Digimon World 3 PlayStation
  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Let me start of by saying i think the critics who reviewed the game and all idiots or just bias for some reason or another. most of there reviews are just wrong. i can quote for this own website critics saying things like "Hardcore gamers (young or old) would be wise to ignore the kiddy image and give the game a shot. " and "Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like.", and i personally Love this game i remember little about the show. it was ok at best and i got tired of it by season 3. There is also the fact i hate turn base games all together except this one. A giant Map with almost endless playable character options, is why i love the game, but i can quote another siting that state the opposite again, "For a game whose main gameplay component is building up your characters, Digimon World 3 makes the process needlessly complicated and annoying. ". Another thing that makes this game great for us, is the same thing the "critics" hate? looks like long time overdue on new and better critics who might take more than two seconds at a game i have put over 180 hours into. Also in the last passage i sited, him saying about the good music, i find the music annoying and keep it muted, as there was no talking back then (witch i have no problem with) there is no need for the "catchy" style music. The story of this game is great, and purposely different from the show so the two never needs it integrand, unlike something else sited in this page. Last but not lest, "The third time is definitely not the charm", the other two was ok at best and really tiring, this really was the charm, to bad dumb critics like this blew that for you. i would love to see a new 2015 Digimon Online make for real where we can play as digimon, i know this will likely never happen but that is my vote and option. thank you all, hope you enjoyed. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Dear Anyone who doesn't like this game I respect your opinion but the way to get it out there is not to rant like a three year old playing COD to do it. When reviewing keep in mind that it is a review not a rant and same goes for you positive reviewers find a negative standpoint. Now as for my review Digimon world 3 honestly is pretty darn fun for me at least however this is probably just nostalgia blindness so I recognize that this game is not for everyone. If you are okay with backtracking then try it if you hate backtracking then run run as fast as you can. The digievolution system is correct however it gives you correct digievolution due to rookie lvls not champion or ultimate levels which can get a bit annoying however I love digimon and that will never change so I will give it a 7 of 10. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    YOU DIGIMON FANBOYS The gameplay is too repetitive, lack of speed the attack are very simple in comparison with final fantasy vii o chrono cross the graphics are ok but i think this game should be made on PS2,NOT ON PS1 the story is boring,i mean,to follow the plot you have to do a lot of secundary missions and the missions are lazy and very annoying. training your digimons is very stupid,its very hard and its not like the ANIME,the digievolutions are unique. on this game THE EVOLUTION IS WRONG
    I HATE THIS GAME
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    There was a time when I loved Digimon and it was almost cooler than Pokemon.This game was really hard to like and there is nothing stopping me from hating me this game. His one of the worst games I ever played on the PlayStation the problem with this game was that I am use to grinding or just trying to level up as fast as possible. The problem with this is that this game wants you to struggle with that and makes your Digimon hp so low that its not a easy job to do. There are bosses in this game and they are so hard to fight and beat. They can one hit each of your Digimon even if you manage to get them to evolve into a champion level or higher. The music in the game is really boring and annoying, the graphics are really dated and just look bad. The main character is really annoying and his friends are just as bad. The story is non existent and that doesn't help me because if there is no story there is no reason for me to waste the time. All in all this is not worth your time and I promise no one is really enjoying this game they are just fan boys. Expand
  5. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best PlayStation games I've ever played, mainly because the graphics in the game are so well done, even for its generation and year. This was June 5th in 2002, and look at the battle graphics! They look absolutely stunning, and that was on 64-bit PlayStation! Maybe if they were on PS2 they would've looked awesome!

    The game does very well at what it tries to do; and
    why the critics on this site turn this down so badly, I don't know. This is freakin' Digimon! That's basically all there is to say about that!

    The game's gameplay is very good; the main world has the main character running from a sort of top-down view that separates it from other RPGs, whilst the battling system is in full 3D. There are only 8 Digimon you can obtain, but each one is intertwined to all the other beast's evolutionary forms in some form. For instance, Veemon can change into Grizzmon (Kumamon's "Champion" form), and Agumon can change into Growlmon (Guilmon's "Champion" form), through leveling up stats, and training them at the Gym.

    I don't want to spoil any more of the game, so go try and play it for yourself! You'll be glad you did!
    Expand
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. The third time is definitely not the charm. [July 2002, p.128]
  2. Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like. [June 2002, p.102]
  3. 40
    Despite some impressive world-map graphics and extremely catchy anime-style music, Digimon World 3 disappoints in countless ways.