Final Fantasy IX PlayStation
Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 498 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 131
  1. JadeL.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    This game is well put together and whimsically engrossing.It absorbs you in the plot and makes you yearn for more.The characters seem real as do their problems.This game and all others,I'm sure,will have the same captivating effects and storylines which will make all of us gamers be swept away with every little twist and turn. Expand
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    One of the few games I have played through multiple times. This was the first FF game I played and it got me hooked on the franchise. Story is great and character development is great and the battle system is a ton of fun. The Open world feel was one of the best things. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    10
    My favorite final fantasy. This game is just amazing. MASTERPIECE.
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy IX is a tribute to the series - the developers intended it to be the swan song of Final Fantasy knowing the games following would not remain in true Final Fantasy form. This can easily be seen as the game is filled with tons of easter eggs and references to previous installments of the franchise. Everything about this game screams "classic." It's easily the best Final Fantasy ever made. (January 7th, 2011) Expand
  6. C.M.
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    No. 9 just barely edges out no. 7 as the second best game in the Final Fantasy series (the top spot belongs unquestionably to no. 6, which may just be the best role-playing game ever made, or at least the best that I've had the privilege to experience). It was intended as both an homage to and a synthesis of the previous games in the series, which makes for wonderful in-jokes for those familiar with the franchise. It's also one of the most humorous and whimsical RPGs I've played, two qualities that I value greatly in the genre; at the same time, however, it offers a deep and engaging storyline and mythos as well as a passel of fun characters (some more fun than others, granted) and a dazzling display of imagination. Best of all about the game, however, is the gameplay itself. The abitilies system (and most everything else in the game) is extremely user-friendly while never seeming too simple, and the synthesis shops are a great addition. Complaints? In my opinion, the tone of the game gets too serious as the storyline progresses, clashing with the initially established bright, colorful, whimsical feel. Battles, unfortunately, can get repetitive, especially when grinding (this is one aspect where 9 does not trump 7). And as is often the case with RPGs, the storyline gets needlessly confusing and murky as complications arise, requiring a great memory or a flow chart to keep track of exactly what's going on and why. (The ending's also a little disappointing.) But despite all that, Final Fantasy IX is a fantastic game that any RPG fan should definitely play, if they haven't already. Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Expand

See all 131 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?