Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The story and writing is so strong that I easily forgot about the archaic graphics and even more primitive battle engine.
  2. This is truly a 100-hour RPG. [Dec 2001, p.172]
  3. 87
    The fact that all 100+ hours of Dragon Warrior VII are so entertaining is a testament to the quality of the game that lies beneath the dated visuals and clunky presentation.
  4. Appearances can be deceiving, and if you can look pas DWVII’s vintage outer shell, you’ll find one of the deepest, most satisfying RPGs the PS1—or any other console, for that matter—has yet seen. [Dec 2001, p.260]
  5. What it lacks in graphics and sound it more than makes up for in concept, difficulty, and yes, nostalgia factor.
  6. We only recommend it to fans of the series and RPG players who can't stomach all the fancy-shmancy-ness of RPG's like Final Fantasy and games of their ilk.
  7. 80
    A great game in an awful—or is it just nostalgic?—package; a title that would be considered a classic if it had been released, oh, seven years ago today.
  8. The most old-school, hardcore RPG we’ve played in years…the new game’s scale is simply gargantuan. [Jan 2002, p.88]
  9. Its overall story...is simply impossible to resist and the dungeon design is marvelous. [Feb 2002, p.60]
  10. For serious RPG fans who couldn't care less about the Final Fantasy brand of flash, though, it's hard to envision a more appropriate game.
  11. If RPG gaming were a diet, Dragon Warrior 7 would be several truckloads of raw meat. It ain't pretty, but there is a lot of it and it sure does satisfy. It'll also give you a heart attack in large doses.
  12. I'm sorry to say, four million Japanese can be wrong. [Nov 2001, p.122]
  13. Pays almost too much of a tribute to past Dragon Warrior games, offering sound, graphics, and writing that seem like a step backwards in their simplicity.
  14. If you really go for the flavor of early-90’s style graphics and gameplay, and if you have the patience of a rock, then by all means enter and be saved. As for us skeptics, it will take a lot more than nostalgia to win our faith.
  15. The first 2 hours are some of the most boring hours you will ever play in a video game.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. MikeK.
    Jul 21, 2002
    9
    Although the graphics can't compare to other rpg games, and it tends to drag a little in the begining, this game totally kept my attention and interest, for hours on end. the complex puzzles and storyline was fantastic and the class skills were great Full Review »
  2. AlexD.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    This was the game that first got me interested in RPGs. Though often confusing to a relatively new gamer, i dedicated myself to it and became addicted. The storyline is amazing and, even with it's dated graphics, the game remains one of my most frequently played. Full Review »
  3. Slime:)
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Dragon Warrior VII is first RPG-game i have played. Story is really good and interesting and game give +100 hours playing...Class system is good and skills and magics are nice, but mastering of classes is SO BORING!!! Fighting system eccentric (like i am here, hehheh...:)) but 3000 of fighting is too much. But i like this game! Full Review »