Final Fantasy IX PlayStation
Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as theThe last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 144
  1. JohnH.
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    If you love the others, more than likely you
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    WOW! this game, this game is amazing in every way possible. The game play, story, characters, every thing. I did not play it when it firstWOW! this game, this game is amazing in every way possible. The game play, story, characters, every thing. I did not play it when it first came out. i just beat it like a month ago. I did not even notice the aged graphics i was having way to much fun. final fantasy 9 is the best final fantasy by far. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    One of the few games I have played through multiple times. This was the first FF game I played and it got me hooked on the franchise. Story isOne of the few games I have played through multiple times. This was the first FF game I played and it got me hooked on the franchise. Story is great and character development is great and the battle system is a ton of fun. The Open world feel was one of the best things. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    10
    My favorite final fantasy. This game is just amazing. MASTERPIECE.
  6. Oct 1, 2014
    9
    Easily the best of the "modern" Final Fantasys (though still not quite as good as the some of the SNES era FFs).

    Graphics are out of the
    Easily the best of the "modern" Final Fantasys (though still not quite as good as the some of the SNES era FFs).

    Graphics are out of the park. Going with a heavily stylized art-style helped the game in the long run, and even today it's one of the best looking Final Fantasys as a result.

    The ATE system add a surprising amount of depth and interactivity, letting you see background events or even gaining access to certain perks or encounters depending on the choices taken, which is one of the best uses to date for the player who actually wants to immerse themselves fully into the world/story.

    Going back to static classes was initially a downside, (since only really 1, 4, and 9 have enforced class roles) unlocking pretty much everything at anytime, but on the other hand, it does at least prevent everything from becoming Samey since each character is definitely unique, instead of everyone becoming pretty much carbon copies of each other with only minor statistical differences (or their limit break or weapon type alone having the biggest change).

    Music of course is great as always.

    The story was great of course, and was quite refreshing after the double-dipped gloom/doom of the previous titles, though the final boss could've used at least a little more in-game explanation, instead of requiring assembling of some fridge logic on the part of the player. (nothing really wrong with requiring a player to think a little, but it's such a common complaint it might've been just a tad too vague for the tastes of a vocal majority to piece it together).

    The mini-game being the only real mark against it, due to being completely up to RNG, no matter how well you played, unlike 8's card game which at least had consistent rules.
    Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?