Chrono Cross PlayStation
Chrono Cross Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in anFeaturing a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in an entirely new adventure. In addition, a brand new battle system makes combat smooth and innovative by introducing an element field system and combo system that gives the player unparalleled flexibility in their fighting options. The elimination of random battles also quickens the pace of the game, and places the choice of where to battle in the player's hands. With character designs by a famed Japanese illustrator and music by the original Chrono Trigger composer, Chrono Cross features visuals and sounds that bring its magic to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Simply, one of the best RPG's ever made, and one of the finest games for the PlayStation console.
  2. 100
    Graphically, "Chrono Cross" is nothing short of stunning.
  3. It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. 97
    A truly epic role-playing game experience that has cemented its place in the annals of RPG history.
  5. With its refreshing design, cool music and engaging storyline, this game has to be one of the greatest RPGs that has ever exited the Squaresoft building.
  6. A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  7. While paling in comparison to its celebrated predecessor, "Chrono Cross's" great character design and intriguing combat system ensure that the game is anything but the misfire it could so easily have been.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 82
  2. Negative: 10 out of 82
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone andAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Collapse
  2. ChrisR
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly a superior (or equally good, at least) game. Heiled by the creators as their "best RPG creation". I tend to agree with this. Just because there is no Crono doesn't make it any worse. The characters are unique, vast in number and each have something slightly different to bring. Combat is unique and this game is easily one of the greatest JRPGs in existence (perhaps the best?) - a true masterpiece. Expand
  3. WendyM.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    It is one of the best video games i have ever played!Iwould reccomend it to anyone who likes action RPGs. It is alittle confusing at first, It is one of the best video games i have ever played!Iwould reccomend it to anyone who likes action RPGs. It is alittle confusing at first, but still fun! Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Best opening, best ending (the real one, using the chrono cross after the right colors). Most likely the best soundtrack as well. This game isBest opening, best ending (the real one, using the chrono cross after the right colors). Most likely the best soundtrack as well. This game is a no brainer 10/10 Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    A brilliant game that deserves a the same reversioning being given to the equally brilliant Final Fantasy series. A fresh translation and anA brilliant game that deserves a the same reversioning being given to the equally brilliant Final Fantasy series. A fresh translation and an HD update would likely lead to the dozen sequels Trigger and Cross fans imagine every time a new FF spin-off (or cash-cow, as the case often is) is announced.

    Which is to say, 'was Dirge of Cerebus really a more vital project than a shiny new Chrono?' or 'How many Dissidias's did we really need?'

    Not that i didn't enjoy Duodecim or Duodenum or-- whatever the hockey-sticks. i absolutely did. It was what Tobal no. 1 might have been if we were up to Tobal no. 947. Exceptionally good fun, with lots of smashing and fan setvice. But it's not likely to end up in the Smithsonian 100 years from now alongside FFVII and Metroid and the Xenosaga trilogy. (Hey, don't knock it till you've played it all, including reading every codex entry and understanding every reference. While it's not strictly necessary to speak french, german, japanese, english and to study the more "eccentric" edges of Judaism to play and enjoy Xenosaga, it does help. It's a game for eager, curious, smart people, and in that context, it is arguably the finest science fiction ever conceived in any medium. It's a bold declaration, but also one that only those who didn't finish the trilogy with a full understanding of the story ever argue with. It's a favorite among sociology and theology majors. i digress.)

    While i wouldn't go quite so far as to give Chrono Cross a 10, as doing so would confidently declare it in every way equal to the greatest games in the entire history of video gaming, a solid 9 is by no means an exaggeration. Chrono cross is a rockstar of a game, and JRPG royalty.

    "Magnificent" is a good adjective. "Perfect" is a stretch, but i understand the impulse. There are better RPGs in the world, but bet'cha by golly wow...not many.

    Tangentially, dropping a 0 on a game of this caliber (while simultaneously misspelling every third word and displaying a complete inability to utilize even the most basic tenants of english grammar) because you couldn't follow the fairly straightforward story is admitting you didn't finish the game and tantamount to saying "Don't play this game if you're slow in the head, recovering from a severe concussion, or have difficulty with polysyllabic words and understanding the concept of zero as the absence of a number."

    Zero is the Dark Matter of mathematics. We can't see it, but we know it exists because without it, the rest of math doesn't function properly. That's what zero is. An absence of numbers. And, as this game clearly exists, and for all intents and purposes does precisely what it sets out to do, giving Chrono Cross, (or any functioning game) a zero is rather silly.

    I'm sure many a halo-fan would find this game slow and wordy, but wasting your own time in an effort to accomplish god-only-knows-what achieves very little beyond making you look terrifically stupid and astonishingly petty.

    By all means, write a negative review if that's how you feel. Such editorial balance is crucial to painting a picture of any product, but throw in a reason or two. something beyond "i can't read good", and please, please (i simply cannot stress this enough) play the whole game first. Indeed, i myself, as a god-like master of using words that make me appear far smarter than i really am, find that it can be awfully difficult to grasp the full scope of a tale before i've...heard the tale.
    It's just a thought.

    Also, good grammar is sexy as hell. Don't let anyone tell you different.

    love and textbook-length game manuals,
    the Doctor
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Very fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade yourVery fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade your equipment to really get an edge. Your level is maxed depending on where you are in the game, so killing random encounters becomes pointless once you get the items you need. However, it's nice to constantly be challenged, than to just bulldoze through bosses. However, you miss the feeling of achievement spending a long time playing the game, since your levels are usually a measure of that. There's some funny lines and lively characters though, but there's so many characters you can play as (and can only choose 2 optional characters at a time) their personalities get lost in the clutter. The game has the same type of beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds as FF7,8, and 9. Expand
  7. ShaneW.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to follow. And even if you did it wouldn't make any sense. If any of you own this game, you waisted your money on a pile of bull sh**. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews