Castlevania: Symphony of the Night PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells -As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells - transform into a bat, a wolf, or etheral mist. Hidden weapons, secrets, and characters...the largest Castlevania ever! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A mandatory addition to any Castlevania fan's game library.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Featuring a massive quest filled with RPG elements, mind-blowing 2D backgrounds, fantastic character artwork, an astounding soundtrack and osme of the best Castlevania gameplay ever seen, SOTN is a PS one classic that can't be missed. [Nov 2001, p.40]
  3. This is exactly what I'm looking for in a 32-bit Castlevania game: great graphics and animation, plenty of way-cool Bosses and tight 2D gameplay.
  4. GMR Magazine
    90
    A certifiable classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 90
    The music is brilliant too - sometimes daunting, sometimes rousing and always doing what music should - enhancing the action.
  6. It's tremendous fun and very addicting, despite the uninteresting plot and the bad acting. I only wish it were larger because I enjoyed it so much.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. K
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    This is the best castlevania ever.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    ZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZ *Opens old PS1 Book, what have we got here ? Castlevania Symphonie of the Night... Pops the Game in... BAM! ............ It blows you away and shows you even to this Date what a real "Magical" Game does .. It is EPIC and holds up better then the Rest of the Sh** that gets shi* out nowadays!!!! Pick it up! Expand
  3. RavenW.
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    Best CastleVania game ever, best music, Alucard is the coolest character ever, its awesome!!
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    I remembered playing this game when I was 14... yes, 14... because my senior brothers played it again and again and I watched it again andI remembered playing this game when I was 14... yes, 14... because my senior brothers played it again and again and I watched it again and again... never got bored. To tell the truth, I'm now 25 and still playing it again. Expand
  5. PeterG.
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Castlevania SOTN is one of those games: easy to pick up, impossible to put down. This game has established itself in many peoples opinion as Castlevania SOTN is one of those games: easy to pick up, impossible to put down. This game has established itself in many peoples opinion as the best platformer of all time, it oozes quality and longevity. The graphics being although 2d have a feel all of their own!! Unmissable!!!! Expand
  6. May 17, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Castlevania: Symphony of Night is one of the best PS games and best Castlevania game. It is one of my all time favorite PlayStation games and contains of the best main characters and one the best villains in video games.

    Alucard is very well made and even fairly well voiced character. He looks great and is very skilled to handle several different weapons. He is also capable to transform and perform many different effective spells and abilities, playing with him is very fun and there is so many variables.
    What comes to story, it is good enough and Maria Renard is pretty good supporting character to Alucards strong silent type.

    Fantasy style is well made and gives castle a great atmosphere. There is many monsters and many different sections. Different parts of the castle are really different and give a game very much variety. It is fun to travel in Dracula's castle and try to find every single little inch in it.

    Variety in enemies is huge, there is many classic monster and if common enemies are cool and good looking, bosses are twice (at least) as good. There is so many boss fights that give you challenge, but are never too unfair. Classic characters from Dracula to Wolfman are there, but I would have liked if battle against Wolfman would have been 1 to 1. This dual team is challenging, but not same thing that one on one.
    Big part of the game comes from the way how player discovers areas from castle. Some areas are much harder than others and some areas can be reached only with certain abilities. This gives a lot to do and when you combine this with the fact that Alucard gains exp in fights, you have very large game in your hands. There is also so much stuff to be find. You never know where is secret entrance to new area and that gives you a lot to do in huge castle, which much be completed twice, in real game.

    What comes to villains, Dracula is very well made. This might just be best version of him in whole series. I do liked Wolfman (even though he was used too little), Cerberus, Bat and Grim Reaper too, very much. Bosses are real well made since they look amazing and they all give different challenges.

    There is not much bad thing to be said in Symphony of the Night, but there is some. Some things feel pretty cryptic but biggest and real flaw, is the continue system. It takes so long to start game after you die. Then there is ridiculous amount of exp you need in higher levels and enemies give so little exp at the end.

    Castlevania: Symphony of Night is masterpiece, nothing less. It best Castleroid/Metroidvania style game ever and best Castlevania game ever. It is fun to play, it gives so much and final battle is real finale. Ending is well made and whole game is huge and well made experience.

    + Alucard
    + Dracula and villains
    + Castle
    + Fantasy style
    + So much to do and so much to find

    - Restarting after death
    - Some minor flaws

    95/100

    Masterpiece
    Expand
  7. Alucart
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I finished Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow and Dawn of Sorrow not so long ago and they make this one to feel somewhat lacky, messy and boring. That, or this game is just over-rated. One thing is for sure (okay, two things): The voice acting is indeed _horrible_ (it's a common fact) and the game's plot was really uninteresting (or badly attached in the game). Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
#1 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997