Final Fantasy IX PlayStation

Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 664 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as theThe last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 155
  1. HannahL.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    FANTASTIC!!!! i beat dis game like 10 thousand times!!!! its so addicting, and i love the gameplay AND STory. you can NEVER get bored of it. FANTASTIC!!!! i beat dis game like 10 thousand times!!!! its so addicting, and i love the gameplay AND STory. you can NEVER get bored of it. other ff games bore me out, and i can never finish it!!! though it is pretty old, i still play it. even today. Expand
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best, if not the best, Final Fantasy games. This is the only FF game I keep coming back to play over and over again, simply becauseOne of the best, if not the best, Final Fantasy games. This is the only FF game I keep coming back to play over and over again, simply because of how good it is.

    It's very refreshing to get away from the more futuristic theme of the previous few Final Fantasy games and go back to the medieval fantasy setting. The FMVs are, IMO, the best in the Final Fantasy series, with many neat things happening in them such as battles and summons.

    The combat is rather simple but still addicting. I love how each character is completely unique, instead of being able to make them all pretty much exactly the same such as in 8 or 10. The passive abilities still allow for a degree of strategy and customization, though they can break the game at times.

    The characters are very well developed with unique personalities and none of them are boring or dull (such as Vaan in 12) - you either love or hate 'em. The dialogue is the best in the series and is a pleasure to read.

    The story is fantastic. It is presented and executed perfectly. At the beginning it doesn't seem to have much direction (stealing a princess why?) but everything falls into place throughout the game and is unraveled perfectly, with few to no plot holes or questions left unanswered. It is quite a journey filled with humor, drama, romance and excitement.

    The music is amazing but this is always the case in Final Fantasy games (with Nobuo Uematsu).

    The spell animations are gorgeous and some of the best in the series - e.g. flare and doomsday.

    The only thing I don't like about this Final Fantasy is that it tends to have some balancing issues. Some fights are very difficult while many others are a total joke.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Final Fantasy IX is the pinnacle of gaming. It's the perfect example of elements coming together to make what I consider to be the greatestFinal Fantasy IX is the pinnacle of gaming. It's the perfect example of elements coming together to make what I consider to be the greatest game of all time. Although it's hard to say one part is better than another perhaps the most wonderful aspect is it's story. It's Disney-esque story, simple yet mature, able to appeal to anyone who puts time into it. The Characters are a balanced utterly lovable group, all with unique pasts, personalities, and motivations. The soundtrack is huge, and every track is worth listening to again and again, every track fits naturally where it plays. Rather than detract from the experience, the cartoon like graphics add to it in more ways than can be described. And the gameplay strikes the perfect balance Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    10
    My favorite final fantasy. This game is just amazing. MASTERPIECE.
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Great game. Not as good as final fantasy 7 though. The battle mechanics were less interesting and going from the amazing materia system toGreat game. Not as good as final fantasy 7 though. The battle mechanics were less interesting and going from the amazing materia system to this was a little disappointing. I didn't feel for the characters as much as I did for the ff7 cast. The villain wasn't as compelling either. I still thinks it's a great game though. After this is when it all went downhill for the final fantasy series. One crappy release after another. Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Expand

See all 155 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000