Arc the Lad Collection PlayStation

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimH.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome!
  2. SanchoD.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    Everyhing is incredible; the only thing that is annoying is how many times you can move but otherwise it's awesome.
  3. GeoR.
    Oct 6, 2002
    10
    This Game Is Great... I Feel I Am The Hero!
  4. KimberlyP.
    Feb 14, 2002
    10
    This is the best, I love the game more than the anime although that might be due in part to my "control issues" ^_^
  5. DJLampien
    May 20, 2002
    9
    Arc the Lad 1 is too short but the others are great. I could not put them down.
  6. NagromF.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    This is probly one of my favorite games of all time. I absolutely love the battles and characters. Everyone should buy this game.
  7. RyanP.
    May 9, 2002
    10
    All 4 games are wonderful. Plus you get a whole load of extras. It's really fun and addictive.
  8. JoeS.
    Mar 21, 2002
    10
    I haven't owned it... I've read about it. Resere your copy now before it's too late. I got air mail delivery baby.
  9. LloydW.
    Apr 17, 2002
    10
    As far as RPG's go, this game is amazing. Excellent story, memorable characters and a battle system that inspired FF tatics. However, it will not appeal to as wide an audience here is the states as it did in Japan. Why? Because it was a launch title then, and the US is obsessed with pretty graphics and cut scenes. Story has taken a back seat to big budget effects. Pick this up if you As far as RPG's go, this game is amazing. Excellent story, memorable characters and a battle system that inspired FF tatics. However, it will not appeal to as wide an audience here is the states as it did in Japan. Why? Because it was a launch title then, and the US is obsessed with pretty graphics and cut scenes. Story has taken a back seat to big budget effects. Pick this up if you enjoyed tatics and want a game that you can lose yourself in. Expand
  10. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and perilous quest," says Arc a few hours in. Really? When was that? I must've missed it. It is sweet that you get to transfer your Arc I data over to Arc II though. Plus, Arc I is too dang short to leave any lasting scars. Arc III is also about a 5. It's longer than Arc I, but it's also drab and uninspired. I hear the series was supposed to end with the second game. Clearly, there was no room left for a third installment. The characters just sort of flounder around in a meaningless story saying ridiculous things, like "Gee, I sure wish I was Arc." Yeah, me too, Alec. Me too... Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The complete Arc The Lad experience (including extra goodies) is an otaku's dream come true. [Jan 2002]
  2. Arc The Lad Collection is a love affair with the single most impressive packaging I've seen in ANY media, that includes music and DVD's.
  3. 88
    Working Designs has done its fanbase a kind service with this one, and in exceptionally classy style.