Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This game is VERY well done. It's not for everyone, though. This isn't like the Professor Layton games. It is a visual novel. Basically, it's a long book on your Vita with some pretty challenging puzzles. The graphics are a little bad, but that's now what this game is about. It is a very deep story that branches out and forces you to learn certain things about the characters before progressing. It is amazingly well written, considering all of the branches this story takes. Although the characters have great voice acting, you will probably not enjoy this game if you don't like reading. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This game is the bee's knees, truth be told. The puzzles (which most, if not all the gameplay revolves around) are solid, and very intuitive while still maintaining a difficulty that'll make you think more than most games. The story-line is also something to be praised, from the high-quality voice-acting to the astounding script and detailed personality of each character. Fans of the cult classic of 999, a surprise smash hit on Nintendo's DS a few years back should have no qualms about this game as it has everything 999 has done and then some and exceeds at it exceptionally. PSV and 3DS owners should look no further than this game for a truly marvelous handheld experience. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  4. May 13, 2014
    10
    Perfection, plain and simple. Great characters, great (although a bit technical and hard) story, great puzzles. Just buy it, it's the perfect way to support the third game in the seris. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I have no words for how incredible this game was. YOU NEED TO PLAY THE PREQUEL 999 FIRST. It only had such an impact because of it. It connected so well, the story was just phenomenal. Puzzles were difficult and frustrating at times, but that's the point of the game I guess. Hard to name much games with a better story than this. Also the soundtrack was out of this world. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    The game was really good, the Story was great! but the puzzles are the reason why I got this, I recommend anyone who likes puzzle games and a good story to get this Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews