Digimon World 3 PlayStation
  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 127

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottL.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    This game is action packed and is one of the best in the world.
  2. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best PlayStation games I've ever played, mainly because the graphics in the game are so well done, even for its generation and year. This was June 5th in 2002, and look at the battle graphics! They look absolutely stunning, and that was on 64-bit PlayStation! Maybe if they were on PS2 they would've looked awesome!

    The game does very well at what it tries to do; and
    This is one of the best PlayStation games I've ever played, mainly because the graphics in the game are so well done, even for its generation and year. This was June 5th in 2002, and look at the battle graphics! They look absolutely stunning, and that was on 64-bit PlayStation! Maybe if they were on PS2 they would've looked awesome!

    The game does very well at what it tries to do; and why the critics on this site turn this down so badly, I don't know. This is freakin' Digimon! That's basically all there is to say about that!

    The game's gameplay is very good; the main world has the main character running from a sort of top-down view that separates it from other RPGs, whilst the battling system is in full 3D. There are only 8 Digimon you can obtain, but each one is intertwined to all the other beast's evolutionary forms in some form. For instance, Veemon can change into Grizzmon (Kumamon's "Champion" form), and Agumon can change into Growlmon (Guilmon's "Champion" form), through leveling up stats, and training them at the Gym.

    I don't want to spoil any more of the game, so go try and play it for yourself! You'll be glad you did!
    Expand
  3. ReneR.
    Aug 13, 2002
    10
    For me its one of the greatest psone games of the world. I hope part 2 will come in the future.
  4. digimonnutter2881752
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    Digimon RULES!!! Only SUCKERS Hate It
  5. Al33qrenamon
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    It's cool fun it feels like all of mega digimon iz thugz! And kick some digimon's ass.
  6. BobH.
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    This was 1 of the best games ever made for the ps1. People who say that digimon 3 is rubbish cannot find decent games to play even if it was right in front of them.
  7. SkyJ.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Cool.... i luv this game cos it really hard n i can spend all my holiday on it.
  8. R.Lowe
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    Brilliant the best one yet.
  9. OskarJ.
    Oct 7, 2002
    10
    Very fun.
  10. MatthewC.
    Jun 23, 2002
    9
    Well its just about the adventure that exites me so much.
  11. KeithJ.
    Jun 9, 2002
    8
    I was surprised. I didn't expect it to be this good and be digimon. (No offense.)
  12. NolanR.
    Aug 12, 2002
    10
    I still haven't beat it yet, but it's fun. I have two badges. It's one of my favorite games!
  13. TimothyB.
    Aug 26, 2002
    8
    This game is a long and good game but the graphics could use a little work.
  14. RichardH.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    I really like the game al ot but the graphics could use alot of work,and here are some things that need to be changed.1.the amount of rookies you get.2.you should have added team battles like in part 2.
  15. TankN.
    Aug 6, 2002
    10
    Although i haven't beaten the game its a challenging, exciting thriller, althopugh the graphics could be better its still a good game to play when your bored.
  16. Arnodigifan
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    It's the best game ever done about digimon and its story is better than final fantasy 9.
  17. ErvinJ.
    Dec 2, 2003
    9
    Digimon world is cool.But Zambamon cheats he gets to atack 2 times and after you get the smelly herb you dont exspect to fight him again. But the rest was awesome.
  18. OMIMON
    May 16, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME IS COOL. IT ROCKS!
  19. JessicaH.
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    A cool digital game with very good Graphics.
  20. HarmsM.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    I would give it a billion if i could. It's the game of the century.
  21. MylesYuA.
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    Cool graphics.
  22. HossamS.
    Jul 28, 2003
    10
    I love digimon world 3 and this game. will give u all u need about digimon live.
  23. Christian
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    Its awesome.
  24. BradyB.
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    It was great! Digivolving was the best.
  25. MegaRoboEmporer
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    I.....MEGAROBOEMPORER...rate this game as a 10 because....IT KICKS ASS.
  26. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Dear Anyone who doesn't like this game I respect your opinion but the way to get it out there is not to rant like a three year old playing COD to do it. When reviewing keep in mind that it is a review not a rant and same goes for you positive reviewers find a negative standpoint. Now as for my review Digimon world 3 honestly is pretty darn fun for me at least however this is probably justDear Anyone who doesn't like this game I respect your opinion but the way to get it out there is not to rant like a three year old playing COD to do it. When reviewing keep in mind that it is a review not a rant and same goes for you positive reviewers find a negative standpoint. Now as for my review Digimon world 3 honestly is pretty darn fun for me at least however this is probably just nostalgia blindness so I recognize that this game is not for everyone. If you are okay with backtracking then try it if you hate backtracking then run run as fast as you can. The digievolution system is correct however it gives you correct digievolution due to rookie lvls not champion or ultimate levels which can get a bit annoying however I love digimon and that will never change so I will give it a 7 of 10. Expand
  27. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Let me start of by saying i think the critics who reviewed the game and all idiots or just bias for some reason or another. most of there reviews are just wrong. i can quote for this own website critics saying things like "Hardcore gamers (young or old) would be wise to ignore the kiddy image and give the game a shot. " and "Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcoreLet me start of by saying i think the critics who reviewed the game and all idiots or just bias for some reason or another. most of there reviews are just wrong. i can quote for this own website critics saying things like "Hardcore gamers (young or old) would be wise to ignore the kiddy image and give the game a shot. " and "Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like.", and i personally Love this game i remember little about the show. it was ok at best and i got tired of it by season 3. There is also the fact i hate turn base games all together except this one. A giant Map with almost endless playable character options, is why i love the game, but i can quote another siting that state the opposite again, "For a game whose main gameplay component is building up your characters, Digimon World 3 makes the process needlessly complicated and annoying. ". Another thing that makes this game great for us, is the same thing the "critics" hate? looks like long time overdue on new and better critics who might take more than two seconds at a game i have put over 180 hours into. Also in the last passage i sited, him saying about the good music, i find the music annoying and keep it muted, as there was no talking back then (witch i have no problem with) there is no need for the "catchy" style music. The story of this game is great, and purposely different from the show so the two never needs it integrand, unlike something else sited in this page. Last but not lest, "The third time is definitely not the charm", the other two was ok at best and really tiring, this really was the charm, to bad dumb critics like this blew that for you. i would love to see a new 2015 Digimon Online make for real where we can play as digimon, i know this will likely never happen but that is my vote and option. thank you all, hope you enjoyed. Expand
  28. BrianC.
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    Very good but too long.
  29. MaríaGabrielaA.
    Jul 6, 2002
    3
    Is fantastic. I like this game.
  30. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    There was a time when I loved Digimon and it was almost cooler than Pokemon.This game was really hard to like and there is nothing stopping me from hating me this game. His one of the worst games I ever played on the PlayStation the problem with this game was that I am use to grinding or just trying to level up as fast as possible. The problem with this is that this game wants you toThere was a time when I loved Digimon and it was almost cooler than Pokemon.This game was really hard to like and there is nothing stopping me from hating me this game. His one of the worst games I ever played on the PlayStation the problem with this game was that I am use to grinding or just trying to level up as fast as possible. The problem with this is that this game wants you to struggle with that and makes your Digimon hp so low that its not a easy job to do. There are bosses in this game and they are so hard to fight and beat. They can one hit each of your Digimon even if you manage to get them to evolve into a champion level or higher. The music in the game is really boring and annoying, the graphics are really dated and just look bad. The main character is really annoying and his friends are just as bad. The story is non existent and that doesn't help me because if there is no story there is no reason for me to waste the time. All in all this is not worth your time and I promise no one is really enjoying this game they are just fan boys. Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    YOU DIGIMON FANBOYS
    The gameplay is too repetitive, lack of speed
    the attack are very simple in comparison with final fantasy vii o chrono cross the graphics are ok but i think this game should be made on PS2,NOT ON PS1 the story is boring,i mean,to follow the plot you have to do a lot of secundary missions and the missions are lazy and very annoying. training your digimons is very
    YOU DIGIMON FANBOYS
    The gameplay is too repetitive, lack of speed
    the attack are very simple in comparison with final fantasy vii o chrono cross
    the graphics are ok but i think this game should be made on PS2,NOT ON PS1
    the story is boring,i mean,to follow the plot you have to do a lot of secundary missions
    and the missions are lazy and very annoying. training your digimons is very stupid,its very hard and its not like the ANIME,the digievolutions are unique. on this game THE EVOLUTION IS WRONG
    I HATE THIS GAME
    Expand
  32. JoeK.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    One of the best Playstaion games I've played. On Gamecube with it's superior looks and it would have been a 10!
  33. SimonB.
    Jul 13, 2002
    10
    This game is really great, the battle sysem and gameplay are awesome. I can't wait till it comes out for PS2.
  34. AndyF.
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    My neighbor rented this game and I couldn't put it down.
  35. ssj10goku
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    I think this game was the best out of the 3!!! The story is great, the battles are good. Compare to Digimon WOrld 1 which sucked really and 2 which was good,this one is really really good.I recommended to everyone i know.
  36. Shadowflare
    Nov 11, 2003
    7
    This game is okay but the graphics in battle is very bad and the evolution is mixed up. I mean renamon digivolving to malomyostimon!!This is rubbish!Other than that the last boss is a little too easier to beat than the president's raidenmon.i think this stupid raidenmon is even harder to beat.he always uses greased plant to heal himself and one of his attacks does incredibly more This game is okay but the graphics in battle is very bad and the evolution is mixed up. I mean renamon digivolving to malomyostimon!!This is rubbish!Other than that the last boss is a little too easier to beat than the president's raidenmon.i think this stupid raidenmon is even harder to beat.he always uses greased plant to heal himself and one of his attacks does incredibly more damage than the last boss. Expand
  37. AndrewW.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    It is the best game anyone will ever play.
  38. Mohd.KhairulAdnanMohd.Nasir
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i ever play.
  39. LeoC.
    May 8, 2003
    10
    This game features all of my favorite digimon and has the story I crave for in so many other games. I really like how they planed this out. I wish they would release a digimon world 4 game for all systems.
  40. StewartKhawSengS.
    Jun 4, 2004
    10
    It is a cool game.I like to play the card battle.
  41. NathanP.
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    Best game I have ever played! I can not get far The game would be even better if it had a guide to it.
  42. Rachael
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    I've been playing this game since i bought it last christmas. it's fun. the graphics could use a little work, but i haven't even beaten the game yet. when i saw the intro to the game i thought wow. my older bro friend thought beelzemon blaster mode looked cool. bye.
  43. CrackerC.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Great playing and cool graphics fun fun all the way through.
  44. RussellD.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    Kick ass game that my friends like.
  45. LionelL.
    Jul 8, 2002
    9
    I have a psone in the car and i just love to play it.
  46. JuadasP.
    Aug 10, 2002
    10
    Great¡¡¡¡¡¡
  47. SaqibK.
    Aug 19, 2002
    10
    This game beats the record for me!!
  48. SteveM.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    This Is The Best Game Ever!!!!!
  49. Guilmon
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    It's a great game that brings rpg alive. it should have been for x box though.
  50. PrinceofallSayians
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Well let me see, the game is great but use some touch ups on the graphics.
  51. MinervaE.
    Jan 28, 2004
    8
    Definitely the best out of the series so far there is still much constructive criticism to be given. First off, as spoken before the leveling can grow rather slow at certain points in the game and make it a wee bit too long-winded for most people to bother to tolerate. Secondly, directions can be lacking at times. "Let's go find Lisa!" resulted in me chasing through every building in Definitely the best out of the series so far there is still much constructive criticism to be given. First off, as spoken before the leveling can grow rather slow at certain points in the game and make it a wee bit too long-winded for most people to bother to tolerate. Secondly, directions can be lacking at times. "Let's go find Lisa!" resulted in me chasing through every building in four cities before I managed to find her, as there was no direction given as to where she would be found. In the game's favor, however, is the leveling and evolution system. It shows well the interwoven web that is Digimon evolution and, above that, is unique in the ability to train each form individually - the signature techs should have been at a more reasonable level, however. The game music is good and the field graphics are rather "cute". The battle graphics could have used work, and Galacticmon should have been quite a lot harder in my opinion. Overall, I'd still give the game a rating of 7.5-8. It's enjoyable for the most part and quite a lot stronger than the previous games in most respects. Expand
  52. RyoY.
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    It's The best Rpg game in my playing time!
  53. OmnimonD.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    This is great but please tell me where to find sepicmon.
  54. MarkusH.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played. It is a very long RPG game. I played it and I enjoyed it very much.
  55. elcoto^^
    May 9, 2007
    10
    i dont believe what those criticist do, or think. i specially dont like the digimon tv series too much, but when i saw my bro playing it, it really made me wanted it to play, just for fun, and til now i have 40 hours of ^^, so to all ppl , dont believe what someone else could think. just play it by yourself
  56. BryanM
    Sep 11, 2007
    7
    this is the best Digimon game i have played in year. way better then some games.
  57. (D)aRk__InFeRn(o)
    Oct 26, 2002
    10
    Cool Game Easier than world 1 & 2.
  58. DannyD.
    Jul 18, 2002
    5
    The soundtrack is alright, the sound effects are somewhat less than impressive, and the graphics could have used a little more touching up. What annoyed me the most is the "tapping" sound your character makes when he walks..... I could have pulled a better game out of my ass! The only thing saving this game from getting a lower grade from me is my soft spot for the anime!
  59. NatashaG.
    Jul 8, 2002
    6
    There's more to do than in the first one. The graphics are O.K. Look at it this way: There are worse!
  60. 007sobaka
    Sep 11, 2002
    1
    It was really annoying and confusing. World 1 was much better.
  61. PerfectCell
    Mar 26, 2003
    9
    Its a good game but it has its flaws, the first is the graphics, they could have been better but apart from that its a decent game.
  62. Yukitama
    Sep 1, 2006
    6
    Overall dis game is okay... don't really like the battle style... Digimon world is still the best!
  63. KMLOVER
    Oct 12, 2002
    8
    The best part about this game is that it has the Digimon from Season 1,2,3, and 4. The worst part about the game is the graphics. The graphics are pretty bad for a PS1 game. It's way better than any of those Pokemon games. The only thing that is cool about Pokemon is Mewtwo. Who says Digimon is dead? It lives on FOREVER and whoever thinks it's kiddy can shut their lowlife The best part about this game is that it has the Digimon from Season 1,2,3, and 4. The worst part about the game is the graphics. The graphics are pretty bad for a PS1 game. It's way better than any of those Pokemon games. The only thing that is cool about Pokemon is Mewtwo. Who says Digimon is dead? It lives on FOREVER and whoever thinks it's kiddy can shut their lowlife mouths, it's censors who MAKES it kiddy because their STUPID!!! Overall, it's a GREAT game! ^_^ Expand
  64. JeremyB.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    The best digimon world game ever. i have it and i love it. i play it everyday.
  65. spacemedafighterX
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    I havent beaten the game yet but I think it is a great game (not just because im a digimon fan)just tune up the graphics a bit a you will have a game worth while.
  66. [Anonymous]
    Nov 3, 2002
    9
    This one is really cool but i always thinking that 1 is better than 2, the ones who says that 1 sucks, well they suck.
  67. Gameaddict
    Oct 14, 2002
    8
    I would rate this game 10, but some of the graphics and muscis are lame.....But, the game still rocks!Compare to Digimon World 2 and 1,This is certainly the best digimon world so far.Oh,one more thing......Digimon World 2.......SUCKS!!!!!
  68. WormMon
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    This game is really great!I have played it and I have enjoyed it!
  69. JackofAllTrades
    Dec 2, 2002
    6
    This game may be decent but it has many downsides. First of all, the data saving and data loading times are not good at all. Second of all, even after you power up your digimon drastically their normal attacks can take off more than most of the techniques that digimon will learn. And why let all the digimon digivolve into the same digimon champions, I say just stick to the original This game may be decent but it has many downsides. First of all, the data saving and data loading times are not good at all. Second of all, even after you power up your digimon drastically their normal attacks can take off more than most of the techniques that digimon will learn. And why let all the digimon digivolve into the same digimon champions, I say just stick to the original digivolutions. Next, in the card battle game, you start out with cards and you can beat most card battlers but after you get to, oh... say level 20-35 the other card battlers seem almost impossible to beat. Also, if you have an El Dorado card (which is very easy to get) you can buy almost any weapon or item you want in the black market. Although, many techniques exist in the game alot of them are closely related visually. Magic Missle and any other progectile attack look almost replicated. Lastly, the graphics. The digimon graphics are the only graphic problem so far that I can see in this game. They are very primitive. While there are some downsides, DMW 3 still has all the digimon you know and love from the shows, the background designs in battle, cities and almost anywhere else are pretty good. The battle system is also pretty good. I never get tired of hearing the same music over and over because the music switches so frequently (averaging about 1 change per every 5 screen switches). Okay, I think that is all I have to say. Expand
  70. WeeOoi
    Oct 23, 2002
    10
    Best.
  71. MikeF.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  72. MikeY.
    Aug 13, 2002
    10
    I like this because it got me into Digimon more.
  73. UltimateG.
    Aug 17, 2002
    1
    This game is really crappy, the music suxors, the graphics are just cheesy, the story line is pathetic, the ending was the worth ending ever, and the back tracking really really pissed me off! This game doesnt even save after you beat the boss like in digimon world 1, and 2!!!! THIS GAME SUCKED!!!!!!!!!! DIGIMON WORLD 1 WAS GOOD, 2 WAS OKAY, 3 SUCKED, 4 WILL SUCK EVEN MORE!!
  74. JoshuaW.
    Nov 4, 2003
    4
    This game is somewhat enjoyable, with a decent soundtrack. For some reason though it has a slow gameplay, sometimes boreing the players. the way you build up your digimon is too slow to the actual game, making for many hours of "leveling up" just to stay on par with the random encounters. All of this makes for a slow game. Also, the game makes you feel like a delivery boy too often This game is somewhat enjoyable, with a decent soundtrack. For some reason though it has a slow gameplay, sometimes boreing the players. the way you build up your digimon is too slow to the actual game, making for many hours of "leveling up" just to stay on par with the random encounters. All of this makes for a slow game. Also, the game makes you feel like a delivery boy too often running back and forth between areas already visited too often, and mostly for menial gains. As for pros, it has a catchy soundtrack, nice vibrant animations, and good custom building for digimon. This game also has an awesome storyline that only suffers from the horrible gameplay and replay value. Expand
  75. Someotherguy
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    I love this game.
  76. CarlosR.
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    This is a great adventure, and powerfull story, ojala que venga el DMW4.
  77. JohnW.
    Jul 25, 2003
    9
    It is the best game ever!
  78. JoshDC.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    It is sooo cool! i love agumon digivolves to greymon and monmon digivolves to hookmon and you can combine greymon and hookmon.its so cool. PLAY IT!
  79. WilliamD.
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    This game soooo cool but tyranno valley is a problem because when i go further the blue things are there and the gets frozen but the game is cool play it.
  80. FatGoat
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Best game...hands down.
  81. JoeG
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite games. I've had it since it came out, andIi still enjoy playing it. The graphics are quite nice for the PlayStation, the gameplay is addictive, and there's tons of little things to fixate on. 10/10. Great Game
  82. Jun
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    This game is very good and the graphics, characters......!!T his game should be under best buy!!!
  83. KingW.
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    I wonder why the critics gave sucha low score. i think its a great game. the grapics suck but thats about it!
  84. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Don't listen to the negative reviews. Digimon World is a beatiful and big game, with a smart battle and digivolving system, and also a card game as secondary battle system. In my opinion, it's better than most Pokemon games, and I'm a big fan of both franchises. Give it a try and don't be a hater.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. The third time is definitely not the charm. [July 2002, p.128]
  2. Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like. [June 2002, p.102]
  3. 40
    Despite some impressive world-map graphics and extremely catchy anime-style music, Digimon World 3 disappoints in countless ways.