Castlevania: Symphony of the Night PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells -As a descendant of Dracula, you must end the vampire bloodline. Can you rid the world of this unspeakable terror? Uncover the mystery of Castlevania and challenge an adventure as legendary as its name. Over 140 different enemies, bosses, and ghastly creatures. Awesome magical spells - transform into a bat, a wolf, or etheral mist. Hidden weapons, secrets, and characters...the largest Castlevania ever! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A mandatory addition to any Castlevania fan's game library.
  2. Featuring a massive quest filled with RPG elements, mind-blowing 2D backgrounds, fantastic character artwork, an astounding soundtrack and osme of the best Castlevania gameplay ever seen, SOTN is a PS one classic that can't be missed. [Nov 2001, p.40]
  3. This is exactly what I'm looking for in a 32-bit Castlevania game: great graphics and animation, plenty of way-cool Bosses and tight 2D gameplay.
  4. A certifiable classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 90
    The music is brilliant too - sometimes daunting, sometimes rousing and always doing what music should - enhancing the action.
  6. It's tremendous fun and very addicting, despite the uninteresting plot and the bad acting. I only wish it were larger because I enjoyed it so much.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. MarcoF.
    Feb 7, 2003
    10
    Castlevania: Symphony of The Night proves that graphics arent everything in a video game. Still holding its original 2-D graphics, this game Castlevania: Symphony of The Night proves that graphics arent everything in a video game. Still holding its original 2-D graphics, this game has to be , hands down , the best video game ever made. I only wish more games would be like it. Now that the new generation of video games are trying to push on perfecting 3D graphics , i say get rid of 3D , lets go back to the old school 2D graphics. Can't wait for Konami's next Castlevania series !! Expand
  2. SimonB.
    Mar 9, 2002
    10
    Best damn game ever for the PSX!!!
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    ZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZZzzZZzzZz *Oh, another CoD, thanks is pass* ZzzzzzZZzzzz *Oh what we got here ? MoH Warfighter* ZZzzzzzZZZ Oh, Another CoD Game ? ZzZZzzzZ *Opens old PS1 Book, what have we got here ? Castlevania Symphonie of the Night... Pops the Game in... BAM! ............ It blows you away and shows you even to this Date what a real "Magical" Game does .. It is EPIC and holds up better then the Rest of the Sh** that gets shi* out nowadays!!!! Pick it up! Expand
  4. Fighter17
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    Who could hate this game?
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    I remembered playing this game when I was 14... yes, 14... because my senior brothers played it again and again and I watched it again andI remembered playing this game when I was 14... yes, 14... because my senior brothers played it again and again and I watched it again and again... never got bored. To tell the truth, I'm now 25 and still playing it again. Expand
  6. PeterG.
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Castlevania SOTN is one of those games: easy to pick up, impossible to put down. This game has established itself in many peoples opinion as Castlevania SOTN is one of those games: easy to pick up, impossible to put down. This game has established itself in many peoples opinion as the best platformer of all time, it oozes quality and longevity. The graphics being although 2d have a feel all of their own!! Unmissable!!!! Expand
  7. Alucart
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I Played, finished it with the 197% completion rate, but never found it being an exciting game. Maybe it's because of the reason that I finished Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow and Dawn of Sorrow not so long ago and they make this one to feel somewhat lacky, messy and boring. That, or this game is just over-rated. One thing is for sure (okay, two things): The voice acting is indeed _horrible_ (it's a common fact) and the game's plot was really uninteresting (or badly attached in the game). Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.