Bust A Groove 2 PlayStation
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 2 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LakiaWavedancer
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. Anyone who doesn't like it obviously doesn't have any rhythm. This is my favourite game on the playstation as well as Final Fantasy. Its the only game that I NEVER get bored of. Other games you play for a while but then eventually they get boring but this game I can play for hours on end. I guess it wouldnt be so great if you didnt have anyone to play with all This game rocks. Anyone who doesn't like it obviously doesn't have any rhythm. This is my favourite game on the playstation as well as Final Fantasy. Its the only game that I NEVER get bored of. Other games you play for a while but then eventually they get boring but this game I can play for hours on end. I guess it wouldnt be so great if you didnt have anyone to play with all the time but I have a sister who loves the game as much as I do. I also like the way you can always get better and always improve. First you can try to raise your dance rate and try and get fever time and then you can try a raise your just command rate till you get close to 100% just command rate (I haven't reached that yet though, lol) Everyone I know likes the game. Expand
  2. MindyE.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    This is a great game, the music was a little better on the first, still loved it.
  3. MandyR.
    Jan 9, 2005
    8
    where can i get this game????
  4. Britsu
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    I love this game so much. So many fond memories attached to it. Shorty is definately my favorite ^.^ If you love to groove this game is for you!
  5. DuilioA.
    Jul 20, 2001
    10
    I think this is the best dance game I've ever played. The graphics and the way they dance... everything about this game is so cool!
  6. DannyS.
    Jul 8, 2001
    9
    Sure, I guess I am being nice about giving it a nine out of ten, but what the heck. I still find this game fun, occasionally even more so than the original. Now, before I get email bombs and viruses sent my way, let me explain... In certain ways, this game is actually more challenging than the first...that's right. CHALLENGING...I don't give a crap what the Daily Raidar says Sure, I guess I am being nice about giving it a nine out of ten, but what the heck. I still find this game fun, occasionally even more so than the original. Now, before I get email bombs and viruses sent my way, let me explain... In certain ways, this game is actually more challenging than the first...that's right. CHALLENGING...I don't give a crap what the Daily Raidar says either. The only reason they don't find it challenging is because they have no rhythm. If they did, they'd be able to utilize JUST COMMANDS...YES, JUST COMMAMDS.... Let me explain...everyone understands that in order to progress through the game, you must input the suquence of arrows given, and then press the given shape button given and again and again yada yada...BUT, an improvement in this game is that there's actually a way to gauge just how WELL you can judge the fourth beat...JUST COMMANDS. In the old bust a groove, there was just a marginal room for error for when exactly you would judge the fourth beat. Sometimes, the button you pressed wasn't pressed EXACTLY on the fourth beat, but it was okay, the game was nice and understood... HOWEVER, in BAG2, The game actually 'rewards' you for hitting the command EXACTLY on the beat. By hitting the command exactly on the fourth beat, you get access to more challenging arrow combination sequences, allowing for a more exciting, challenging, and just plain fun to watch game, whereas if you don't execute them well enough, the game assumes you just don't play well enough and restricts you to simpler combos...COUGHDAILYRAIDARCOUGH... In addition, there are many little things in the game that add to the pleasure. In BAG, the better you danced, the more events occured in the background. The same feature returns, but this time the actions and event are even zanier and funnier than the original! Who wouldn't be freaked out by a police car flying through the air in Kelly's stage, or just be taken aback by a rocket slamming into Comet's suchi bar sign? Touches like this make the game for fun and amusing, and gives players who find their dancer's moves repetitive (DAILY RADAR) some eye candy, or an interesting distraction, distractions which add to the game playability and challenge. I must admit however that it is more fun to play with other people, especially given the stage events and actions. When playing with other people, it's more fun to work toward initiating those wild and crazy moments, or just plain neat little gimmicks that make the game just a little bit sweeter in some aspects. For instance, for players who don't know this cause they suck and just gave up too soon, in Heat's stage, the better you dance, the longer you stay riding on th crane cart, and even find secret rooms. A similar event occurs in almost every stage. The most awesome background events occur when the three collumns of colored blocks are stacked up equally, which again is accomplished by dancing you character's ass off. Okay, music...okay, so maybe it's not as cool as the first one. But, maybe if people would STOP comparing this game to it's predescessor, they might realize that this game stands as it's own fun entity. Besides, it's cheap, what reason do you have NOT to get it? (AND NO, it doesn't suck...) If you have any other questions, email me. Blah! Expand
