Final Fantasy IX PlayStation
Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 129
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    After VII completely changed nearly everything for future Final Fantasy series, Square puts the last nail in the coffin for the old school Final Fantasy games with IX. IX is the last Final Fantasy game that represents the old school Final Fantasy games. Even though it still has the features that VII introduced and pounded in the rest of the series, it was a throwback to the old school ways and I couldn't have it any other way. Next to VI and VII, IX is one of my favourite Final Fantasy games ever. The story is compelling and easy to follow, the soundtrack, though wasn't as epic as VII's, was charming and nostalgic, the gameplay and combat was simple but deep and the characters are fun and likable. Sadly, to me, this is the last great Final Fantasy game because after that, it was just a mix bag for me. Final Fantasy X story, even though it was epic, was very plot-hole ridden and had a ridiculously annoying protagonist but the combat was one of the best in the series. XII followed suit of X's bad habits with its story as well and the combat, though very different, was a hit and miss but the characters were quite fun. XIII just sucks ass. I'm digressing. IX is a Playstation gem. If you have all the Playstations, this game is a must get. I consider it the last great Final Fantasy game though I do hope that Square Enix could finally capture the greatness of the old Final Fantasy games in the future. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Easily the best Final Fantasy that came out on the PS1 and one of my favorite games of all time. When compared to the other two numbered FF games on the PS1, this one easily had the best characters and character development, the best story and some great music. The characters themselves are really a treat here and when you compare Zidane to the other main characters of Cloud and Squall, there really isn't any comparison. While Cloud and Squall are both melodrama angst ridden whiners, Zidane starts off as the goofy joking light-hearted character who goes through constant trials and tribulations that seem to follow him. And while not all the characters are as in-depth as he is, the rest of the cast all have their moments that really make you care about them and their futures. The story can get a little off track toward the end and some of the sci-fi elements that pop up at the end of the game really don't belong in a medieval setting like this one, but it's still one of the best plots in FF history. The battle system is VERY slow compared to FF VII and VIII and that can take quite awhile to get used too. Things slow down quite a bit and for the people who played 7 and 8 before this one, probably won't like it too much. You will have 1 more person in your party to worry about though so things aren't totally bad. The worst part is the fact that, while you end up with 8 characters you can choose from, you don't get the full roster of 8 to choose from till about 75% into the game, making leveling some of the characters you haven't seen in ages a bit tiresome. Plus the fact that some of those characters end up playing a fairly big role in the story make back tracking almost a necessity in some parts. However, the game is not that hard. You won't have to do much grinding over the course of the game to get by the regular mobs and bosses that pop up. I guess I'm a bit biased when it comes to this game but it's easily the most underrated FF game of all time and one that doesn't get enough of the credit that FF VII seems to get in spades. I'll always say this game was 10 times better than FF VII and nothing will ever change my mind. This game is easily purchased nowadays on the PSN so if you have any sort of Sony console, handheld or not, then your doing yourself an injustice by not buying this game. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    The best game ever made after starcraft 2 this game to this day still effects me like no other game can, i have been searching for a game to equal this and after so many years still cant find anything.... this game is a real gem one in a million i just wish there where more games made like this one Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy IX mixes the best of the old with the new. Beautiful visuals accompany a deep and compelling story with a cast of memorable characters that help elevate the title to the very top of the Final Fantasy franchise in terms of quality game design. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Definitely the definitive Final Fantasy. It knows the formula and near perfects it for one last hurrah. The art design, world, gameplay, party, antagonist, soundtrack, and every other element of this game is the culmination of all the work before it, creating one enchanting game. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation is a beautiful tale with precious melodies. FFIX returns to the origins with spectacular visuals. It is one of the best Final Fantasy. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    0
    The item management and character growth system is great simplified in comparison to, say, FF6. And yet, with menus that are slightly more complicated, and unnecessarily so. There's a certain elegance that I like in the item management system of an RPG, and Final Fantasy pretty much reached perfection with 6, and it's been downhill ever since. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?