Chrono Cross PlayStation
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 217

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. FarAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Expand
  2. TimothyR.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Everything about the game is perfect (especially the music).
  3. RyanM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    This is seriously one of the greatest games i've played. The story is complicated but if you have any brains at all you can understand it. It seems to me many people who rated this game didn't play it all for Chrono Cross has one of the best story lines there are. Music is beautiful, so are graphics. If you haven't picked up this game and you own a PS, do so right now.
  4. JoeS.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Super game, best rpg ever. involves a complex storyline with enough challenges to keep you busy. Great element graphics along with charecters that are stronger than in most other games. Only downsides are that there arent to many new techniques like double techs, the enemys were kinda weak except for the 3 mystical nights slash flea and ozzy.and they keep your charecter from being to good Super game, best rpg ever. involves a complex storyline with enough challenges to keep you busy. Great element graphics along with charecters that are stronger than in most other games. Only downsides are that there arent to many new techniques like double techs, the enemys were kinda weak except for the 3 mystical nights slash flea and ozzy.and they keep your charecter from being to good by giving them crappy level ups but i loved the game Expand
  5. Joe2
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    Aside from maybe its predecessor, the most consuming game I've ever played. Beautifully written.
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Very fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade your equipment to really get an edge. Your level is maxed depending on where you are in the game, so killing random encounters becomes pointless once you get the items you need. However, it's nice to constantly be challenged, than to just bulldoze throughVery fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade your equipment to really get an edge. Your level is maxed depending on where you are in the game, so killing random encounters becomes pointless once you get the items you need. However, it's nice to constantly be challenged, than to just bulldoze through bosses. However, you miss the feeling of achievement spending a long time playing the game, since your levels are usually a measure of that. There's some funny lines and lively characters though, but there's so many characters you can play as (and can only choose 2 optional characters at a time) their personalities get lost in the clutter. The game has the same type of beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds as FF7,8, and 9. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right,A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right, Chrono Cross is still a very enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend it for those looking for a unique JRPG experience. Expand
  8. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    First of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is to dispel both the fanboy notions and the hater venom rampant in these user reviews. Chrono Cross stands on its' own, apart from Chrono Trigger, and it is clear that this was a primary goal of the development team. Comparisons are invited, but notFirst of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is to dispel both the fanboy notions and the hater venom rampant in these user reviews. Chrono Cross stands on its' own, apart from Chrono Trigger, and it is clear that this was a primary goal of the development team. Comparisons are invited, but not necessarily deserved. I need to point out (as objectively as possible) that the gameplay does not "suck" as so many people have said (giving no reason for their opinion), but is merely different. If you take one thing away from this review, know that this game is simply different from other RPGs. Even to this day, it's magic and leveling systems differ wildly from most games in the genre, and while it may not appeal to gamers who like to powerlevel and bulldoze their way through an experience, Chrono Cross finds a home with those who enjoy the occasional challenge. You may have to give it a while, but the story is actually better than the usual RPG fare (especially for this generation) once you decipher what exactly is going on, and some (but admittedly not all) of the characters are deep enough to genuinely like. The Music is top-notch, and we can get pretty much everyone to agree on that.
    Almost done and sorry for the long review on an outdated game. My PS3 recently went down, and so I've been playing Chrono Trigger on an emulator and Chrono Cross on my PS2, pretty much at the same time. being OBJECTIVE I can honestly say that Cross stands up to it's predecessor in every way, and though I love Trigger, I will say that while it is a masterpiece and does withstand the test of time to a large extent, it is more fondly remembered that happily played. Trigger features a relatively typical battle system (dual and triple techs aside), and the story often just as incomprehensible and silly as some other RPGs *CoughFFVIICough*. Chrono Cross may not be as well-remebered as Chrono Trigger, but even when held away from the light of that classic it shines on its' own.
