Crash Bash PlayStation
  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2000
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    6
    Mantendo o legado de bons jogos de Crash no PS one, um divertido game para um modo multiplayer. Bem variado, colorido e intuitivo. No single player se mostra bem desafiador para aqueles que querem completar 100%.
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    This game doesn't have the exact same atmosphere as the previous Crash games made by Naughty Dog, but it still has every Crash-related thing mashed together in the best possible ways which make some extremely clever mini-games. And each mini-game has unique challenges among them so you can earn different collectables (also seen in previous Crash games).

    The only negative things I think
    This game doesn't have the exact same atmosphere as the previous Crash games made by Naughty Dog, but it still has every Crash-related thing mashed together in the best possible ways which make some extremely clever mini-games. And each mini-game has unique challenges among them so you can earn different collectables (also seen in previous Crash games).

    The only negative things I think worth mentioning is first off, the AI, which can make some mini-games excruciatingly hard - and even more so when attempting some challenges unique to those mini-games. The second issue is that some mini-games are simply unfun and unintuitive, but some of them need to be completed anyway to continue the game. It's an awesome play for true Crash fans and its multiplayer is first-rate, but other than that, it doesn't pop out like it's predecessors.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Even though this game is not made by Naughty Dog, I never would've guessed it. The characters look exactly like themselves from the main Crash games. The music is unbelievably catchy, just like the original Crash trilogy. The environments and sounds are all still perfect. As for the new, original elements, I have to say, I'm really impressed. First of all, this is one of the VERY FEW gamesEven though this game is not made by Naughty Dog, I never would've guessed it. The characters look exactly like themselves from the main Crash games. The music is unbelievably catchy, just like the original Crash trilogy. The environments and sounds are all still perfect. As for the new, original elements, I have to say, I'm really impressed. First of all, this is one of the VERY FEW games that must have Co-op, and it does (I'm looking at you, Crash "Team" Racing. The AI is kind of annoying though, in some levels, the bots are impossible to beat, while in others, they're a push-over. Like in the Polar Push games and Ballistix games. Most of the mini-games are great fun, while some are a pain in the main game. The pogo games, for example. The only one that's even remotely fun and lively is Pogo-a-gogo. But let's ignore the main game, and focus on the reason this game is a 10 in my eyes. First of all, I don't like how there have to be 4 players, but I guess that's the same problem with Mario Party. On the other hand, if you can get 3 friends playing together, it'll be the most fun you've ever had playing a game together. The competitiveness is unbelievable, because at every moment, a person could wipe out. This will be one of the best games I have ever had. Please play it, or at least get an emulator, a few gamepads, and get on it! Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    Play with friends or else you probably won't be as entertained, and that's where this one flops. You won't play Crash Bash for hours on end like the other Crash games. But if you're kind of drunk and having fun with at least 4 people than go ahead, it will be fun for a while, it's still a cool solid game.
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    So much four-player fun! Pure and excellent party game but awful singleplayer game. It's all about having a bunch of friends over and competing for points.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    I like game and is best when you play multi-player! It have very colorful graphic, but quite undetailed. Only thing what bugging me, is gem challenges, but thanks to crystal chalenges, game is not that boring anymore except when you play second balls, where have opponents shields
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    This is such a fun game and I don't need friends to play it. You should play through the story mode to unlock more games. The focuses focuses on whever good or evil's stronger it turns into a competition. The balloon game is what should of been left out, and the characters are very unbalanced with Cortex and that other guy with a gun, those 2 have guns and they can throw things accuratlyThis is such a fun game and I don't need friends to play it. You should play through the story mode to unlock more games. The focuses focuses on whever good or evil's stronger it turns into a competition. The balloon game is what should of been left out, and the characters are very unbalanced with Cortex and that other guy with a gun, those 2 have guns and they can throw things accuratly with long range and bursts greatly with the Polar Bears. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Very fun multiplayer game. Playing alone, not so fun, but still hours of fun. Nice mini games, witty music and I like boss battles. The story is commendable too. Characters are funny and all are very playable.
  9. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    The game value depends on how many friends you have to play this game with. If one or more, the game's fun factor soars through the roof, breaks through the exosphere and goes MIA somewhere in an unknown galaxy. If you're playing alone... yeah, not worth it at all. With that being said, I played this game A LOT with my brother and my friends, and we all had an incredible blast. Hands downThe game value depends on how many friends you have to play this game with. If one or more, the game's fun factor soars through the roof, breaks through the exosphere and goes MIA somewhere in an unknown galaxy. If you're playing alone... yeah, not worth it at all. With that being said, I played this game A LOT with my brother and my friends, and we all had an incredible blast. Hands down the best party game ever created, Wii Sportes be damned. Expand
  10. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    Crash Bash is good party game. You can play one vs bots but this is max 5,5/10, this game is good with 1-3 friends. I advice this game Crash fans and people like party games. 7/10
  11. May 6, 2011
    7
    Nowhere near as good as main games of Crash Bandicoot but surprisingly fun.
