Chrono Cross PlayStation
Chrono Cross Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in anFeaturing a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in an entirely new adventure. In addition, a brand new battle system makes combat smooth and innovative by introducing an element field system and combo system that gives the player unparalleled flexibility in their fighting options. The elimination of random battles also quickens the pace of the game, and places the choice of where to battle in the player's hands. With character designs by a famed Japanese illustrator and music by the original Chrono Trigger composer, Chrono Cross features visuals and sounds that bring its magic to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Simply, one of the best RPG's ever made, and one of the finest games for the PlayStation console.
  2. 100
    Graphically, "Chrono Cross" is nothing short of stunning.
  3. It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. 97
    A truly epic role-playing game experience that has cemented its place in the annals of RPG history.
  5. With its refreshing design, cool music and engaging storyline, this game has to be one of the greatest RPGs that has ever exited the Squaresoft building.
  6. A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  7. While paling in comparison to its celebrated predecessor, "Chrono Cross's" great character design and intriguing combat system ensure that the game is anything but the misfire it could so easily have been.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 83
  2. Negative: 10 out of 83
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone andAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Expand
  2. JeffH.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, and a new found respect for wingapedes. :P My only fault with this game is that it was short and that people who are unfamiliar with Chrono Trigger won't understand alot of things. But all in all a very solid sequel and my vote for best non FF7 RPG for the Playstation. Expand
  3. JeriamiaS.
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    I have had a lot of fun playing this game, and I am really impressed with it. The game is challenging, and I get stuck a lot. I am currently I have had a lot of fun playing this game, and I am really impressed with it. The game is challenging, and I get stuck a lot. I am currently looking for the green dragon. I am certain he is in Gaias navel but I can't get in...Ahh bahumbug. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Bring a few tissue boxes before you hit New Game. Video games were never intended to reach the level of emotional involvement that ChronoBring a few tissue boxes before you hit New Game. Video games were never intended to reach the level of emotional involvement that Chrono Cross did. While Chrono Cross fell victim to being criticized for being too different from Chrono Trigger and not very sequel-like, Cross is ultimately the better game of the two in every single meaningful area, and all of its changes are for the better, unless you were one of the aforementioned people who wanted nothing more than Chrono Trigger 2. What separates Chrono Cross the most from every other game is its skill at evoking emotions in the player. Cross will make you sob like a scolded little girl at the sad scenes and grin like it's your first hit of cocaine at the happy scenes. No other RPG has been able to do this quite like Cross was able to. Possibly the most imaginative game ever created, it will literally take you across time and space to reach one ultimate final point that ties everything together. The "true" ending is so mind-blowing and surreal that by the time the end credits and epilogue finish, you'll be sitting feeling like you've changed as a person as a result of what you've experienced. Again, video games were never intended to be this emotionally involving. It just wasn't considered possible. Chrono Cross is easily one of the best if not the best RPGs ever created, as well as one of the best games ever made. The game's biggest drawback is that it does, at some point, end. But it gently takes your hands and helps you up off the floor and shows you a very meaningful New Game+, which is well worth exploring. Cross sits comfortably next to Freespace 2, an emotionally supercharged and story-driven space combat simulator that accomplished what shooters were never intended to do, as my favorite game of all time. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music areA well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right, Chrono Cross is still a very enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend it for those looking for a unique JRPG experience. Expand
  6. May 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Having played through the first disc, I can tell you, Chrono Cross is a timeless classic for fans of Chrono Trigger, especially near the end, where the pieces start to fit together and you see the little ghost versions of Crono, Lucca, and Marle! However, don't go in expecting it to be CT, it plays way differently, and it's character list is way more elaborately constructed (And way more difficult to complete). If you've played Final Fantasy 4, you may remember how they switched you from Dark to Light... Well, that's the case for disc 1, about halfway in you get transformed from Light to Dark, forcing you to lose all your cool Light magic such as Luminair, and you get stuck with the body and magic of Lynx, the game's antagonist, and right when you get used to it, you get to choose whether or not to revert back to Serge.

    I've noticed a lot of people have compared this game to FFVII, I will not, as the game's combat system disqualifies it from being comparable. Alternatively, I *will* compare it to Xenogears, as they both feel the same, forgive me if the comparison is a bit...."iffy" as I haven't played Xenogears in about a year.

    Comparison commence: 1. Combat:Both games rely on an "Active Combo" system, in which the player tacks on another attack until the Action Points(AP) are gone. With Xenogears the "Magic" is preforming the correct combo to execute a finishing move. With Chrono Cross you use a Tech attack, and may then use another action. The AP is distributed fairly the same throughout both games. After the battle you get a victory animation in Xenogears, but in Chrono Cross the party just stands there in their battle poses.
    2. Intro: Both games begin with a cutscene foreshadowing an event that the player goes through, Xenogears' in anime, Chrono Cross' in the in game graphics. Xenogears starts out strong, hitting home early on, revealing enough to keep the player enthralled an not confused. Chrono Cross starts out with a dreamlike sequence wherein the player sees a the camera zoom into a tower and then serge and two other party members in an elevator. the player then goes through the second half of the dungeon until they meet the boss. After waking up in both games you get your first glance at the starting village. After walking around a bit in Xenogears the starting event occurs, after which you are kicked out of the village forever. In Chrono Cross, you walk around a bit doing something that doesn't do anything for the player, but moves the story along a bit. after which, you get dropped into a parallel universe wherein Serge died when he was younger, and everyone in your home village is a complete dick to you.
    3. Likeness to CT: While the storyline in Chrono Cross is closer, wins in the gameplay department ( with the exception of combat). If you're looking for a game that feels like CT, you're going to end up buying both of them, for the simple fact that they're like two halves of the same whole, with the exception of combat.

    All-in-all, this game is a must have for RPG lovers, fans of CT, and gamers in general! Well, that about wraps up my review, so if you got this far: thank you for reading this giant wall of text! I hope you found this helpful!
    Collapse
  7. ShaneW.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to follow. And even if you did it wouldn't make any sense. If any of you own this game, you waisted your money on a pile of bull sh**. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews