• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Crash Team Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's a multi-player kart racing game starring your favorite bandicoot CRASH and a host of his friends...and foes! The stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Ready...Set...GO!!!


Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Control is also nearly-perfect... The transparent controls allow you to concentrate on racing and blasting your opponents, and so the races are faster, more fluid and more fun.
  2. The game that made kart racing cool. Nothing has ever matched its quality. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. Just like the previous Crash games, CTR is utterly polished and addictive to a fault... That's right, you heard me, CTR is a better game than Nintendo's "Mario Kart."
  4. Countless mascot racers flooded store shelves during the PlayStation era, and Crash Team Racing was the only good one. Really. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 85
    Once you get past the insanely capitalistic smile of Crash, the game is rock solid in playability and graphics. Hell! It's a four-player kart game that's on the PlayStation. Isn't that enough?
  6. Though it doesn't add much to the tired genre, it manages to do everything well.
  7. A good game, not a phenomenal game, just a plain and simple good game. Though, a little on the cute side, the challenge out weights such matters.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This game is so awesome i went out of my way to get platinum relics for all the tracks. I got all platinum but sewer speedway and n.gin labs are the hardest for platinum. I love this game so much i own for ps1, ps2, ps3, and psp. This so much more fast pace than mario kart. the adventure is much fun especially if you unlock the bosses. In my opinion the best ps1 racing game. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    THIS, IS, MY FAVOURITE GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!! This is such a good cart racer, and the power slides are so easy to do, you could do them with one arm behind your back (exaggeration) but so hard to master and use to their full advantage. Add on excellent tracks, and a wikkid story line, equals EPICNESS! Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    It's the funnest, yet most blatant Mario Kart rip-off to date, and definitely one of the funnest in the franchise. A visual delight for its time and packed with a variety of characters, weapons, and tracks, CTR is definitely worth your $6 on the PSN. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Even if it is a Mario Kart-knock off, it's not a bad game at all. In fact, it's one of the funnest racing titles on the PS one that never seems to get old, even going into 2012. Flashy with its colorful visuals and flawless graphics, but addictive with its variety of race tracks, weapons, and playable characters packed with charisma, this is one of the best Crash games to date. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Crash Team Racing is the final Crash game developed by Naughty Dog and is something we haven't seen Crash do before. That is racing of course. The story of the game is that an intergalactic villain names Nitrous Oxide has kidnapped Crash, Cortex and the rest of the gang. The gameplay is very well played and the graphics are well designed. I can't stand it when people say "this game is a ripoff of Mario Kart" because Mario Kart was not the first racing game. Neither is Crash but it improves on what most of the other cart racers didn't have. This game is worth a look at. Not too many racing games have a good story and stellar gameplay like this game. Lag might occur occasionally, but if you have not played this game since 13 years ago when it was released, it is definitely worth a try. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    After all these years we thought Nintendo was the only company that produced decent kart games for their consoles, well finally the Playstation has its own clone, Crash Team Racing. Created and Developed by Naughty Dog, Crash Team Racing is a kart racing game where the player can choose to play as any of the characters in the Crash series (even the bad guys if you want, I always choose Crash because he's my favourite). There are five different modes to choose from: Adventure, Time Trial, Arcade, Verses and Battle. "Adventure" mode is the main story of the game. You start off in the arena where you can drive around and practice some skills such as hopping, drifting and power sliding. The main goal is to win trophies by coming in first place, when you have collected four the boss challenge opens up. Beat to boss to and you'll receive a key which will unlock the door to the next world, there you will find four more tracks to race. Overall there are 18 tracks, 5 worlds and 5 bosses. There are some unbelievable (Oxide Station in particular) race tracks and if that wasn't enough, you can use weapons on your opponents to help you to catch up if you are behind. In a way it's almost identical to the Wipeout games. As well as trophies, there are other race modes too such as Relic Race, CTR challenge and the Gem Cup Challenge. In "Time Trial" you can race through every single track in the game (this is a good way of getting some practice and memorizing the whole track in all of them), attempting to beat the computer players time. If you're fast enough N Tropy will challenge you, and if you beat his time you'll face Oxide. Trust me when I say this, no matter how many tries, how much speed, power, drifting, everything you give it, you will most likely not beat him. I've attempted them all myself and have only beaten him in a few races. In "Arcade" mode, you can scroll through a selection of tracks you wish to race. You can choose either Single Race or enter a Cup, where you race on four tracks in a row and score points. The better position you are, the more points you gain and if you have the most points after the four races, you win the Cup. The "Versus" mode is pretty much the same, with the exception that two or more players are involved. In "Battle" mode, you can have up to four players fighting and launching weapons at one another during combat in up to seven battle arenas. The type and length of the battle can be adjusted in the main menu beforehand. Graphically the game is very impressive, the colour and texture design of each vehicle are done brilliantly. The race tracks and environments are very well pixelated, and there is lot of variation background to see from a great distance. The characters are very well desinged , and i'm glad the developers didn't change them too much (unlike some Crash games) . As always, the music and sound effects are note perfect. Each soundtrack matches perfectly to each race track. One thing I really like is listening to the players taunts (especially Crash's who does some hilarious ones like "Wheeeeee" and of course his old time favourite "Whoa"), when trying to overtake someone. It's almost as if they're saying what you're thinking. The only criticisms I would say is that some of the tracks (Coco Park for example) are easy and boring and where in the other modes you can adjust the difficulty, Adventure mode doesn't have this option. It would have been nice if they added this feature, in case you felt it was too easy to complete. Despite this, I can honestly say this is the best Kart racing game I have ever played. It's way more superior to the Mario Kart games and if I ever get the chance, I will thank Naughty Dog dearly for making four great Crash games that will remain classics and will entertain millions of gamers as the years go by. Although it was sad to hear their departure from Crash, I absolutly loved what they did with Jak and Uncharted. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    I gave this game a 7, this is also my favorite game. This is my favorite because In my opinion, a favorite game is s game where you can keep on playing without getting bored or not finding the game repeating itself or having stupid things like quick time events. This game is has many flaws glitches ect. That's why I am not giving it a 10. But I am giving it, my favorite game. The highest ranking a game can get. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews