Digimon World 2 PlayStation
  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: May 19, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2015
    7
    Se perguntarmos a alguém que tenha jogado este jogo se é bom ou não, a resposta dele provavelmente será algo neutra.
    Mas eu tenho outra opinião e para mim este jogo até é bom.
    Talvez seja a nostalgia a falar pois enquanto muitos dos meus colegas jogavam Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas para a PS2, eu entretinha-me a jogar Digimon World 2 no meu fiel emulador. Foi um jogo bastante
    Se perguntarmos a alguém que tenha jogado este jogo se é bom ou não, a resposta dele provavelmente será algo neutra.
    Mas eu tenho outra opinião e para mim este jogo até é bom.
    Talvez seja a nostalgia a falar pois enquanto muitos dos meus colegas jogavam Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas para a PS2, eu entretinha-me a jogar Digimon World 2 no meu fiel emulador.

    Foi um jogo bastante marcante na minha infância que demorou uma eternidade até acabar. Mas em poucos momentos me senti aborrecido pois o jogo torna-se bastante recompensador.

    Neste jogo podemos mesmo construir a nossa equipa de digimons do nada, algo impossível no seu antecessor onde apenas poderias ter um digimon e esse era escolhido pelo jogo.

    Aliás, Digimon World 2, para além dos digimons, não tem nada em comum com o seu antecessor. Por exemplo, no jogo até podes andar numa pequena cidade ou batalhar num coliseu mas a maior parte do jogo estarás a aceitar missões e a andar em grutas no teu digibeetle a combater bosses.

    Este processo pode parecer demasiado básico e simples, até pode parecer aborrecido.
    Mas acreditem, não é.

    O sistema de batalhas é de um RPG estratégia normal mas as digievoluções ADN
    mantêm-nos entretidos durante semanas, pois as combinações são imensas e os resultados, por vezes, são o sonho de qualquer fã da série.

    No jogo há também uma enorme necessidade de BITS, ou seja de moedas, para o teu digibeetle ou para os teus itens. O que adiciona ainda mais horas de gameplay ao jogo.

    Sem querer dar muitos mais spoilers acabo o meu closer look aqui com esta conclusão:

    Não é um jogo perfeito, mas é um jogo bastante divertido que merece ser jogado e que eu gostaria de ter tido em suporte físico.
    O jogo apenas peca na sua velocidade(é muito lento), depois também uma criança não irá perder tempo para saber como o Digi-Beetle consegue suportar mais passos e irá desistir pois não há tutoriais no jogo.
    Expand
  2. J98
    Sep 11, 2011
    8
    I just had to review this game, I love it, but it has some major ups and downs.
    To start out you have the Graphics, I'd give them about a 7. At the time ( This is the PS1 generation ) These were pretty nice graphics, with exceptions. As far as game play you're looking at about a 5. The game had some sick nasty looking " Digital Monsters " in it, but the gameplay was slow and boring. You
    I just had to review this game, I love it, but it has some major ups and downs.
    To start out you have the Graphics, I'd give them about a 7. At the time ( This is the PS1 generation ) These were pretty nice graphics, with exceptions. As far as game play you're looking at about a 5. The game had some sick nasty looking " Digital Monsters " in it, but the gameplay was slow and boring. You select your moves, and wait 5 minutes, pop some pop corn, pass gas, go pee, and jot off a good 4 or 5 text messages. Now you repeat the process.
    As far as the Story, it racks up a 10 for bringing this one home. This game has an amazing story line for those who are patient enough to play through it.
    On it's Re-playabilty I would give it about a 9. There are 3 different team types you can choose, leading to quite different Digimon to have at your command. On top of the fact, that there are so many digimon in general, the team possibilities are outrageous.
    In length I'd give it about a 9 aswell. It's an incredibly long game if you haven't played it before, leading to hours and hours of gameplay, but it gets repetitive if you lack patience, which is what tallies a point from it. I highly reccomend this game to any old time fans, and to those who have lots of patience and don't mind hard work being put into a game.
    Collapse
  3. CliffordA.
    Nov 13, 2007
    3
    This game is a grind. One massive, massive grind, from beginning to end. It's just way to dull.
  4. Spartan234
    Aug 1, 2006
    2
    The pace is terrible, and the combat is frustrating at best. The first game was much better than this.
  5. JuanS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    This game is the best, but what I don't like is that is too slow.
  6. MartinR.
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite game at all! I love this game and also i made my personal record on this... I played RPG 48 hours succesively - no spleeping, no eating, almost no drinking and no toilet-visiting... Cool experience!
  7. Mr.Man
    Aug 26, 2004
    2
    This game is horrible, its so damn slow!
  8. AkiraK.
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    This game is the best among the digimon world series with deep story line, graphics and digimon dna digivolving(nice!). this game isworth a try anyway. And youll love it!!
  9. ThodorisK.
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    The best Digimon game. Greece says "To pio oraio paixnidi ton DIGIMON". I think that you made a mistake or "kanate kapoio lathos"(GREECE).
  10. MarcosP.
    May 31, 2002
    10
    Como atrapar digimon.
  11. JamesA.
    Apr 1, 2002
    10
    Great animation. Good story line. Lots of missions and different Digimon.
  12. J98
    Sep 11, 2011
    0
    I just had to review this game, I love it, but it has some major ups and downs.
    To start out you have the Graphics, I'd give them about a 7. At the time ( This is the PS1 generation ) These were pretty nice graphics, with exceptions. As far as game play you're looking at about a 5. The game had some sick nasty looking " Digital Monsters " in it, but the gameplay was slow and boring. You
    I just had to review this game, I love it, but it has some major ups and downs.
    To start out you have the Graphics, I'd give them about a 7. At the time ( This is the PS1 generation ) These were pretty nice graphics, with exceptions. As far as game play you're looking at about a 5. The game had some sick nasty looking " Digital Monsters " in it, but the gameplay was slow and boring. You select your moves, and wait 5 minutes, pop some pop corn, pass gas, go pee, and jot off a good 4 or 5 text messages. Now you repeat the process.
    As far as the Story, it racks up a 10 for bringing this one home. This game has an amazing story line for those who are patient enough to play through it.
    On it's Re-playabilty I would give it about a 9. There are 3 different team types you can choose, leading to quite different Digimon to have at your command. On top of the fact, that there are so many digimon in general, the team possibilities are outrageous.
    In length I'd give it about a 9 aswell. It's an incredibly long game if you haven't played it before, leading to hours and hours of gameplay, but it gets repetitive if you lack patience, which is what tallies a point from it. I highly reccomend this game to any old time fans, and to those who have lots of patience and don't mind hard work being put into a game.
    Collapse
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. It is time to stop the bleeding, end the time consuming trend of monster training games and demand something better.
  2. The main difference between this and Pokemon is that Pokemon doesn't suck as much. Game play in Digimon World 2 is the equivalent of a snail race.
  3. 40
    Essentially a dull dungeon crawl.