    Expand
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Best opening, best ending (the real one, using the chrono cross after the right colors). Most likely the best soundtrack as well. This game is a no brainer 10/10
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    Since Chrono Trigger is one of my all-time favorites, I really didn't know what to expect with this game. Although I am a bit sad they didn't make it more like CT, I understand and respect where Square was going with this. IMO, they still made a very good RPG with tons of characters and a beautiful world and story. The game takes some time to warm up but once you learn how equip spellsSince Chrono Trigger is one of my all-time favorites, I really didn't know what to expect with this game. Although I am a bit sad they didn't make it more like CT, I understand and respect where Square was going with this. IMO, they still made a very good RPG with tons of characters and a beautiful world and story. The game takes some time to warm up but once you learn how equip spells properly and setup your party, this game is amazingly fun and long lasting. The music is very good as well, but IMO nowhere near CT. Overall Chrono Cross was a very rewarding adventure for me, the world locations were all very cool and worth visiting. There was a sort of "magical aspect" to this game that they did very well presenting. This game literally has some of the best end game content and replay-ability of any video game created. There are multiple ways you can go about your adventure, choosing different characters each time, having different outcomes and endings. This is what truly shined in CT as well, and Square did a hell of a job implementing it here. I still hope I live to see the day of CT remake though, my how epic that would be. Expand
  11. DarkS.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    This is best rpg of all time!
  12. BenD.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This game is stunning from every aspect. First of all, it features the greatest battle system ever (although it takes a little while to fully understand), an outstanding soundtrack, masterfully done CG cutscenes, and the hands-down best graphics on the PS1. Chrono Cross is one of the few if not the only PS1 game with graphics that will continue to impress gamers no matter how old it gets. This game is stunning from every aspect. First of all, it features the greatest battle system ever (although it takes a little while to fully understand), an outstanding soundtrack, masterfully done CG cutscenes, and the hands-down best graphics on the PS1. Chrono Cross is one of the few if not the only PS1 game with graphics that will continue to impress gamers no matter how old it gets. I didn't like this game quite as much as Final Fantasy VII for reasons that I can't quite explain but it is my second favorite RPG and one of my all time favorite games. Expand
  13. MichaelM.
    Oct 12, 2008
    7
    Some things that drew me to this game were the similar features of xenogears. I first played final fantasy vII which I enjoyed and then I played xenogears which I enjoyed even more.. then I thought chrono cross would be another good game to play but this game kinda pissed me off. In final fantasy VII and xenogears you know where to go and their are characters you can fall in love with.. Some things that drew me to this game were the similar features of xenogears. I first played final fantasy vII which I enjoyed and then I played xenogears which I enjoyed even more.. then I thought chrono cross would be another good game to play but this game kinda pissed me off. In final fantasy VII and xenogears you know where to go and their are characters you can fall in love with.. As it turns out this game you have to choose which characters you want to play and end up with different scenarios. I got lost in the story couple times while I did get lost in the story of xenogears that thing was like watching pulp fiction it really twists with your mind.. i loved it.. but damn chrono cross just pisses me off for soe raeson.. i got lost like millions of times in that game i didnt know where to go.. i hate looking up walkthoughs but for this game i had to which pisses me off. and also after i read some stuff their were like 45 characters you can choose and play from.. i can't fraekin fall in love with 45 freakin players.. give me 5 or 6 but not freakin 45 damn players.. i give squaresofts final fantasy VII and xenogears a 9 and a 10 respectively but chrono cross i think it really deserves a 7 rating imho. Expand
  14. DavidC
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    In the history of games, there has been an unspoken, rarely-recognized rule about how games end up good. The developers need to be passionate about their creation, as well as being masters of storytelling and design, and they need to be given all the freedom they need, so their vision really does come out, instead of being hinted at before the shareholders get antsy. Not every game does In the history of games, there has been an unspoken, rarely-recognized rule about how games end up good. The developers need to be passionate about their creation, as well as being masters of storytelling and design, and they need to be given all the freedom they need, so their vision really does come out, instead of being hinted at before the shareholders get antsy. Not every game does this. Okami did. It is one of the games that converts nearly every person who plays it, so much so that two years after its release, it was ported to the Wii and soon became a greatest hits title on the PS2, and was considered a second time for numerous awards. That's the power of love. Chrono Cross is a game where, if you let yourself be sensitive enough, you can feel the love in every detail, and find it all marvelous to take in. It is a game that manages to have no flaws, unless you consider relaxation to be a bad thing for a game to bring into your life. I won't beat around the Chrono Trigger bush: this game is the best one I've ever played, and I wish I could see more of this kind of art in games. Please, developers, show us how you love your fans like this second dream team did back in 2000. Forget about sales, and just do what you know is right for the game. It's something everyone needs right now. Expand
  15. EliF.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Story, music, visuals, gameplay - every aspect of this game is truly inspired and damn near perfect. The game also strikes a fantastic balance between a strong linear narrative and meaningful player choices, something that few RPGs, Eastern or Western, have matched before or since. Many dislike it for being so different from its beloved predecessor, but if you can accept this game for Story, music, visuals, gameplay - every aspect of this game is truly inspired and damn near perfect. The game also strikes a fantastic balance between a strong linear narrative and meaningful player choices, something that few RPGs, Eastern or Western, have matched before or since. Many dislike it for being so different from its beloved predecessor, but if you can accept this game for what it is, you will realize that it is a brilliant work and valuable asset for those who believe games have the capacity to be art. Expand
  16. DanH.
    Jan 8, 2002
    7
    It's a pretty good game but has some flaws. There's only 2 worlds, the game has an incoherent storyline, and 90% of the playable characters don't have any role in the game. Overall, worth the $20 investment.
  17. HollyB.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    First off, I must say that this game is VERY addicting. I love the music! Also, there are plenty of sidequests to keep you busy. Finally, I love how there are multiple endings and how you get a time shifter when you restart the game. Sidenote- Shane, it's "wasted" not "waisted"! Oh, and BTW, this game is not bull!! Why'd you play it if you hated it so much?!?!
  18. KennyC.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Only one thing can really describe this very enjoyable game, the beauty of it. From the picture to the amazingly composed music, the storyline was just fascinating. I never had a bad experience with this RPG. Don't miss out on one of the BEST RPGS EVER MADE.
  19. AcA.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    It rocks! It keeps you guessing and there's a story every corner...I'm kinda lost right now, though, can't find the green dragon.
  20. ChrisR
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly a superior (or equally good, at least) game. Heiled by the creators as their "best RPG creation". I tend to agree with this. Just because there is no Crono doesn't make it any worse. The characters are unique, vast in number and each have Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly a superior (or equally good, at least) game. Heiled by the creators as their "best RPG creation". I tend to agree with this. Just because there is no Crono doesn't make it any worse. The characters are unique, vast in number and each have something slightly different to bring. Combat is unique and this game is easily one of the greatest JRPGs in existence (perhaps the best?) - a true masterpiece. Expand
  21. JeffH.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, and a new found respect for wingapedes. :P My only fault with this game is that it was short and that people who are unfamiliar with Chrono Trigger won't understand alot of things. But all in all a very solid sequel and my vote for best non FF7 RPG for the Playstation. Expand
  22. PaulB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Probably the most memorable turn based RPG I have ever played. Battles still stick in my mind 9 years after playing it.
  23. ChrisM
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Just as The Wizard of Oz is a classic of film, The Great Gatsby is a classic of literature, and The Beatles are a classic of music, this is a classic of video games. Absolute perfection, and not just as a video game or an RPG. This is perfection of art, period.
  24. TomG.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs out there, impressive graphics, flawless storyline, and amazing battle system.
  25. LanceF.
    Sep 16, 2001
    10
    It seems hard at first but you will get used to it.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Nov 16, 2002
    8
    Good game. Except where some bosses keep killing u for over 10 times when u first play it (withou any help or cheating). Graphics r pretty good for a PS game and the movie graphics r good. The story is good but kinda confusing. My friend couldn't understand the story for 3 months, he's such an idiot.
  27. ErikK.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    This stunning game takes my breath away. The music is out of this world and Kid's a real cutie! Man! Those graphics are sweet! After wraping it up with an original battle system, it's in the same league as the Final Fantasy series. Did I mention Kid's a cutie?!?
  28. DannyR.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    the music is cool and the dragons are the best part of the game the thing I like about this game is it has diffrent endings C.C RULES!
  29. ColeS.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    One of my favorite RPGS, and most certainly the best RPG ever released for the PSX in america.
  30. Jonathan
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    By far the finest RPG game I've played my entire life. Graphics, gameplay, plot, music and battle system is nothing short of splendour. Meticulous character design and comprehensive story makes this game a worthwhile buy; the gameplay is remarkable in an overall scale.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  3. From the incredible story line to the combat system to the great visuals to the overall feel of the game, players will get the sense of how much of an impact a game like this can have.