  12. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    After Naughty Dog left the furry mascot behind to pursue the Jak series, the Crash Bandicoot series began flailing. However, Crash Bash isn't half-bad, it's actually half-good and retains (some) of the charm the preceding games were shrouded in. Pros: Ridiculously addictive multi-player mode; some undeniably fun(ny) mini-games; retains the impressive visuals the preceding games had. Cons:After Naughty Dog left the furry mascot behind to pursue the Jak series, the Crash Bandicoot series began flailing. However, Crash Bash isn't half-bad, it's actually half-good and retains (some) of the charm the preceding games were shrouded in. Pros: Ridiculously addictive multi-player mode; some undeniably fun(ny) mini-games; retains the impressive visuals the preceding games had. Cons: The single-player mode is dull; some of the mini-games are just frustrating in general; not a lot of depth in character development or innovation. Expand
  13. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    The Crash Bandicoot series has become very popular since it started back in 1996. In Japan he has huge merchandise, where you can get toys, cookie jars, piggy banks and mini karts. In his fifth (not chronologically though as this is a spin off like the last game CTR) game running, he's back making his first debut on a party game. Naughty Dog has sold the rights to Universal, and is nowThe Crash Bandicoot series has become very popular since it started back in 1996. In Japan he has huge merchandise, where you can get toys, cookie jars, piggy banks and mini karts. In his fifth (not chronologically though as this is a spin off like the last game CTR) game running, he's back making his first debut on a party game. Naughty Dog has sold the rights to Universal, and is now acquired by Sony. So that means we welcome our brand new developer to the Crash franchise, Eurocom. Crash Bash is a party game similar to Mario Party and, although it offers some exiting challenges, doesn't live up to its predecessors. There are three different events to choose from, Adventure, Battle and Tournament. Adventure is the main story of the game where you can choose 1 of 8 different characters, 4 from each side of good and evil. If you've played Crash 2 and Warped then you'll pretty much get the basic start of the game. You start off in a warp room and inside this warp room are a set of different battle arenas, each one has its own challenge e.g. bashing each other with attacks and crates, jumping on a pogo stick and collecting points or racing around a small circular track. The object of the game really is to win the arena to earn a trophy, after that you can either move onto the next arena or return to the previous one you did and try the gem or crystal challenge. As you progress further, a gold and sapphire relic challenge is unlocked. Once you have collected all the trophies in the arenas of the warp room, the boss portal is unlocked, defeat the boss and you can progress onto the next warp room, which consists of another set of arenas (some with new challenges). Overall there are six warp room, 28 levels and five boss battles. The main problem I have with this game is you find yourself doing the same challenge again and again, and it gets tiring after a while. Some of the arenas are good but some (the racing in particular) are boring. I have also encountered some bug errors in the game. For example (this might be hard to explain in text, but if you have discovered this as well, you'll understand what I mean) in Space Bash, if you trap one of your opponents by destroying a square of platforms, then he will just circulate himself and make no attempt to jump over the hole. Either this was done by mistake from the programmers, or the game testers didn't pick this up. Graphically the game hasn't changed that much, the textures and pixels of the characters, levels and backgrounds are still the same and there isn't as much variation as there was in the previous Crash titles. The music is catchy though, some are the same from Warped and have been remixed slightly and some are new. The characters voice taunts don't add anything special and some are just weird. Crash Bash isn't a terrible game, but it's not a great one either, just acceptable. CTR was a good spin-off title, but now I think they should go back to its original platform route. Collapse
  14. Apr 22, 2011
    0
    The Crash Bandicoot series has become very popular since it started back in 1996. In Japan he has huge merchandise, where you can get toys, cookie jars, piggy banks and mini karts. In his fifth (not chronologically though as this is a spin off like the last game CTR) game running, he's back making his first debut on a party game. Naughty Dog has sold the rights to Universal, and is nowThe Crash Bandicoot series has become very popular since it started back in 1996. In Japan he has huge merchandise, where you can get toys, cookie jars, piggy banks and mini karts. In his fifth (not chronologically though as this is a spin off like the last game CTR) game running, he's back making his first debut on a party game. Naughty Dog has sold the rights to Universal, and is now acquired by Sony. So that means we welcome our brand new developer to the Crash franchise, Eurocom. Crash Bash is a party game similar to Mario Party and, although it offers some exiting challenges, doesn't live up to its predecessors. There are three different events to choose from, Adventure, Battle and Tournament. Adventure is the main story of the game where you can choose 1 of 8 different characters, 4 from each side of good and evil. If you've played Crash 2 and Warped then you'll pretty much get the basic start of the game. You start off in a warp room and inside this warp room are a set of different battle arenas, each one has its own challenge e.g. bashing each other with attacks and crates, jumping on a pogo stick and collecting points or racing around a small circular track. The object of the game really is to win the arena to earn a trophy, after that you can either move onto the next arena or return to the previous one you did and try the gem or crystal challenge. As you progress further, a gold and sapphire relic challenge is unlocked. Once you have collected all the trophies in the arenas of the warp room, the boss portal is unlocked, defeat the boss and you can progress onto the next warp room, which consists of another set of arenas (some with new challenges). Overall there are six warp room, 28 levels and five boss battles. The main problem I have with this game is you find yourself doing the same challenge again and again, and it gets tiring after a while. Some of the arenas are good but some (the racing in particular) are boring. I have also encountered some bug errors in the game. For example (this might be hard to explain in text, but if you have discovered this as well, you'll understand what I mean) in Space Bash, if you trap one of your opponents by destroying a square of platforms, then he will just circulate himself and make no attempt to jump over the hole. Either this was done by mistake from the programmers, or the game testers didn't pick this up. Graphically the game hasn't changed that much, the textures and pixels of the characters, levels and backgrounds are still the same and there isn't as much variation as there was in the previous Crash titles. The music is catchy though, some are the same from Warped and have been remixed slightly and some are new. The characters voice taunts don't add anything special and some are just weird. Crash Bash isn't a terrible game, but it's not a great one either, just acceptable. CTR was a good spin-off title, but now I think they should go back to its original platform route. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. The problem here is that there are better, more original and inventive party games out there; Crash Bash fails to do anything to put itself ahead of Nintendo's "Mario Party" series, or even match it.
  2. I, for one, will be giving multiple copies of Crash Bash and multi-taps to family and friends this holiday, and that alone should speak miles on just how addictive and fun this game can be in a multiplayer environment.
  3. 75
    It's not original and it's not deep, but it's packed with tons of silly games and it's a social magnet amongst the geek elite.