Final Fantasy IX PlayStation

Final Fantasy IX Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 695 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as theThe last Final Fantasy for the PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX returns to the pure fantasy roots that spawned the series. This latest installment features highly detailed characters, vehicles, and environments, and breathtaking cinema-graphics. The addition of brand new features such as the story-enhancing Active Time Event system and the return of minigames that grant additional gameplay make Final Fantasy IX not only a memorable gaming experience, but also a significant step forward in the series. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    It does, at times, go beyond expectations to give gamers a true masterpiece.
  2. Pushing the humble PSone to its absolute limits, Square have done the impossible and actually improved on FFVIII's visuals.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    The crystals return to the series, along with a four-member party, blue magic, and black mages. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. But for the feel of nostalgia bolstered by the still-capable technology of the PlayStation, this game can make you feel actual delight--something that's tough to do in these cynical times.
  5. 92
    Final Fantasy could go on forever re-creating its particular spin on the traditional heroic quest, and it would be a success every single time, but I can't help feeling as if something that features this kind of majestic visual craftsmanship ought to host a story built with equal care.
  6. A masterpiece of an adventure game. For anyone not to fall in love with it would truly amaze me. Everything is set just right and you are drawn into the story right from the very offset.
  7. Doesn't offer very much that is new. The game is more than a little formulaic at times, using rehashed bits from other Final Fantasy games and not taking them any further.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 161
  1. JohnM.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It's a sweet game, loads of fun, loads of things to do.
  2. RaxsahW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best The most underrated Final Fantasy to have ever been made. I admit, the attention to character art during normal gameplay isn't the best (better than FF7 though) but the backdrops and sceneries are stunning. The storyline is captivating, surprising you with unexpected plot twists that intertwine with each other flawlessly. Each character also has his/her own story which leads you to a deeper understanding of them and how they have come to be where they are during the game. A masterpiece that was unfortunately released too late as by this time, the PS2 had already been in the market for a good year or so I believe, which diverted everyone's attention from the game. To anyone thinking of trying the game out, I can almost guarantee you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Even when playing at 2014, this game still holds. I'm warning you... Once you play the game, you'll enjoy the experience.

    Inside is a
    Even when playing at 2014, this game still holds. I'm warning you... Once you play the game, you'll enjoy the experience.

    Inside is a lovely world with well developed characters, soothing background music, amazing FMVs!, nice gameplay and many more.

    As I said more, last year, a side quest was found! With something like that found from 2000 video game, you'll never know what you're encountering is a something none of us has seen yet. There's bunch of secrets within this game that it is worth replaying.

    The characters are interesting and each one of them is based on job/class. Fun if you played prior final fantasy games before this but even if didn't, this game just gives you cast that will forever engraved to your heart.
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    One of the best games in both the series and the genre. The story, characters, graphics, and soundtrack are all some of the best I'veOne of the best games in both the series and the genre. The story, characters, graphics, and soundtrack are all some of the best I've experienced in my life. My biggest complaint is that the ATB gauge could fill up a lot faster, as some battles are unnecessarily long. However, that's just me being (extremely) nitpicky. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This game is the best FF in my opinion. Featured by the perfect OST: I really like the Soundtracks as epic symphony for my ears!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Great game. Not as good as final fantasy 7 though. The battle mechanics were less interesting and going from the amazing materia system toGreat game. Not as good as final fantasy 7 though. The battle mechanics were less interesting and going from the amazing materia system to this was a little disappointing. I didn't feel for the characters as much as I did for the ff7 cast. The villain wasn't as compelling either. I still thinks it's a great game though. After this is when it all went downhill for the final fantasy series. One crappy release after another. Expand
  7. MorganF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the Boring, boring, boring. The plot is so shallow that makes you doubt your intelligence, the gameplay makes you want to cut your hands ang the graphics sucs. It is the most overrated game ever. I want my spended hours back! Expand

See all 161 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000