Chrono Cross PlayStation

Chrono Cross Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in anFeaturing a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in an entirely new adventure. In addition, a brand new battle system makes combat smooth and innovative by introducing an element field system and combo system that gives the player unparalleled flexibility in their fighting options. The elimination of random battles also quickens the pace of the game, and places the choice of where to battle in the player's hands. With character designs by a famed Japanese illustrator and music by the original Chrono Trigger composer, Chrono Cross features visuals and sounds that bring its magic to life. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Simply, one of the best RPG's ever made, and one of the finest games for the PlayStation console.
  2. 100
    Graphically, "Chrono Cross" is nothing short of stunning.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. 97
    A truly epic role-playing game experience that has cemented its place in the annals of RPG history.
  5. Game Fan
    92
    With its refreshing design, cool music and engaging storyline, this game has to be one of the greatest RPGs that has ever exited the Squaresoft building.
  6. CheckOut
    90
    A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  7. Daily Radar
    75
    While paling in comparison to its celebrated predecessor, "Chrono Cross's" great character design and intriguing combat system ensure that the game is anything but the misfire it could so easily have been.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 90
  2. Negative: 10 out of 90
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone andAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    The awkward moment when EVEN all 16 of the official critics gave an (extremely) postive review, some idiot users still gave it a negativeThe awkward moment when EVEN all 16 of the official critics gave an (extremely) postive review, some idiot users still gave it a negative review. I mean, 17 negative reviews? For this masterpiece? Blasphemy. This game is a straight up 10/10. Timeless classic, will be forever remembered. Expand
  3. HollyB.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    First off, I must say that this game is VERY addicting. I love the music! Also, there are plenty of sidequests to keep you busy. Finally, I First off, I must say that this game is VERY addicting. I love the music! Also, there are plenty of sidequests to keep you busy. Finally, I love how there are multiple endings and how you get a time shifter when you restart the game. Sidenote- Shane, it's "wasted" not "waisted"! Oh, and BTW, this game is not bull!! Why'd you play it if you hated it so much?!?! Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Chrono Cross is an amazing RPG and I am happy I stumbled upon it. I never really played Chrono Trigger so I don't really understand theChrono Cross is an amazing RPG and I am happy I stumbled upon it. I never really played Chrono Trigger so I don't really understand the backlash this game received by some fans. The graphics are great and every element that makes a great RPG are there. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Chrono Cross is an engrossing game that'll have you hooked! The story goes on for around 40+ hours (not including new game+.) The visuals areChrono Cross is an engrossing game that'll have you hooked! The story goes on for around 40+ hours (not including new game+.) The visuals are fantastic and the color schemes for every screen are beautiful and vibrant. The battle system can become a little stale BUT boss battles won't disappoint. Since this game has a few dozen useable characters there's bound to be a lack of background info on most and that's true. There's a few characters that are essential and actually add to the plot but having so many options is always fun. The element system was a nice breath of fresh air to the magic system in RPGs. Overall this game will give you plenty of gameplay and the replayability is high. This game is a classic and you won't be let down. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    First of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is toFirst of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is to dispel both the fanboy notions and the hater venom rampant in these user reviews. Chrono Cross stands on its' own, apart from Chrono Trigger, and it is clear that this was a primary goal of the development team. Comparisons are invited, but not necessarily deserved. I need to point out (as objectively as possible) that the gameplay does not "suck" as so many people have said (giving no reason for their opinion), but is merely different. If you take one thing away from this review, know that this game is simply different from other RPGs. Even to this day, it's magic and leveling systems differ wildly from most games in the genre, and while it may not appeal to gamers who like to powerlevel and bulldoze their way through an experience, Chrono Cross finds a home with those who enjoy the occasional challenge. You may have to give it a while, but the story is actually better than the usual RPG fare (especially for this generation) once you decipher what exactly is going on, and some (but admittedly not all) of the characters are deep enough to genuinely like. The Music is top-notch, and we can get pretty much everyone to agree on that.
    Almost done and sorry for the long review on an outdated game. My PS3 recently went down, and so I've been playing Chrono Trigger on an emulator and Chrono Cross on my PS2, pretty much at the same time. being OBJECTIVE I can honestly say that Cross stands up to it's predecessor in every way, and though I love Trigger, I will say that while it is a masterpiece and does withstand the test of time to a large extent, it is more fondly remembered that happily played. Trigger features a relatively typical battle system (dual and triple techs aside), and the story often just as incomprehensible and silly as some other RPGs *CoughFFVIICough*. Chrono Cross may not be as well-remebered as Chrono Trigger, but even when held away from the light of that classic it shines on its' own.
    Expand
  7. ShaneW.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to follow. And even if you did it wouldn't make any sense. If any of you own this game, you waisted your money on a pile of bull sh**. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000