  7. OliviaF.
    Feb 16, 2002
    10
    This game is great! The characters, their themes, their stages, the moves! Its incredible! Plus its so easy to master(not that I haven't mastered the first Bust-A-Groove). All the big game raters above DO NOT know what they are talking about-this game is one of my favorites, next to RPGs. Although it might have not had those endings, the second one was way better! In conclusion, this This game is great! The characters, their themes, their stages, the moves! Its incredible! Plus its so easy to master(not that I haven't mastered the first Bust-A-Groove). All the big game raters above DO NOT know what they are talking about-this game is one of my favorites, next to RPGs. Although it might have not had those endings, the second one was way better! In conclusion, this IS a great game. Its much worth buying, or at least renting a lot. Expand
  8. FayeV.
    Apr 18, 2002
    10
    I loved this game! It's my favorite game besides the first one. ^______^
  9. NalyssahH.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this game! Even the soundtrack are "GOOVY"
  10. NicoleS.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    I love this game! Hard core Kitty-N fan!
  11. DaphneR.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Very nice i still play with this game and been having it for 4 years now(lol) The first one music is better and dance moves a lil better but overall Bust A Groove 2 was cool. Like everyone else said where is Bust A Groove 3 at???
  12. DaniloG.
    May 3, 2004
    10
    THE BEST GAME OF ALL!I just love it!to be happy!I just made more them 55.000 8-),the bad is it is easy and a small game, but it i s THE GAME.
  13. BabyAbby9304
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    I love this game it's the best game in the world!! :do the Shorty's Solo: lol
  14. TimB
    Jul 18, 2001
    10
    I don't know what's with all of these people saying the music is boring and that it doesn't get stuck in your head. I catch myself singling lyrics to the songs everyday and I've only rented it once. Sure some of the gameplay is repetitive, but it doesn't make the game any more boring. I've gotten all of the characters and I'm still playing the game like I don't know what's with all of these people saying the music is boring and that it doesn't get stuck in your head. I catch myself singling lyrics to the songs everyday and I've only rented it once. Sure some of the gameplay is repetitive, but it doesn't make the game any more boring. I've gotten all of the characters and I'm still playing the game like crazy. Don't believe those people that say that this game sucks and the 1st one is completely better, that's not true. They both have their good and bad points but I think some people are obsessed with the original game being the best. That's not true. I felt I had to support this game because of all of the people that are out there that completely support the first. I'm a video game guru and I can beat almost every game if It was handed to me it's not very often that I get a game that I find addictive. This game is definitely addictive! Everyone should buy this game now!! Expand
  15. A.J.S.
    Jul 26, 2001
    10
    I love this game. It's so much better than the first. It could use a little bit better music, but still the one all-time best song in the game is Comets. In the beginning it really sounds like the beginning to Madonna's "Beautiful Stranger" song from "Austin Powers 2."
  16. Pinya
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome! Where is Bust A Groove 3?!
  17. LuieRules
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    Bust a Groove and Bust a Groove2 are by far one of the best games out there for playstation 1. I know that it is the best dance game out there. I can't say which one is better because they both have there own good qulities. The second one has better costumes than the first for example Kelly :) (much better than that baby suit). The only thing I regret is that they got rid of Gas-o, Bust a Groove and Bust a Groove2 are by far one of the best games out there for playstation 1. I know that it is the best dance game out there. I can't say which one is better because they both have there own good qulities. The second one has better costumes than the first for example Kelly :) (much better than that baby suit). The only thing I regret is that they got rid of Gas-o, Pinky, and FRIDA!!. But at least they replaced them with other kool kick @ss characters like comet and Bi-o. I have a favor to ask everyone. Well let me start off with asking wouldn't it be cool if they came up with Bust a Groove 3. If you think yes write a letter to enix... the more sugestions they get the bigger of chance we have to there being a bust a groove 3 so come on everyone lets try!!!!!! :) Expand
  18. TamikaB.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    I really like the game. It's a strategy game and I like trying to figure out what button to hit next. Plus, the characters are so cool. My favorite is Kelly. She is the best character in the game.
  19. MonicaP.
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    It is okay. But Shorty's song is sort of happy. If yuo know what I mean.
  20. MichaelR.
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    I thought this game was GREAT!! Its on the list of my favorite games, indeed. Unfortunately I haven't had the privilege to play the original Bust A Groove, but from what I hear, its even better than this one (number 2).
  21. KelsieM.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    AWESOME!!!!!! I cant believe there are people out there, that dont like it!! Wheres #3??????? Love it, love it, and love it!
  22. LilithA.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    the best game I've ever played! awesome and cool!
  23. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played on ANY console. Bust a Groove certainly deserves much more than a "66". It's also dangerously addictive, so watch out.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Only those who have rhythm and coordination and don't mind acting a little silly will truly enjoy this game.
  2. To my disappointment, the sequel didn't turn out as cool as the first one, but it's still an addictive game with most of the characters that fans of the original have come to know and lust, er, love.
  3. A solid game for those who are looking for something fun and different, and it's not as complicated as Konami's "Dance Dance Revolution."