Castlevania: Symphony of the Night PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells -As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells - transform into a bat, a wolf, or etheral mist. Hidden weapons, secrets, and characters...the largest Castlevania ever! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A mandatory addition to any Castlevania fan's game library.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Featuring a massive quest filled with RPG elements, mind-blowing 2D backgrounds, fantastic character artwork, an astounding soundtrack and osme of the best Castlevania gameplay ever seen, SOTN is a PS one classic that can't be missed. [Nov 2001, p.40]
  3. This is exactly what I'm looking for in a 32-bit Castlevania game: great graphics and animation, plenty of way-cool Bosses and tight 2D gameplay.
  4. GMR Magazine
    90
    A certifiable classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 90
    The music is brilliant too - sometimes daunting, sometimes rousing and always doing what music should - enhancing the action.
  6. It's tremendous fun and very addicting, despite the uninteresting plot and the bad acting. I only wish it were larger because I enjoyed it so much.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. FranF.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Best game ever made in the history of the industry! The ONLY thing bad I can say about the game is it ended! Definitely could be outlawed by Best game ever made in the history of the industry! The ONLY thing bad I can say about the game is it ended! Definitely could be outlawed by the government for it's pure addiction. Never mind online gaming, play SotN! Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    ZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZ *Opens old PS1 Book, what have we got here ? Castlevania Symphonie of the Night... Pops the Game in... BAM! ............ It blows you away and shows you even to this Date what a real "Magical" Game does .. It is EPIC and holds up better then the Rest of the Sh** that gets shi* out nowadays!!!! Pick it up! Expand
  3. Fighter17
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    Who could hate this game?
  4. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    One of my favorites from ps1. Style, music, gameplay - they all perfect. Although there are some confusing moments in a game (like the oneOne of my favorites from ps1. Style, music, gameplay - they all perfect. Although there are some confusing moments in a game (like the one with rings in Clock tower) and bad voice acting it still a very VERY good game.
    Never finished for 200.6% though.
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This game is the best game of all times. PERIOD. There's nothing else to say.
  6. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    Wow, if the ps1 was a 3D gaming platform im glad they released some 2D games because those are the only ones i still can play on that console,Wow, if the ps1 was a 3D gaming platform im glad they released some 2D games because those are the only ones i still can play on that console, the 3d ones look ugly as hell.
    Making the next castlevania in 2D was the best choice for konami, and thanks to that (and ultra amazing gameplay) I can recommend this game for generations to come.
    The gameplay changed a lot since super castlevania IV on the snes, they took out the "short" stages and made it a single BIG stage and added lots of rpg elements, also took heavy inspiration from super metroid, both games are very similar but great in their own way.

    Now you use Alucard the son of Dracula and thats also a improvement, he's the best character in a castlevania game, has something about him and the developers know thats why he keeps reappearing in their games. The soundtrack is one of the best as well. The game is lengthy with a secret that lets you go into a big world that can be missed if you dont do the right things.

    100% recommended.
    Expand
  7. Alucart
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I finished Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow and Dawn of Sorrow not so long ago and they make this one to feel somewhat lacky, messy and boring. That, or this game is just over-rated. One thing is for sure (okay, two things): The voice acting is indeed _horrible_ (it's a common fact) and the game's plot was really uninteresting (or badly attached in the game). Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
#1 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997