Final Fantasy Chronicles PlayStation

Final Fantasy Chronicles Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When these games came out, they defined what adventures should be. Since then, they have become the most popular and sought-after titles in history. Now you can experience the re-release of two complete, classic games, enhanced with all-new cinemas and features never before seen in the U.S.When these games came out, they defined what adventures should be. Since then, they have become the most popular and sought-after titles in history. Now you can experience the re-release of two complete, classic games, enhanced with all-new cinemas and features never before seen in the U.S. Final Fantasy IV was previously released as Final Fantasy II, but has been completely restored with new magic, monsters, items, CG cinemas, and added features. Chrono Trigger is a re-release of the original game. This time-traveling prequel to Chrono Cross is enhanced with all-new animated scenes. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    "Final Fantasy IV" is an outstanding and epic work that impresses despite its advanced age...Although the visual and audio aspects have aged poorly, "Chrono Trigger" is nevertheless an invaluable offering to its genre.
  2. Sit this collection on the shelf beside Final Fantasy Anthology and you'll happily own some of the best RPGs ever made.
  3. A true blast from the past that earns classic status in this reviewers eyes. Please do yourself a favor and live or relive some of the finest moments in videogame history.
  4. The only thing holding it back from being a perfect conversion are the sound effects, which seem muffled and slightly off key. Ignore them and play the game, the new text is so worth it.
  5. Unfortunately, though the two games were visually stupendous in their respective times, they look quite dated by today's standards, and this will probably turn off those looking for a bigger thrill for their gaming dollar.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Nothing on the Legacy of Kain scale, but compared to the SNES carts it’s like a mosquito that won’t leave you alone. [Aug 2001, p.112]
  7. There aren't many bonuses to FFII and CT and it's disappointing. No making-of, no pages of artwork - just barebone games. Still, they're two of the best RPGs around.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. ArnoldT.
    Sep 12, 2001
    10
    These are arguably the best games around!!
  2. BenB.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    These games are classic and are a must-have for any hard-core RPG gamer. The old skool graphics may turn graphics geeks off, but the plots These games are classic and are a must-have for any hard-core RPG gamer. The old skool graphics may turn graphics geeks off, but the plots and new features more than make up for the loading times that were non-existent in the SNES versions that the games first came out on. Collapse
  3. Dec 16, 2016
    10
    Chrono Trigger and FFIV together is (was) an absolute must have when they released. The Chronicles opened them both up to a larger audience ofChrono Trigger and FFIV together is (was) an absolute must have when they released. The Chronicles opened them both up to a larger audience of newer RPG fans.
    They are both absolutely must plays. I played CT on the SNES so I knew going it what it was. I had not played FFIV until this, so I was happy I was finally able to.
    FFIV pulled no punches and casuals easily could get beat into submission. That said if you're an RPG veteran you will learn and adapt. Chrono Trigger is just a great, basic, nuts & bolts RPG. Everything is superb.
    While both of these are not at the top of my list anymore they were at the time and still demand the respect as what RPGs should be. Both are must plays.
    Expand
  4. JonathanC.
    Nov 2, 2001
    10
    I love to play rpg's. I have played all the Final Fantasy games and many other rpgs that I love. Up until a couple weeks ago, I had I love to play rpg's. I have played all the Final Fantasy games and many other rpgs that I love. Up until a couple weeks ago, I had never played Chrono Trigger. I just finished beating it. It broght me to tears, it was incredible. Another Squaresoft masterpiece!! Expand
  5. BrettY.
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    I think that Chrono Trigger is AWESOME, but my personal belief is that u should purchase FF:C for FFIV. I am the biggest FFIV fan ever, this I think that Chrono Trigger is AWESOME, but my personal belief is that u should purchase FF:C for FFIV. I am the biggest FFIV fan ever, this is the greatest package ever! Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    i think this was the last final fantasy on the PS1 and if it is it is VERY perfect but it is overshadowed by other popular final fantasy gamesi think this was the last final fantasy on the PS1 and if it is it is VERY perfect but it is overshadowed by other popular final fantasy games but it is still perfect. Expand
  7. AndrewE.
    Jul 14, 2001
    9
    These games were really good. I bought it for Chrono Trigger and played it first. Since I play it on my PS2 I can't really say anything These games were really good. I bought it for Chrono Trigger and played it first. Since I play it on my PS2 I can't really say anything bad about it. Except in FF4 some of item names have changed and the dialogue makes it look a bit cheesy. Chrono Trigger, however, has no glitches and has new amazing animated cutscenes that are great. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2001
#7 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2001