Chrono Cross PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 255
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TargCollective
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    Where to start? The opening FMV is so engrossing that you will for certain sure watch it at least 10 times; possibly before you even play the game. Ditch your preconceptions. This game uses a level system like nothing you have ever seen. Your strength in combat is determined by the amount of 'stars' you have; you earn stars by playing through plot battles. You cannot powerlevel Where to start? The opening FMV is so engrossing that you will for certain sure watch it at least 10 times; possibly before you even play the game. Ditch your preconceptions. This game uses a level system like nothing you have ever seen. Your strength in combat is determined by the amount of 'stars' you have; you earn stars by playing through plot battles. You cannot powerlevel in this game, nor do you need to, as the experience you gain as you play is all you will need. You still need to fight! Fights reward you with various items, which you can give to a smith who will forge new weapons, armours and accessories for a fee. After you beat a boss battle you can obtain some stat boosts from fighting too. The magic system is also unique, as it relies on Elements. There are several different colours of Element, and these Elements can be of various power levels. There is no 'native' power level for an Element - so long as you have the ability to assign an Element to a power level, you can use any Element at that power level. As in Chrono Trigger, characters can learn 'techs', which can also be double and triple techs. The art and music is sublime. While that all seems disorganised and disparate, think a moment on what the greatest threat to RPGs is. In Final Fantasy 8, it is possible to beat seven shades out of T-Rexaur before you leave Balamb. It is possible to upgrade to second-tier magic before doing so! In Chrono Cross, the restrictive level system makes it more fun and challenging. Your opponents will always be a challenge. The only way of defeating them is through the use of strategy, intelligence and superior armanent. Therefore this game is a must; the sweet, superior perfection of game balance, the clear realism of the graphics and the enthralling plot combine to produce a strong contender for 'perfect game'. Designers take note: a progression-based level system makes sense! Expand
  2. EenerM.
    Apr 5, 2008
    0
    EXTREMELY overhyped game that is really not worth any praise. Just tack Chrono in front of a game and all the fanboys will praise it like it's the best thing after sliced bread (as is apparant here). As an RPG it is extremely mediocre at best. The forced/restricted level system and combat system makes fighting nothing more then a tedious un-rewarding timesink. The gameplay is very EXTREMELY overhyped game that is really not worth any praise. Just tack Chrono in front of a game and all the fanboys will praise it like it's the best thing after sliced bread (as is apparant here). As an RPG it is extremely mediocre at best. The forced/restricted level system and combat system makes fighting nothing more then a tedious un-rewarding timesink. The gameplay is very un-imaginative and bland and the story is a garbled mess that makes no sense whatsoever. Also, none of the characters have any personality of their own at all, barring extremely annoying "accents" All in all, this is a very tedious and unrewarding game that completely relies on it's Chrono prefix and it's completely blind fanboy groupies. Square should be ashamed for making a connection between the brilliant Chronotrigger and this unimaginative game. Real grade for this would have been a 5, but all the unjustly given 10s have to be compensated somewhat. Expand
  3. DannyA
    Jul 19, 2008
    3
    This game has got great music and graphics. But it has a crappy gameplay, useless level up system and the story is just terrible. It tarnishes Trigger's legacy in very horrible ways.
  4. ShaneW.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to follow. And even if you did it wouldn't make any sense. If any of you own this game, you waisted your money on a pile of bull sh**.
  5. MattJ
    Jun 13, 2009
    3
    I found this game to be trite, unimaginative, and just flat out boring. The game features uninspired locales, an unevenly paced plot, and enough middle school, masturbatory, philosophical wallowing to fill the diaries of every depressed high schooler on the planet. If you're REALLY into JRPGs you'll probably like this game, but if you have any standards at all then avoid it like I found this game to be trite, unimaginative, and just flat out boring. The game features uninspired locales, an unevenly paced plot, and enough middle school, masturbatory, philosophical wallowing to fill the diaries of every depressed high schooler on the planet. If you're REALLY into JRPGs you'll probably like this game, but if you have any standards at all then avoid it like the plague. Expand
  6. RobA
    Jun 18, 2008
    1
