2002 FIFA World Cup Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kick off the FIFA World Cup season with 2002 FIFA World Cup, which captures every moment of glory, every emotion, and every sound of the global event. The game boasts licenses from the official FIFA World Cup, insignia, mascots, and the 20 new World Cup stadiums in Japan and Korea. AnotherKick off the FIFA World Cup season with 2002 FIFA World Cup, which captures every moment of glory, every emotion, and every sound of the global event. The game boasts licenses from the official FIFA World Cup, insignia, mascots, and the 20 new World Cup stadiums in Japan and Korea. Another enhancement includes Air Play, a new control scheme that delivers intuitive one-button headers, volleys, scissors kicks, juggling, and more. Choose your team and then compete in a seven-game series beginning with round-robin play, followed by playoffs that lead to the final match. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. A stripped-down rehash of the excellent "FIFA 2002."
  2. I take issue with my offensive players' lack of motivation. [July 2002, p.103]
  3. While the gameplay is still as entertaining as ever, the game just lacks too many secondary features--both in comparison with "FIFA 2002" and even with other versions of 2002 FIFA World Cup--to make it worthwhile for anyone but the biggest World Cup fan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. DavidC.
    Jul 13, 2002
    9
    Great action. Super real. Big challenge to master.
  2. JulioG.
    Aug 13, 2002
    7
    Visuals are great, its hard to master the controls, player attributes are 75% accurate, only the biggest stars of the world are accurate. Visuals are great, its hard to master the controls, player attributes are 75% accurate, only the biggest stars of the world are accurate. During gameplay some moves and jumps are unecessary and that makes the computer to score on you. Lot's of goals are impossible to happen in real life all the teams play exactly the same, this game could have been the best ever but some unecessary stuff brings the game down to a regular game. Expand
  3. LoloNocco
    Oct 8, 2002
    7
    Well, it's fun at the beginning then u realize the faults it has like the overeaction you get afeter scoring a goal when your team isWell, it's fun at the beginning then u realize the faults it has like the overeaction you get afeter scoring a goal when your team is already up 6-0 i mean none of this really happens in real soccer but i guess all video games are exaggerated in a way so i can't give this game a bad rating. I was stupid to buy it though. Rent it, believe me you might want to buy it after you played it once but soon this game will seem like crap! Expand
  4. NeilB.
    Nov 21, 2004
    1
    This game totally sucks, a shame though coz its probably the fifth best footy game on the ps.
  5. NikS.
    May 28, 2002
    0
    1.Why the players can't pass the ball nicely and perfectly ? 2.The graphic SUCKS!
  6. IggiS.
    Jul 26, 2002
    0
    A disgusting bastardization of our beautiful game. I wonder how much pro reviewers were paid by EA to give it a good review? I cannot begin A disgusting bastardization of our beautiful game. I wonder how much pro reviewers were paid by EA to give it a good review? I cannot begin to describe the shallow gameplay and comparisons to PES are devastating to FIFA. Collapse
  7. KannyU.
    May 29, 2003
    0
    The graphics sucks a lot, u can't do 1-2 on it, u have to design one that someone has to hold on one of of the buttons like R1 orL1 for The graphics sucks a lot, u can't do 1-2 on it, u have to design one that someone has to hold on one of of the buttons like R1 orL1 for countinous running of the players, not tapping on the damn triangle with the same fingers you have to use for shooting, let me know if fifa 2003 is like what i described, i wll buy it,otherwise i will not, cos all your soccer games sucks, for real. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews