Crash Team Racing PlayStation

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Crash Team Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's a multi-player kart racing game starring your favorite bandicoot CRASH and a host of his friends...and foes! The stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Ready...Set...GO!!!

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Control is also nearly-perfect... The transparent controls allow you to concentrate on racing and blasting your opponents, and so the races are faster, more fluid and more fun.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    The game that made kart racing cool. Nothing has ever matched its quality. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. Just like the previous Crash games, CTR is utterly polished and addictive to a fault... That's right, you heard me, CTR is a better game than Nintendo's "Mario Kart."
  4. GMR Magazine
    90
    Countless mascot racers flooded store shelves during the PlayStation era, and Crash Team Racing was the only good one. Really. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 85
    Once you get past the insanely capitalistic smile of Crash, the game is rock solid in playability and graphics. Hell! It's a four-player kart game that's on the PlayStation. Isn't that enough?
  6. Though it doesn't add much to the tired genre, it manages to do everything well.
  7. A good game, not a phenomenal game, just a plain and simple good game. Though, a little on the cute side, the challenge out weights such matters.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This gameBest kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This game is so awesome i went out of my way to get platinum relics for all the tracks. I got all platinum but sewer speedway and n.gin labs are the hardest for platinum. I love this game so much i own for ps1, ps2, ps3, and psp. This so much more fast pace than mario kart. the adventure is much fun especially if you unlock the bosses. In my opinion the best ps1 racing game. Expand
  2. DJTDJT
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Best game ever i love it. WAY better then mario cart And Diddy Kong racing and its still best game now.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best Game Ever! Only reason I still have my Playstation 2. The driving, the controls, the maps, the characters, everything is just perfect!Best Game Ever! Only reason I still have my Playstation 2. The driving, the controls, the maps, the characters, everything is just perfect! You can even buy it on PS3 now, I hope they do this aswell for PS4! Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Still an amazingly fun game and probably the best kart racing game next to the original Mario Kart. It's too bad all of the more recent kartStill an amazingly fun game and probably the best kart racing game next to the original Mario Kart. It's too bad all of the more recent kart racers (with the exception of DS) are nowhere near as good. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2015
    9
    Finally something great in the saga of Crash Bandicoot, a race with all the characters of the first trilogy, excellent animation levels ofFinally something great in the saga of Crash Bandicoot, a race with all the characters of the first trilogy, excellent animation levels of cars and characters very easy to play, very entertaining. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    One of the very few best kart racing games for the PS1 which crash team racing is a perfect example to this before Naughty dog no longer hadOne of the very few best kart racing games for the PS1 which crash team racing is a perfect example to this before Naughty dog no longer had the rights to produce another crash game and selling off to a different company.

    Story- Pretty obvious. The bad guy challenges you to whatever he decides in which case kart racing and you must defeat otherwise the bad guy will take over the planet and either destroy, or enslave the living around still awesome plot line for a kart racer.

    Graphics- Not too much to explain since this was part of Naughty dog's involvementt with the game so its basically still a good cartoonish design to look into.

    Gameplay- Don't think for a moment that this is basically Mario Kart since it has similarity just don't be hating enjoy the game. You choose your favorite characters from crash, cortex, tiny, N.Gin, etc while others can be unlocked through challenges involving CTR tokens in the story mode of the game. races are usually 3 laps which you can make your decision in singles, vs racing. while the boxes with ? contain weapons you can use to help you out to your advantage while CPU can do the same thing. Doing slides can really help you out since if you press a button at the right time during the slide you will recieve additional boosts which having more wumpa fruits can also increase slightly, as well as making your weapons stronger, and last for a period amount of time. Stages feel fun to play even after a couple times still enjoyable. Battle mode is where you and your friends duke out to see who's better in hitting the most players or achieving the most objectives in the amount of time. Time Trial is getting the faster time and achiving time relics depending on how fast you finish the race.

    Overall- Still an enjoyable game even today it is amazing how it will always be a classic to kart racing on the playstation 1 though i wished that they would still make these amazing games though but that won't happen any time soon =(

    Final Score- 9.5 for racing enjoyment
    Expand
  7. TheElusivePossom
    Apr 16, 2003
    1
    WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in action. Whether it's the shoddy graphics, absent gameplay value or the implementation of the Worst Characters Ever (tm), you might be put off by this plagerised catastrophe. It's fun for about 5 minutes (which is where the "1" in my rating comes from), but when the drugs wear off, reality will just come flooding back to thump you in the face. If you want a decent karting game, look into Mario Kart or Diddy Kong Racing, the two best racing games of all time (you'll need an N64, mind). Whatever you do, just stay away from anything remotely bandicoot-shaped until someone at "Naughty Dog" takes a hint. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
#6 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999