• Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2002
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Badbun
    Apr 20, 2004
    0
    It sucks like hell.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    this game is awesome
    i really hate digimon world
    but this game is very different
    its like a super smash bros
    with digimon. its great.
    STILL BETTER THAN PLAYSTATION ALL STARS BATTLE ROYALS
  3. MarcusS.
    Jun 8, 2002
    10
    I like it but I wish they could fly have everybody on there like hawkmon and more and i wish they could be on teams.
  4. SammaU.
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever.
  5. S.U.
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    The best game.
  6. UneU.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    It's wicked.
  7. ChrisC.
    Oct 9, 2002
    10
    Its a brill Game and easy to do the Moves.
  8. AndrewM.
    May 30, 2002
    6
    The game needs codes. send me codes.
  9. MattB.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    It RULES. Fullstop.
  10. C.J.C.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome! My brother and I played it and liked it more than Super Smash Bros! It is the BOMB!
  11. BethM.
    Jun 23, 2002
    10
    Brilliant! (and i've only played the demo!)
  12. BenB.
    Jul 30, 2002
    10
    It's lovely. me and my brother have always loved DIGIMON but the only problem is that we don't know how to unlock the other bosses so if someone could please e-mail me at benbarclay13@hotmail.com and tell7hint us how we would be very grateful!
  13. JamesJ.
    Jul 9, 2002
    10
    I got it for my birthday and it was awsome I've unlocked everybody in the game! It is so fun that you can't get off of it!
  14. Dave
    Aug 27, 2002
    8
    The game is good but as well as a clone of game cube's super smash brothers, there's an excess need for continuously completing the game just to get hidden characters. There's also small numbers of opponents that you have to face before even completing the game. This makes the game boring and tiring. Having the characters in their mega forms as hidden characters makes theThe game is good but as well as a clone of game cube's super smash brothers, there's an excess need for continuously completing the game just to get hidden characters. There's also small numbers of opponents that you have to face before even completing the game. This makes the game boring and tiring. Having the characters in their mega forms as hidden characters makes the game unsuprising and predictable. Many attacks are fixed and hard to change when trying to evade an enemy's attack. However, the added ability to digivolve and simple attacks makes it easy to control and adapt. The selection of different stages allows players to use them with advantages and need for quick response. With added mini-games, tamer and digimon voices and cool graphics and effects tops it off as a better game than the pokemon stadiums and previous digimon games in terms of price. Expand
  15. KennyM.
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    This Game Was Fun And I Enjoyed This Game More Than Anything i Think.
  16. RobbieB.
    Jun 15, 2002
    10
    This game is AWESOME! I am really into Digimon so this was one of the best games I've ever played!
  17. J.C.
    Jun 26, 2002
    10
    This game rules, know dout about it. I will admit the boss (reapermon) is not strong, just a big fat cheapo. fortunately you can unlock him, omnimon, white imperiadralmon, blackwargreymon, impmon, bezzelmon, and the beginners' megas. it's kinda a bit like mario party and a lot like super smash bros. If you like digimon you'll like it. if you don't you'll like it This game rules, know dout about it. I will admit the boss (reapermon) is not strong, just a big fat cheapo. fortunately you can unlock him, omnimon, white imperiadralmon, blackwargreymon, impmon, bezzelmon, and the beginners' megas. it's kinda a bit like mario party and a lot like super smash bros. If you like digimon you'll like it. if you don't you'll like it anyways, but if you dont you should go to a doctor. all in all it is AWESOME! Expand
  18. KevinT.
    Jul 12, 2002
    8
    Well bad graphics and it's funny when u get ran over by the boulders u fly away. My friend and i call it 3D attack!
  19. 3177143
    Aug 19, 2002
    9
    Digimon Rumble Arena is, really, a Super Smash Bros clone featuring Digimon Characters for the Playstation 1 system, but like Super Smash Bros it's a fun, fast and enjoyable fighting game with... acceptable levels and quite a few (perhaps too many) secret characters. I give it an 8 for it's overall enjoyment level (and the fact that it's one of the few Digimon games Digimon Rumble Arena is, really, a Super Smash Bros clone featuring Digimon Characters for the Playstation 1 system, but like Super Smash Bros it's a fun, fast and enjoyable fighting game with... acceptable levels and quite a few (perhaps too many) secret characters. I give it an 8 for it's overall enjoyment level (and the fact that it's one of the few Digimon games that's actually playable). Expand
  20. ArnoldJ.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    It is the best game ever,but I can't unlock the other bosses so if anybody can tell me at jinarnold@hotmail.com I"ll be grateful. Thank you.
  21. TaiK.
    Aug 24, 2002
    10
    Wow!!!!!
  22. [Anonymous]
    Aug 29, 2002
    9
    IT ROCKS!
  23. WilburnT.
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    Wow its a good game me and my little bro love it royboy gives you impedramon crap i spelt that wrong just typ in kenson kimjoy minnyn.
  24. MohammadH.
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    This game is very interesting, you should buy it.
  25. G.I.P.Frealy
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    This game is a good game for the year it came out they need to hurry up and make the sequel P.S It is off the hook and it is good for the soul.
  26. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Jan 18, 2005
    6
    This is an okay brawler. The enviorments are interactive which makes think a bit funner and there is basketloads of characters from the Digimon series seasons 1-3. Yet that's just about it... the final boss is infuriating and the guys before him are so easy you'll only lose if you really suck at games. Also the characters play the same all the same!!! Also it's the same This is an okay brawler. The enviorments are interactive which makes think a bit funner and there is basketloads of characters from the Digimon series seasons 1-3. Yet that's just about it... the final boss is infuriating and the guys before him are so easy you'll only lose if you really suck at games. Also the characters play the same all the same!!! Also it's the same thing all the time fight weaklings beat infuriating boss get new character, rinse and repeat. This might be fun for a rental...maybe. Expand
  27. ZeroX
    Jan 18, 2005
    9
    This game is good. I really like it. The envoriments are really interactive which is great. There is large amount of characters from Digimon seasons 1-3. Not to mention the simple easy-to-master controls. Now the...cons... Starting with the frustrating boss he's too difficult his attacks are too powerful, he's too fast and not to mention if you lose your score goes back to zero This game is good. I really like it. The envoriments are really interactive which is great. There is large amount of characters from Digimon seasons 1-3. Not to mention the simple easy-to-master controls. Now the...cons... Starting with the frustrating boss he's too difficult his attacks are too powerful, he's too fast and not to mention if you lose your score goes back to zero which is incredibly infuriating. Also it gets a bit repetitive after a while your just going through a large group of weaklings to fight the overly tough final boss over and over and over and over and over and over...to just get a new character to play through it again and get another character. Sorta annoying. This is a fun game. It's worth buying unfortunatly my brother Dragon Knight of Final Fantasy doesn't think so. Expand
  28. JohnF.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This game rocks hard! It's definatly a super smash bros. with digimon & for the better system of the two.
  29. PatrickR.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    It has really cool graphics and I'm into Digimon.
  30. ClintB.
    Jun 22, 2002
    10
    This is the best Digimon game that I have played, but I wish that your Digimon could Digivolve more than one time.
  31. AndrewK.
    Jul 12, 2002
    10
    This was an awesome game. Reapermon was a gigantic cheeser, but it was funny to use him on the ice level. Everyone knows Guilmon is the best!
  32. GregS.
    Jul 25, 2002
    10
    I loved this game its the best digimon game out there right now and hope they get bigger better badder.
  33. LooJ.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This Game is Damn Nice , You Should buy it .
  34. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    My favorite game on the Playstation! I think it's actually better than Super Smash Bros on the N64. This game has very little faults other than some balancing issues. I can play this game anytime and not be bored. Great game to play with friends.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. It's the closest thing to "Super Smash Bros." that the PSOne will ever get, and based on the compromised look of the graphics on display here that's probably a good thing.
  2. Without a doubt, this is the best Digimon game I’ve ever played, but it’s still nothing special. [Mar 2002, p.144]
  3. 70
    Despite the nice presentation, there just isn’t very much to do compared with Nintendo’s genre-defining fighter [Super Smash Bros].