Final Fantasy IX PlayStation
Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 538 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as theThe last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 135
  1. JadeL.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    This game is well put together and whimsically engrossing.It absorbs you in the plot and makes you yearn for more.The characters seem real as This game is well put together and whimsically engrossing.It absorbs you in the plot and makes you yearn for more.The characters seem real as do their problems.This game and all others,I'm sure,will have the same captivating effects and storylines which will make all of us gamers be swept away with every little twist and turn. Expand
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    One of the few games I have played through multiple times. This was the first FF game I played and it got me hooked on the franchise. Story isOne of the few games I have played through multiple times. This was the first FF game I played and it got me hooked on the franchise. Story is great and character development is great and the battle system is a ton of fun. The Open world feel was one of the best things. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    10
    My favorite final fantasy. This game is just amazing. MASTERPIECE.
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    As someone who has played every main series FF title, I can safely say that IX is the quintessential Final Fantasy game. VII and VIII marked aAs someone who has played every main series FF title, I can safely say that IX is the quintessential Final Fantasy game. VII and VIII marked a new direction for the series into sci-fi territory. IX sees the return of old-style kingdoms and mystical crystals that defined the first six games. In fact, it could be said that IX is a love letter to those games while also sporting the kind of visuals that those games could not have. The diverse cast of characters are well developed and likable. Some may say that the story begins in a rather cliched fashion but the game seems fully aware of this and revels in it. The aforementioned beginning is merely a setup for a moving story about purpose and existence. Despite dark themes, the game is never bogged down by the kind of melodrama that affected its last two predecessors. This is thanks in part to its cheery and virtuous protagonist, a far cry from the distant Cloud and brooding Squall, and more in line with Bartz and Locke from FFV and VI respectively. The world is beautiful and sprawling, with plenty of sidequests and mini-games. This game has charm, emotion and humor and to me is one of the best JRPG's ever made. A masterpiece. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This is a wonderful game. I'm not sure it's my favorite Final Fantasy, although it certainly ties for the top spot. The characters,This is a wonderful game. I'm not sure it's my favorite Final Fantasy, although it certainly ties for the top spot. The characters, particularly Vivi and Steiner, are interesting and lovable, and the story, albeit a bit cliched in areas, is fun and entertaining. A lot of people felt the combat was a little slow, but I never had any real problems with it. I enjoy the more strategic feel gained from returning to the class-based gameplay, but I do miss the freedom of skill manipulation present in Final Fantasy VII and VIII. That said, even in 2013, the game is still attractive. It has aged very well, especially in comparison to its Playstation brothers, FFVII and VIII. The art style is vivid and fun, which contrasts to the dark and gritty style present in some of the other 3D Final Fantasies. This art style is reflected throughout the entire game, which seems cheerful and lighthearted most of the time, but it still manages to feel dramatic and suspenseful at its climax.
    That being said, the game is not without its problems. Even though the somewhat linear beginning opens up, the game doesn't really provide much of an incentive for exploration outside of the chocobo quest. There are really only a few areas you don't visit in the main quest of the game, and areas outside of the main continent are strangely barren and empty. There are multiple sidequests in the game, but most of them are expected to be done (and should be done) alongside the main quest. Attempting to complete them all at once is very tedious and time consuming. I'll blame most of this on the size limit of CDs, since most of the space was probably taken by the large number of cutscenes and detailed backdrops. The game was already four discs in its original incarnation, but it would be nice to have some extra dungeons to explore and goodies to find.
    That being said, I can't recommend this game highly enough. It's a wonderful game, and it looking back on it thirteen years after its release, it represents one of Square's last titles before deciding all games needed to be action RPGs with bad voice acting and convoluted stories revolving around characters wearing ridiculous costumes laden with ridiculous numbers of zippers and buckles. It is certainly the most underrated and forgotten game of the series (perhaps caused by being released so late in the Playstation's life cycle), which is certainly a shame for such a fine title. Do yourself a favor and play this game. Purchase it on the Playstation Store, or hit up Ebay for a used Playstation and a copy of this game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Collapse

See all 135 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?