Dragon Warrior VII Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You plan to become a humble fisherman of peaceful Estard Island, the only land in a world of ocean. But when you discover the artifacts from an ancient land, you tear the fabric of time and unveil the world that once was. Transported to past lands, you must solve their mysteries and breakYou plan to become a humble fisherman of peaceful Estard Island, the only land in a world of ocean. But when you discover the artifacts from an ancient land, you tear the fabric of time and unveil the world that once was. Transported to past lands, you must solve their mysteries and break the spell of annihilation. Prepare for your destiny! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The story and writing is so strong that I easily forgot about the archaic graphics and even more primitive battle engine.
  2. This is truly a 100-hour RPG. [Dec 2001, p.172]
  3. 87
    The fact that all 100+ hours of Dragon Warrior VII are so entertaining is a testament to the quality of the game that lies beneath the dated visuals and clunky presentation.
  4. Its overall story...is simply impossible to resist and the dungeon design is marvelous. [Feb 2002, p.60]
  5. The most old-school, hardcore RPG we’ve played in years…the new game’s scale is simply gargantuan. [Jan 2002, p.88]
  6. For serious RPG fans who couldn't care less about the Final Fantasy brand of flash, though, it's hard to envision a more appropriate game.
  7. The first 2 hours are some of the most boring hours you will ever play in a video game.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. GarrettR.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    If players buy a game because they like to play games, this is one of the best titles ever made in the RPG genre. If someone buys a game If players buy a game because they like to play games, this is one of the best titles ever made in the RPG genre. If someone buys a game because they like graphics and they are not truly gamers, just people who are bored with life, then this game is not for them. Expand
  2. ErikB.
    Jan 4, 2002
    10
    Pure excellence!
  3. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    This game is AMAZING! Damn it Square-Enix, localise and port the 3DS remake to the west! Seriously, it would sell like hotcakes, consideringThis game is AMAZING! Damn it Square-Enix, localise and port the 3DS remake to the west! Seriously, it would sell like hotcakes, considering the PSX version usually costs an arm and a leg to buy in good conditions nowadays. Expand
  4. JoeK.
    Jan 16, 2002
    10
    A great game! I've played many RPG's with slow, dull moments, or moments where you need to build levels for a few days to move on. A great game! I've played many RPG's with slow, dull moments, or moments where you need to build levels for a few days to move on. Not DW7. It flows perfectly, and it's almost impossible to quit playing! Just wish Enix would advertise it. Won't sell if people don't know about it. Expand
  5. SeanD.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGS I have ever played.
  6. AlexD.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    This was the game that first got me interested in RPGs. Though often confusing to a relatively new gamer, i dedicated myself to it and became This was the game that first got me interested in RPGs. Though often confusing to a relatively new gamer, i dedicated myself to it and became addicted. The storyline is amazing and, even with it's dated graphics, the game remains one of my most frequently played. Collapse
  7. Slime:)
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Dragon Warrior VII is first RPG-game i have played. Story is really good and interesting and game give +100 hours playing...Class system is Dragon Warrior VII is first RPG-game i have played. Story is really good and interesting and game give +100 hours playing...Class system is good and skills and magics are nice, but mastering of classes is SO BORING!!! Fighting system eccentric (like i am here, hehheh...:)) but 3000 of fighting is too much. But i like this game! Expand

See all 15 User Reviews