    It's been a while since I played it but I felt I must speak out to settle the burning black void in my soul. This game has scarred me. I hadn't even heard of it until a few years after its release. I loved Chrono Trigger. I saw this game and its glowing reviews and gave it a shot. Good lord. This had nothing of the original's charm. Nothing! Gone was the enjoyable combat It's been a while since I played it but I felt I must speak out to settle the burning black void in my soul. This game has scarred me. I hadn't even heard of it until a few years after its release. I loved Chrono Trigger. I saw this game and its glowing reviews and gave it a shot. Good lord. This had nothing of the original's charm. Nothing! Gone was the enjoyable combat system and plentiful double and triple techs; replaced by some archaic system that was neither fun nor innovative. Gone was the colorful cast of compelling characters, replaced by 40 shallow people that to this day I recall none, while the Chrono Trigger characters are clear as day in my mind. Gone was any semblance of a compelling story. I only remember bits and pieces and the fact that it was convoluted and lame. There were bits and pieces of references to Chrono Trigger; more akin to inspirations than actual relevance. The game's saving grace was the music. While I remember it being very good I didn't find it memorable. For this I shall award the game one whole point. Yes, I am probably being unfair and that it's a respectable game on it's own right; I shall not grant more than one point. Not when they will call it a sequel to one of my favorite games while retaining none of the charm of the original. Never. I remember beating the last boss, ejecting the cd, giving it not to a friend, but his friend; someone nobody particularly liked. I told him it was his to keep and that I never wanted to see it again. Expand
  7. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 8, 2009
    4
    This game sucks. Why? 1) The gameplay just isn't that engaging. Its okay, but nothing to write home about. 2) The storyline sucks. Why? Lack of characterization. There are too many characters, and none of them end up with any real characterization in the game. 3) The levelling system sucks. It was a good idea, and then it was executed incredibly poorly, making the game even MORE This game sucks. Why? 1) The gameplay just isn't that engaging. Its okay, but nothing to write home about. 2) The storyline sucks. Why? Lack of characterization. There are too many characters, and none of them end up with any real characterization in the game. 3) The levelling system sucks. It was a good idea, and then it was executed incredibly poorly, making the game even MORE tedious than most RPGs. Overall, thumbs down. This game is massively overrated. Don't buy it, its high ratings are due to people liking Chrono Trigger and not wanting to give its sequel, which sucked (and isn't even really a sequel) a bad score. Collapse
  8. NinjaMafia
    Nov 18, 2003
    0
    Chrono Croos is like Chrono Trigger, only with no storyline and horrible gameplay. Sure the graphics and sound are great but really, not gaining levels to pevent overleveling, you get stats after you beat bosses and a little afterward so you won't overlevel, the combo based attacking is hirribly done. Legend of Legaia had one 10 times better. No moves to get, the magic absolutely Chrono Croos is like Chrono Trigger, only with no storyline and horrible gameplay. Sure the graphics and sound are great but really, not gaining levels to pevent overleveling, you get stats after you beat bosses and a little afterward so you won't overlevel, the combo based attacking is hirribly done. Legend of Legaia had one 10 times better. No moves to get, the magic absolutely sucked, I don't want to work aimlessley during battle to get all the field red just to cast a summon that does VERY little damage. EVERY character is as deep as the water covering my floor right now (if any of you guys didn't get that let me make it clear, I HAVE NO WATER ON MY FLOOR) Every character was based of a stereotyping accent of some country. The game has the weakest story ever, I can't beleive they made a crap sequel to CT, one of the best RPGs on the SNES I have ever played. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Awful story, and story is the most important factor in an RPG. Battle system is just awful. I only played through it simply to play through it, I would not recommend this game to an enemy.
  10. Sep 8, 2013
    1
    Okay... I'm possibly the biggest Chrono Trigger fan... and let me tell you... Chrono Cross... is NOT a sequel to Chrono Trigger by any means... sure there are a few references... but that' all I seen after playing the game for approx. 5 hours.

    So not only does it not have anything to do with the original, but the gameplay itself is nothing like the original either. And the music for the
    Okay... I'm possibly the biggest Chrono Trigger fan... and let me tell you... Chrono Cross... is NOT a sequel to Chrono Trigger by any means... sure there are a few references... but that' all I seen after playing the game for approx. 5 hours.

    So not only does it not have anything to do with the original, but the gameplay itself is nothing like the original either. And the music for the basic battle sequences... has to be some of the most annoying music ever. Sure... they did do a few remixes from the original score... and they had a nostalgic feeling to them... but yeah. This was a very poor game in comparison to the original, and I seriously cannot believe the high scores this game received. Just goes to show that you can't always trust reviews...

    Final thoughts... I suppose graphics were decent enough, and a few of the remixed songs were ok. But other than that, this game is, and was, complete garbage. I'm only giving it a 1 for the world map which is about the only good thing about the game, and some of the remixed music.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. CheckOut
    90
    A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  3. CNET Gamecenter
    90
    From the incredible story line to the combat system to the great visuals to the overall feel of the game, players will get the sense of how much of an impact a game like this can have.