• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2000
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    The best game for the playstation there is no competetion even final fantasy 6,7,8,9 arent as good.
  2. KevinD.
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    Its got everything I love about japanese rpg's, beautifuly drawn sprite graphics, a wonderful score & fantastic gameplay. A proper gem of a game.
  3. JuanchoP.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    its the best game ever. I finished it over and over and over again. about 7 times already and i never get bored doing it!
  4. TroyJ.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    Breath of Fire IV is by far the best RPG for playstation. If your looking for an RPG far thats beatting the hell out of Final Fantasy, than BOF4 is the game to put a cold day in hell for Final Fantasy. The story, the battle system, the graphics, ect, are all 9/10 or 10/10.
  5. StuartJ.
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    A brilliant rpg with a great story and memorable music but it isn't nearly as good as final fantasy 7,8,9 and 10.
  6. Lazlo
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    No matter how good it's predecessors (or antecessors, if you will) were, this game trounces them all. If you want a game that makes the FF series cry in shame, then look no further for legendary graphics and gameplay that will strike deep within you and hold you forever.
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Awesome. I'm only 10 hours in and I am absolutely loving it. I have no complaints except the ocassionally janky camera angles. Awesome battles, deep but simple gameplay, awesome graphics, decent story. It has it all.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. With an excellent story line, interesting characters, dazzling visuals, and distinct soundtrack, Breath of Fire IV is well worth the time of any RPG fan who's looking for a mature gaming experience.
  2. Beautiful sprite-based graphics and an interesting experience system offset a confusing story and bland battles in this retelling of the tale of Ryu.
  3. Fans will love its cruelty toward the good guys, but newcomers will want to rent to see if its reliance on "Tomba"-like skill collecting and fishing carry it over its rough spots.