• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This time the game takes place across a great expanse of time and space, making for greatly diverse level designs, which in turn keep the game fresh.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A very strong contender for PlayStation game of the year. Its "rowdy rowdy" gameplay will keep your head spinning for days.
  2. As some would argue, the best 2.5D platformer ever released. [Nov 2001, p.40]
  3. Easily the best Crash game yet and possibly the greatest platforming title on the PSX yet. Although not as long as the previous games it provides the most bang for the buck!
  4. Easily the best Crash yet. Every aspect of the game is better: new moves, levels, bosses, graphics, sound, and gameplay. It's the most fun I've had with a 3D platform game in a long, long time.
  5. A barrage of good things. The graphics, sound, music, levels, and difficulty all come together perfectly. Naughty Dog has made Crash a much better game, something that is commendable when so many sequels come up short.
  6. It’s too short. Sure, there are twenty-five levels plus hidden areas and bosses, but they're limited to variations on about five different time periods, and they’re very short.
  7. So impressive to watch that you'll have to keep one hand firmly below your chin to keep it from falling to the floor.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 2 out of 72
  1. TobyK
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Excellent, fun arcade adventure. perfect for the system, and still fun today. I have absolutely no issues with this game, and through its Excellent, fun arcade adventure. perfect for the system, and still fun today. I have absolutely no issues with this game, and through its simplicity you can see its genius. Simple levels and easy controls, along with traditional crash wackiness made the game for me. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best game I've ever played. It has good music in it, really good graphics for being PS1. Nice characters, really funny levels. It is super funBest game I've ever played. It has good music in it, really good graphics for being PS1. Nice characters, really funny levels. It is super fun to spent time on this game. I have to replay this game now! Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The perfect crash game with an insane amount of replay ability which every Playstation owner must have at some point in their life, NaughtyThe perfect crash game with an insane amount of replay ability which every Playstation owner must have at some point in their life, Naughty Dog perfected their franchise on the PS1 and had an amazing level of graphics for the time, with a huge amount of levels and secret levels each with 1 Crystal and or at least one Gem to collect and three separate time trial Relic rewards which make you want to play the level over and over to get the best time which are also needed to unlock the true final ending (there being 3 in total) making you want to keep on going to beat the evil N.Cortex.

    Not only is this game for children but also for adults with its difficulty curve starting from the very easy crystal collection to the rising in difficulty gem collection up to the insanely hard Platinum Relic time trial runs, even a veteran of this game/gamer will have difficulty getting every Gem and Relic but it is in no means impossible.

    The games mechanics are very solid and a brilliant improvement from its predecessors. There are some jumping techniques they force you to work out on your own or with parts of the more advance levels which you need to work this out to progress but these come with common sense or will be picked up on as you play through the game.

    The character design is amazing for the young mind due to it being so imaginative but also relatable to real life animals or their funny names eg. Dr N.Gin. This is also helped by the interactivity between the player and these characters which happens during the player entering a new warp zone/level for the first time bringing nice touch of immersion.
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    After playing this game for countless hours as a kid, I decided to buy this game on my PS3, best decision I've ever made. Everything aboutAfter playing this game for countless hours as a kid, I decided to buy this game on my PS3, best decision I've ever made. Everything about this game is fun, the controls are simple but hard to master and the graphics still look as crisp as I remember them. Thank god for Crash Bandicoot. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    It is hard to follow up with good sequels; however, this was not the case with Crash Bandicoot 3. Everything from part 1 and 2 are here butIt is hard to follow up with good sequels; however, this was not the case with Crash Bandicoot 3. Everything from part 1 and 2 are here but with extra touches that improved the overall quality of the gameplay. The game was varied and bosses were challenging. Crash Bandicoot Warped was very fun to play and had a high reply value Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    After the excellent Crash Bandicoot and Crash Bandicoot: 2: Cortex Strikes Back, it comes as no surprise that the next instalment in NaughtyAfter the excellent Crash Bandicoot and Crash Bandicoot: 2: Cortex Strikes Back, it comes as no surprise that the next instalment in Naughty Dog's flagship platformer series is such an outstanding game. And pretty damn hard one at that - achieving 100% completion is by no means an easy task. Fans of collecting goodies and discovering secrets should be particularly pleased with this game. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    0
    A great adventure is letdown by its boring context.

See all 72 User Reviews