Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I will dispense with reviews of the game itself since there is overwhelming positive comments on the game across the internet and I for one share in them and do like this game very much. I will however give the reasons as to why I recommend the Vita version over the 3ds. I own and have played the Vita version and compared it to my friend's 3ds copy.

    1- The vita has superior looking graphics. Partly due to the fact the game was designed around the Vita itself, partly due to the superior hardware of the Vita and partly because the Vita version has uncompressed graphics. It looks much nicer on the Vita. The 3ds version has compressed graphics when in comparison don't look nearly as good and if you try to play it in 3d the graphics take a slight dip even further as do all 3ds games. The widescreen aspect of the Vita also helps a lot. The colors are just more vibrant and sharper on the Vita.

    2- The sound is better on the Vita. Again it's due to the sound being uncompressed on the Vita while being compressed on the 3ds. It's slight, but noticeable.

    3- Game breaking save bug on the 3ds version. The 3ds version of the game in Japan had a bug in it which would destroy your save file and it has carried over into the American game. It's not guaranteed but a lot of people have run into it. If you save your game during certain portions of the game it will corrupt your save and you will have to start all over again. It's been verified by myself and others that the Vita version does not contain this problem.

    Other notes- The Vita version has trophy support if you're into collecting them. People have claimed the touch screen on the 3ds is far superior but what they don't understand is you can use a style on the Vita and get the exact same results, a simple and very cheap capacitive stylus works just fine on the Vita touch screen. I personally liked having everything on one screen instead of a split screen. You can take screenshots in the game. You get more save game slots while the 3ds has only one.

    All in all this is a great game and worth playing on either system but at the end of the day I cannot see any reason to not play it on the Vita as it is a better experience in every way.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    This game is why I bought a vita, and this game made it all worth it. This is a thinking man's game- so you have to be prepared to actually read and solve puzzles. That being said, the narrative style of this game is unlike any other game, unique to the Zero escape series. The puzzles are all very well thought out and original. I HATE puzzle games on the whole, but I am addicted to the puzzles in this series because they are simply so well thought out and interlaced with the narrative. This particular game was so thought provoking I was questioning my own existence by the end of it. Are you familiar with the phrase "mind = blown"? This game offers that feeling in spades all throughout.

    If you own a Vita and have not bought this game already, then you are missing out on (in my opinion) the best handheld game ever released for the platform.
    Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I have no words for how incredible this game was. YOU NEED TO PLAY THE PREQUEL 999 FIRST. It only had such an impact because of it. It connected so well, the story was just phenomenal. Puzzles were difficult and frustrating at times, but that's the point of the game I guess. Hard to name much games with a better story than this. Also the soundtrack was out of this world. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    The game was really good, the Story was great! but the puzzles are the reason why I got this, I recommend anyone who likes puzzle games and a good story to get this Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    NT1, this is a "Visual Novel" not really a game, so go play CoD or something.
    This has one of the most complex, interesting and enjoyable
    stories of anything I've ever seen, And I highly recommend it to any people looking for a game with story. The graphics, although simple, look really nice on the Vita's screen.
    Each character has their own ending, and All are very fun to earn. The choices are fairly simple, but the timeline is massive, and I loved unlocking everything on it. The puzzles can be hard, and I did get stuck on a few occasions, but I never got too frustrated at them.
    Overall, this game will last you quite a while to do everything, and is one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews