Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Before starting this review, one warning about this game: if you DO NOT LIKE reading much and WANT action, turn and leave immediately andBefore starting this review, one warning about this game: if you DO NOT LIKE reading much and WANT action, turn and leave immediately and never return. For those who actually do like, I only have to say one thing: this game is a masterpiece. This one of the best adventure games I've played on this generation of portable console. It has almost everything done right: the story is fantastic and it will hook you right in once you start (it literally did hook me until I was done with it!) and has so many twists and so much background history that you'll just want to know how, when, why! The characters are great and you'll be either hating and loving them accordingly on you'll play the game, especially if some of you have played the previous game (999) since few characters come from there (how many, you have to find out yourself). The new characters are also interesting and you'll always want to know their backstories, without mentioning that you WILL hate them at a some point. Infact, this game is all based about trust and betrayal, and as much as being a small detail, this detail is the main factor of the game that will carry until the end. So the story is good, but what about the gameplay? Well the original game had a big flaw on that department, being extremely easy and just too short to finish, and that you had to repeat the same section over and over without being able to skip. VLR however strikes and wins also on the longevity by not only having over 9 endings (not counting the bad endings AND the true ending), but by also having some great puzzles that are actually pretty challenging...if you want to, since there's an easy option to put it in easy anytime (which will basically give you hints now and then) and the possibility to skip right away any dialogue that you've seen, with also a handy screen where you can jump scenes anytime, which will make following the paths so much easier in comparison to the previous game. However you'll have to finish the game in hard for unlocking most of the stuff, but in either easy or hard difficulty this will easily take your over 30 hours of gameplay to complete the game entirely (without mentioning that it's also a pretty easy platinum, for those who are trophy hunters). Although It DOES have some big flaws that even if they are big they do not really ruin the game. For starters, the VITA version do have better visuals and graphics, and while I'm no graphic maniac this is kind of a big winning point considering that this game is still a "Visual" Novel, and this version definitely wins on the "visual" part AND the also on being more stable than the 3DS version (my sister, who owns the 3DS version of this game, at least froze 3 times and there's also a bug that if you save during a puzzle section, it will freeze); also the character models while not being exciting or great, they are still better to look than the 3DS version, even though the characters have minimal animations and only during dialogues, and only few cutscenes are actually animated well, while the rest are basically still images which is rather disappointing considering that while 999 was entirely in 2D, this one has actually 3D enviroments and character models, but no barely any animation. Second, the game has lowered the dark tone of the game, from being extremely frightful in the first game (there was a time limit and the death penalty was rather gruesome), from being more calm and not always menacing (no actual time limit and the death penalty is also painless). I heard that the lowering in tone was due of the extremely dark tone of the first game and that was actually too scary for some people, and while I don't really mind this change I still loved the thrilling enviroment of the first game. Third, while the VITA version has almost no bugs and better visuals, the controls on the other hand are crippled to the extreme, making the use of the in-built basically impossible due to the laggy interface, while the 3DS version works great and you can easily make notes on it. Pen and paper still works best however. In any case the game is just great to see and fantastic to play. Like I said at the start, if you love visual novel style of adventures, this game is a must buy because of it's huge longevity and replay value (since that replaying in hard is kind of a must), with a great story to follow and so many twists that will just surprise you on so many levels. Also I want to say that, if you play the European version, you'll only get the Japanese dubbing, while the american version has both japanese and american dubbing: this is only personal choice, however the dubbings were pretty good and have some good voice acting and voice actors (although the bunny in english was hilarious!). Just remember that you cannot remove the voices and so you'll have to stick with it for the rest of the game. With that said, if you want a good adventure game, give it try and stay tuned for the next game! Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This game is the bee's knees, truth be told. The puzzles (which most, if not all the gameplay revolves around) are solid, and very intuitiveThis game is the bee's knees, truth be told. The puzzles (which most, if not all the gameplay revolves around) are solid, and very intuitive while still maintaining a difficulty that'll make you think more than most games. The story-line is also something to be praised, from the high-quality voice-acting to the astounding script and detailed personality of each character. Fans of the cult classic of 999, a surprise smash hit on Nintendo's DS a few years back should have no qualms about this game as it has everything 999 has done and then some and exceeds at it exceptionally. PSV and 3DS owners should look no further than this game for a truly marvelous handheld experience. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    10
    I've never played a game with a more fleshed out, and realized story. All the characters are well written, and the voice acting is some of theI've never played a game with a more fleshed out, and realized story. All the characters are well written, and the voice acting is some of the best in video games. The gameplay is very well done, though some puzzles were a bit annoying. If you like adventure games, or more specifically visual novels that aren't just more slice of life, you will like this game. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    My second game for PS Vita, my first entry to Visual Novel genre and my first platinum walkthrough.

    The game is a mixture of Visual Novel
    My second game for PS Vita, my first entry to Visual Novel genre and my first platinum walkthrough.

    The game is a mixture of Visual Novel and a Puzzle/Point-and-Click Adventure. A lot of text, not many animations. The story is very catchy and multy-layered. The information is given in portions and sometimes the new portion gives some new questions along with new clues. You have to find all the stuff and open all the branches of story to reveal all the details of the story. The characters are well written, have great models and voice acting (the voiceovers are in Japanese and the text is English). The gameplay is pretty comfortable, most of the time you won't need to completely walk through the previous puzzles if you forgot to take something, you can jump through rooms at any time.

    The atmosphere is pressing and full of tension. I'd call this game a Sci-Fi thriller. The concept is similar to the one in movies like "The House Of The Nine", "Cube" and "Saw". But not so gory.

    To be honest, I don't see any obvious disadvantages in this game. The only letdown can appear for the people that do not like to read because the game is heavily text-based. Anyone who loves story-oriented games should try this. The game is a masterpiece. Hopefully, I manage to play the first part of the series somehow though I do not own a DS console.
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    The game was really good, the Story was great! but the puzzles are the reason why I got this, I recommend anyone who likes puzzle games and aThe game was really good, the Story was great! but the puzzles are the reason why I got this, I recommend anyone who likes puzzle games and a good story to get this Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutesOMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews