Arc the Lad Collection Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Arc the Lad Collection is ultimately an interesting, varied, and rewarding experience that has a tendency to sometimes get bogged down.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Arc The Lad Collection is a love affair with the single most impressive packaging I've seen in ANY media, that includes music and DVD's.
  2. Simply too great a package for any RPG lover to be without.
  3. 88
    Working Designs has done its fanbase a kind service with this one, and in exceptionally classy style.
  4. I'm really amazed at just how much there really is in this collection. [Jan 2002, p.144]
  5. 80
    Arc I is too short; Arc II is rewarding but drags on a bit; and Arc III looks bland. The overall story, though, makes all three worth playing in the long run.
  6. Even if you've never played a strategy RPG in your life, Arc the Lad is the perfect starting point: it's not overly difficult, it features an easy-to-use battle interface, and the variety of gameplay increases with each chapter in the series.
  7. These games just haven't aged as well as the Final Fantasy or Lunar series. [Feb 2002, p.168]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. KimberlyP.
    Feb 14, 2002
    10
    This is the best, I love the game more than the anime although that might be due in part to my "control issues" ^_^
  2. SanchoD.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    Everyhing is incredible; the only thing that is annoying is how many times you can move but otherwise it's awesome.
  3. JoeS.
    Mar 21, 2002
    10
    I haven't owned it... I've read about it. Resere your copy now before it's too late. I got air mail delivery baby.
  4. TimH.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome!
  5. RyanP.
    May 9, 2002
    10
    All 4 games are wonderful. Plus you get a whole load of extras. It's really fun and addictive.
  6. DJLampien
    May 20, 2002
    9
    Arc the Lad 1 is too short but the others are great. I could not put them down.
  7. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and perilous quest," says Arc a few hours in. Really? When was that? I must've missed it. It is sweet that you get to transfer your Arc I data over to Arc II though. Plus, Arc I is too dang short to leave any lasting scars. Arc III is also about a 5. It's longer than Arc I, but it's also drab and uninspired. I hear the series was supposed to end with the second game. Clearly, there was no room left for a third installment. The characters just sort of flounder around in a meaningless story saying ridiculous things, like "Gee, I sure wish I was Arc." Yeah, me too, Alec. Me too... Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews