Digimon World 3 PlayStation

  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 143
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MaríaGabrielaA.
    Jul 6, 2002
    3
    Is fantastic. I like this game.
  2. May 29, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trying to become a Pokemon clone, and failing miserably, Digimon World 3 requires too much grinding with a bare-bones battle system. I can only recommend this game to Digimon fans, and I can't recommend it much. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    There was a time when I loved Digimon and it was almost cooler than Pokemon.This game was really hard to like and there is nothing stopping me from hating me this game. His one of the worst games I ever played on the PlayStation the problem with this game was that I am use to grinding or just trying to level up as fast as possible. The problem with this is that this game wants you toThere was a time when I loved Digimon and it was almost cooler than Pokemon.This game was really hard to like and there is nothing stopping me from hating me this game. His one of the worst games I ever played on the PlayStation the problem with this game was that I am use to grinding or just trying to level up as fast as possible. The problem with this is that this game wants you to struggle with that and makes your Digimon hp so low that its not a easy job to do. There are bosses in this game and they are so hard to fight and beat. They can one hit each of your Digimon even if you manage to get them to evolve into a champion level or higher. The music in the game is really boring and annoying, the graphics are really dated and just look bad. The main character is really annoying and his friends are just as bad. The story is non existent and that doesn't help me because if there is no story there is no reason for me to waste the time. All in all this is not worth your time and I promise no one is really enjoying this game they are just fan boys. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    YOU DIGIMON FANBOYS
    The gameplay is too repetitive, lack of speed
    the attack are very simple in comparison with final fantasy vii o chrono cross the graphics are ok but i think this game should be made on PS2,NOT ON PS1 the story is boring,i mean,to follow the plot you have to do a lot of secundary missions and the missions are lazy and very annoying. training your digimons is very
    YOU DIGIMON FANBOYS
    The gameplay is too repetitive, lack of speed
    the attack are very simple in comparison with final fantasy vii o chrono cross
    the graphics are ok but i think this game should be made on PS2,NOT ON PS1
    the story is boring,i mean,to follow the plot you have to do a lot of secundary missions
    and the missions are lazy and very annoying. training your digimons is very stupid,its very hard and its not like the ANIME,the digievolutions are unique. on this game THE EVOLUTION IS WRONG
    I HATE THIS GAME
    Expand
  5. 007sobaka
    Sep 11, 2002
    1
    It was really annoying and confusing. World 1 was much better.
  6. UltimateG.
    Aug 17, 2002
    1
    This game is really crappy, the music suxors, the graphics are just cheesy, the story line is pathetic, the ending was the worth ending ever, and the back tracking really really pissed me off! This game doesnt even save after you beat the boss like in digimon world 1, and 2!!!! THIS GAME SUCKED!!!!!!!!!! DIGIMON WORLD 1 WAS GOOD, 2 WAS OKAY, 3 SUCKED, 4 WILL SUCK EVEN MORE!!
  7. JoshuaW.
    Nov 4, 2003
    4
    This game is somewhat enjoyable, with a decent soundtrack. For some reason though it has a slow gameplay, sometimes boreing the players. the way you build up your digimon is too slow to the actual game, making for many hours of "leveling up" just to stay on par with the random encounters. All of this makes for a slow game. Also, the game makes you feel like a delivery boy too often This game is somewhat enjoyable, with a decent soundtrack. For some reason though it has a slow gameplay, sometimes boreing the players. the way you build up your digimon is too slow to the actual game, making for many hours of "leveling up" just to stay on par with the random encounters. All of this makes for a slow game. Also, the game makes you feel like a delivery boy too often running back and forth between areas already visited too often, and mostly for menial gains. As for pros, it has a catchy soundtrack, nice vibrant animations, and good custom building for digimon. This game also has an awesome storyline that only suffers from the horrible gameplay and replay value. Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2016
    4
    Better than Digimon World 2 but that's not saying much.

    Story: Nothing amazing or special here, you can play most tamer based digimon games and get the same story, it's nothing groundbreaking or interesting but that's to be expected of a Digimon game, the stories always involve terrorists or some organisation working with the digital world, although that fact it has a story is
    Better than Digimon World 2 but that's not saying much.

    Story:
    Nothing amazing or special here, you can play most tamer based digimon games and get the same story, it's nothing groundbreaking or interesting but that's to be expected of a Digimon game, the stories always involve terrorists or some organisation working with the digital world, although that fact it has a story is definitely something. DW1 hardly had one, all the digimon had left the city for 'reasons' and you don't really get anymore story until the ending of the game. DW2 well...just what was that? So hey, at least they bothered writing a story for 3, whilst it may not be great if it's your first time playing through a plot like DW3 then you may enjoy it.

    Graphics:
    graphics should never be a deal breaker in any gamer but it amazes me that the graphics have been down graded, both 1 and 2 featured a graphic style similar to that of FF7, yet in 3 we're met with 2d sprites, this just gives off such a poor impression, why are we getting weak graphics when the previous 2 entries actually had some really nice ones? whats worse is the battles themselves are in 3D with graphics similar to that of Digimon World 1.
    Again, it's not a deal breaker but if you've played either of the previous 2, this will strike you as odd.

    Gameplay:
    Ah Bandai, you were never happy with what you made were you? although this may diverge a bit, DW1 is a fan favourite, a unique game with a perfect digital setting with plenty to do. 2 was a complete disaster, a boring and slow dungeon crawler with some really bad dubbing (for example, some digimon will say their move in English, others will speak in Japanese) and nothing going for it at all, so whats to expect from number 3? A POKEMON RIP OFF! HOORAY! I'm sure I'll get a bit of flak for this but it's always been a problem, which is better? Digimon or Pokemon?
    DW1 set itself as an entirely different game to Pokemon, a more grown up game with different mechanics, you were entirely responsible for your Digimon, raising it and caring for it, feeding it etc, not like Pokemon's standard battle and level up. DW3 on the other hand is such a shameless knock off, you have to defeat 8 gym leaders and battles take place with you selecting moves and swapping out your digimon, we get a terrorist organisation and hey, it's like playing Pokemon Red with some different names and locations.

    Music:
    Nothing memorable, it suits the game well but you won't be humming any of the songs or buying the soundtrack but really, this is nothing new for the Digimon series, the anime featured about 6 songs (3 of which were remixes of the opening theme) and the games have always had fitting but forgetable music, they don't break this trend in number 3.

    Final thoughts:
    Don't get this, honestly if you're looking for a good Digimon game then get Digimon World 1 or the PSP remake (recently translated to English) because frankly, most of the games don't do the series justice. DW3 is a game that threw everything it had built up, didn't bother continuing differentiating itself from Pokemon anymore and just copied what gamefreak had already done in hopes that fans would be persuaded. All in all it's a poor Pokemon copy with nothing going for it.
    Expand
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    The third time is definitely not the charm. [July 2002, p.128]
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like. [June 2002, p.102]
  3. 40
    Despite some impressive world-map graphics and extremely catchy anime-style music, Digimon World 3 disappoints in countless ways.