Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. 90
    This one-disc set is literally overflowing with a high-quality history lesson that not only provides well over 40 hours of simplistic but addicting gameplay, but a true look back at the origins of the world's most popular RPG franchise.
  2. Origins won't win over staunchly anti-RPG players, but for fans of the genre, this is quite a deal.
  3. Game Informer
    93
    The sound is excellent and the music consists of lovely tunes typical of the series. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  4. If you can get pass the obvious dated graphics then you will be in for a serious treat.
  5. 70
    While regular Joes will miss nothing if they pass this up, the art galleries and new music are enough to make Origins worth it to hardcore FF fanatics.
  6. Final Fantasy and FFII has something that many games nowadays either lack or feature poorly: a well-developed, creative and engaging plot. If you’re into RPG’s in any way, get to the store and get a copy of Final Fantasy Origins. You’ll have over a hundred hours of play in your hands, and you won’t regret a single minute of it.
  7. Play Magazine
    80
    Play "Final Fantasy I" as a blast from the past, but play "Final Fantasy II" simply because it's a fantastic old-school RPG. [May 2003, p.67]
  8. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    "Final Fantasy" is an impenetrable mess with a bare-bones bore of a battle system that's all about mindless levelling-up. But "Final Fantasy II" is a real treat: The story, system, and pacing all hold up marvelously. [Apr 2003, p.134]
  9. Pleasant graphically, but disturbing as a more complete experience.
  10. Unlike the later games, Final Fantasy II showcases the most involved learning and experience system of the series - all weapons, shields, and spells have some associated skill level in using them.
  11. Origins provides you with two mammoth-sized RPGs in the form of Final Fantasy I and II. Both offer fantastic stories, and anyone familiar with the later games in the series will immediately be immersed.
  12. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    Simply said, Final Fantasy Origins is a must-have title for any RPG lover - no matter how casual or passionate your devotion to role-playing games. [Apr 2003, p.88]
  13. This compilation’s been given enough bells and whistles (unlockable art gallery, redesigned interface, prettier graphics, remastered soundtracks, CG intermissions, etc.) to appeal to a whole new generation of gamers weaned on the series’ trademarked formula of turn-based battles and high-quality (for their time) production values.
  14. netjak
    75
    Play this to understand where Final Fantasy, which has done so much for gaming in general, has come from. Play this to appreciate how good things were even back then, even if they aren't really the same. But if you want what you had before, save your cash. Time and gaming has moved on - even if I haven't fully.
  15. GMR Magazine
    80
    For those who are just curious, it might not be worth your time, but with teh Amano art gallery, an Easy mode for "FFI," and other improvements, the old school will be pleased. [Mar 2003, p.65]
  16. The gameplay is still as enjoyable as it was 15 years ago, maybe even more so.
  17. GameNow
    75
    From a collector's vantage point, this disk is indispensible. [Apr 2003, p.46]
  18. A no-brainer for anyone that enjoys RPGS.
  19. Games don't have to look great to play great.
  20. Cheat Code Central Platinum
    80
    FF Origins would not stand a chance today if it were a new release but it proves that good games don't always need major production values.
  21. 80
    Anthologies can be a sketchy business, but Final Fantasy Origins delivers the goods and shows that, even now, the current crop of high-gloss, tech tour-de-force games have ancestors that can and should be honored.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2003
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73
  1. Sep 28, 2017
    7
    FF 1 is 10/10 for me and FF 2 is 4/10. Everything is good about both games apart from mega grind and difficulty spikes in FF 2.. so painful!FF 1 is 10/10 for me and FF 2 is 4/10. Everything is good about both games apart from mega grind and difficulty spikes in FF 2.. so painful! I advise playing playstation or PSP version. Mobile versions are disgrace to genre. Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2016
    7
    This review is for FF1.

    Pros: - Remastered sprite looks great - Despite being a NES game, still holds up pretty well - Magic system is
    This review is for FF1.

    Pros:
    - Remastered sprite looks great
    - Despite being a NES game, still holds up pretty well
    - Magic system is unique and pretty fun
    - OST is incredible
    - You get to name your characters!
    - Revisions on the original that keep the classic difficulty while making it less annoying to actually play

    Cons:
    - Very unbalanced with the classes
    - Terrible dungeon design.
    - Random encounter rate is way too high and uneven
    - As with many NES games, sometimes it is too difficult to find out what to do next

    True Score: 7.6
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2016
    8
    I only played these when this collection came out. so, needless to say, I was a bit spoiled.
    That said I was able to out aside the changes
    I only played these when this collection came out. so, needless to say, I was a bit spoiled.
    That said I was able to out aside the changes that occurred in gaming over the years and appreciate them for what they were. Any real RPG fan needs to play these to see where the Final Fantasy legacy began. They are even worth playing just to see how far we've come.
    They aren't for everyone, but the hardcore RPG fans should feel compelled to play these. I was and am glad I did.
    Full Review »