• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Battle 22 Image
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Japanese blockbuster is here! An international smash hit, this vintage Dragon Ball Z® fighter features 22 famed DBZ® warriors for you to recreate epic, one-on-one Dragon Ball Z® battles. Easy to play but tough to master, this long-awaited classic offers matchups from theThe Japanese blockbuster is here! An international smash hit, this vintage Dragon Ball Z® fighter features 22 famed DBZ® warriors for you to recreate epic, one-on-one Dragon Ball Z® battles. Easy to play but tough to master, this long-awaited classic offers matchups from the Buu™, Frieza® and Android Sagas. Experience the DBZ® game that has thrilled fans all over the world! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Outdated graphics, an unfriendly (but ultimately bearable) control scheme and a shockingly bad (i.e. incomplete) localization make Ultimate Battle 22 the lesser alternative to “Budokai."
  2. Game Informer
    50
    The control is stiff and imprecise; and the number of gameplay modes is pathetic. [June 2003, p.105]
  3. I have seen NES games that look better than this game.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    20
    It's one of the worst-looking titles ever released on the PS1. [June 2003, p.107]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    18
    The graphics are a mess, the special moves are unresponsive, the animation is less fluid than a flip book, and the combat lacks strategic incentive. [June 2003, p.114]
  6. GameNow
    16
    About as simplistic a fighting game as you can get, with round after round of extremely bland, strategy-free brawling. [June 2003, p.47]
  7. A really, really terrible game, and it always has been. In fact, it's so bad that a longer review would only give the game more validation, which it simply does not deserve.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 13 out of 24
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    This **** game oh this game. This is the best game i have ever played in my entire life. **** the street fighters **** the mortal combats thisThis **** game oh this game. This is the best game i have ever played in my entire life. **** the street fighters **** the mortal combats this game was sent to earth by god. Expand
  2. ThomasB.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This Game Rocks!!! If u dont like it, it is because u suck at it!
  3. TrunksM.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    This game totally rocks.Its the best game i ever played.If you don't like it BITE ME...
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    3
    Bad game.. 3d backgrounds look awful, animated character intros are horrible, too. Game is slow, doesn't feel like Dragon Ball Z at all. OnlyBad game.. 3d backgrounds look awful, animated character intros are horrible, too. Game is slow, doesn't feel like Dragon Ball Z at all. Only good thing about this game is sound/music, and the opening. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2017
    2
    Super aburrido, no entiendo como teniendo otro gran juego de Dragon Ball para PlayStation exista esta atrocidad a la hermosa saga de DragonSuper aburrido, no entiendo como teniendo otro gran juego de Dragon Ball para PlayStation exista esta atrocidad a la hermosa saga de Dragon Ball. Malisimo... Expand
  6. David
    Oct 4, 2006
    1
    As I sat down and played this game that a good friend of mine graciously lent to me for a weekend, it made me think; Why am I sitting here As I sat down and played this game that a good friend of mine graciously lent to me for a weekend, it made me think; Why am I sitting here playing this when there is a perfectly good rope in the garage that I can hang myself with. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 3, 2003
    0
    Graphics = Sucky Gameplay = Sucky Strategy = Sucky Overall = Ungodly Terrible Hint: Don't rent, buy or even try this terrible, outdated, Graphics = Sucky Gameplay = Sucky Strategy = Sucky Overall = Ungodly Terrible Hint: Don't rent, buy or even try this terrible, outdated, ugly game!! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
2
#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2003
1
#1 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2003