if you like your puzzles simple and easy too. Some of these puzzles are not for the faint of heart as you will definitely need to write alot of stuff down to keep up. The main differences between the Vita and 3DS versions are basically graphics or an easier time to click on stuff during puzzles. While the Vita version looks beautiful, it can be a bit difficult when trying to click on small things here and there as the screen doesn't always go where you point your finger. The 3DS version however, does not look anywhere near as good as the Vita does. The 3D portraits of the characters are wonderful and the attention to detail is astounding. This is easily one of the best stories out there right now and, if the quality of the future games in the series stay the same as this, you'll might find that this could turn out to be one of the best visual novels of all time. I can't wait for the next in the series, because there will be another one. But in the meantime, I'll be spreading the word about this series to anyone I see. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    A true triumph in gaming, an excellent sequel to the amazing 999, a great thought provoking story with true heartache if your actions cause aA true triumph in gaming, an excellent sequel to the amazing 999, a great thought provoking story with true heartache if your actions cause a negative event. One of if not the best game on the vita. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    NT1, this is a "Visual Novel" not really a game, so go play CoD or something.
    This has one of the most complex, interesting and enjoyable
    NT1, this is a "Visual Novel" not really a game, so go play CoD or something.
    This has one of the most complex, interesting and enjoyable stories of anything I've ever seen, And I highly recommend it to any people looking for a game with story. The graphics, although simple, look really nice on the Vita's screen.
    Each character has their own ending, and All are very fun to earn. The choices are fairly simple, but the timeline is massive, and I loved unlocking everything on it. The puzzles can be hard, and I did get stuck on a few occasions, but I never got too frustrated at them.
    Overall, this game will last you quite a while to do everything, and is one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  7. NT1
    Feb 14, 2013
    1
    This is the most boring game i've ever played. I've been in the game for 5 hours now, and I have completed 4 puzzles in about 30 minutes. So,This is the most boring game i've ever played. I've been in the game for 5 hours now, and I have completed 4 puzzles in about 30 minutes. So, for 4,5 hours i have read a lot of text and that's it! This is tipically a game for an iOs or Android device for about €2,-. But the price in the stores is €40,-! Ridiculous! The story is boring, it has been done better in movies like House of 9 and Identity, wich are not that great either. The amount of text you have to go through is insane. If I want to read alot, i pick up a book and go read. If i want to play a game, i actually want to PLAY! I really can't understand why IGN gave it a 9.5/10 and why it's score is so high here on Metacritic. So is it really that bad? Yes, the only good thing i can come up with are the graphics that are pretty good. Characters story can be very deep, but after 3 hours I didn't care anymore. I just skipped all the text because the puzzles are very well done. I wanted to do the puzzles and didn't care about the story at all. If there were more choices to make in the game it would be more interesting. Now i only have the feeling i watch everyhting and don't make a part of anything. So, if you like to read much and have a few challanging puzzles, this is your game. If not, stay the hell away from here. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews