Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    To be me specific the score I give this game is a 9.7.

    Pros: - Amazing Story - Great gameplay - Good bad graphics (this makes sense if
    To be me specific the score I give this game is a 9.7.

    Pros:
    - Amazing Story
    - Great gameplay
    - Good bad graphics (this makes sense if you played this)
    - Complexity
    - Ability to blow your mind
    - Lovable and hatable characters
    - Epic plot twists
    - Has funny, sad, confusing, mysterious, scary, and shocking moments

    Cons:
    Has a few weird character animations
    - Annoying map that you can't skip
    - Could've explained To Be Continued moments better
    - Spelled DUNNO ... DONNO (Yeah, I ran out of bad things about the game :/)
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Incredible story, great characters, great puzzles with 2 levels of reading... well everything is fantastic in this game in fact.
    Ah, maybe
    Incredible story, great characters, great puzzles with 2 levels of reading... well everything is fantastic in this game in fact.
    Ah, maybe not everything : I want Zero Escape 3. Now !
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    As a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautifulAs a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautiful story which will drag you to the end till even u want to skip sleeping ! the puzzles are way too awesome. Characters n their personalities are very well written. a piece of true artwork. highly recommended to anyone who owns vita. I promise u will have an unforgettable journey ! Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I have no words for how incredible this game was. YOU NEED TO PLAY THE PREQUEL 999 FIRST. It only had such an impact because of it. ItI have no words for how incredible this game was. YOU NEED TO PLAY THE PREQUEL 999 FIRST. It only had such an impact because of it. It connected so well, the story was just phenomenal. Puzzles were difficult and frustrating at times, but that's the point of the game I guess. Hard to name much games with a better story than this. Also the soundtrack was out of this world. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    A true triumph in gaming, an excellent sequel to the amazing 999, a great thought provoking story with true heartache if your actions cause aA true triumph in gaming, an excellent sequel to the amazing 999, a great thought provoking story with true heartache if your actions cause a negative event. One of if not the best game on the vita. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutesOMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews