Final Fantasy Origins PlayStation

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    93
    The sound is excellent and the music consists of lovely tunes typical of the series. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  2. This compilation’s been given enough bells and whistles (unlockable art gallery, redesigned interface, prettier graphics, remastered soundtracks, CG intermissions, etc.) to appeal to a whole new generation of gamers weaned on the series’ trademarked formula of turn-based battles and high-quality (for their time) production values.
  3. 90
    This one-disc set is literally overflowing with a high-quality history lesson that not only provides well over 40 hours of simplistic but addicting gameplay, but a true look back at the origins of the world's most popular RPG franchise.
  4. Final Fantasy and FFII has something that many games nowadays either lack or feature poorly: a well-developed, creative and engaging plot. If you’re into RPG’s in any way, get to the store and get a copy of Final Fantasy Origins. You’ll have over a hundred hours of play in your hands, and you won’t regret a single minute of it.
  5. Origins provides you with two mammoth-sized RPGs in the form of Final Fantasy I and II. Both offer fantastic stories, and anyone familiar with the later games in the series will immediately be immersed.
  6. The gameplay is still as enjoyable as it was 15 years ago, maybe even more so.
  7. 80
    Anthologies can be a sketchy business, but Final Fantasy Origins delivers the goods and shows that, even now, the current crop of high-gloss, tech tour-de-force games have ancestors that can and should be honored.
  8. If you can get pass the obvious dated graphics then you will be in for a serious treat.
  9. GMR Magazine
    80
    For those who are just curious, it might not be worth your time, but with teh Amano art gallery, an Easy mode for "FFI," and other improvements, the old school will be pleased. [Mar 2003, p.65]
  10. Unlike the later games, Final Fantasy II showcases the most involved learning and experience system of the series - all weapons, shields, and spells have some associated skill level in using them.
  11. netjak
    75
    Play this to understand where Final Fantasy, which has done so much for gaming in general, has come from. Play this to appreciate how good things were even back then, even if they aren't really the same. But if you want what you had before, save your cash. Time and gaming has moved on - even if I haven't fully.
  12. Play Magazine
    80
    Play "Final Fantasy I" as a blast from the past, but play "Final Fantasy II" simply because it's a fantastic old-school RPG. [May 2003, p.67]
  13. Cheat Code Central Platinum
    80
    FF Origins would not stand a chance today if it were a new release but it proves that good games don't always need major production values.
  14. GameNow
    75
    From a collector's vantage point, this disk is indispensible. [Apr 2003, p.46]
  15. A no-brainer for anyone that enjoys RPGS.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Dec 28, 2016
    7
    This review is for FF1.

    Pros: - Remastered sprite looks great - Despite being a NES game, still holds up pretty well - Magic system is
    This review is for FF1.

    Pros:
    - Remastered sprite looks great
    - Despite being a NES game, still holds up pretty well
    - Magic system is unique and pretty fun
    - OST is incredible
    - You get to name your characters!
    - Revisions on the original that keep the classic difficulty while making it less annoying to actually play

    Cons:
    - Very unbalanced with the classes
    - Terrible dungeon design.
    - Random encounter rate is way too high and uneven
    - As with many NES games, sometimes it is too difficult to find out what to do next

    True Score: 7.6
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2016
    8
    I only played these when this collection came out. so, needless to say, I was a bit spoiled.
    That said I was able to out aside the changes
    I only played these when this collection came out. so, needless to say, I was a bit spoiled.
    That said I was able to out aside the changes that occurred in gaming over the years and appreciate them for what they were. Any real RPG fan needs to play these to see where the Final Fantasy legacy began. They are even worth playing just to see how far we've come.
    They aren't for everyone, but the hardcore RPG fans should feel compelled to play these. I was and am glad I did.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    Origins is one of the best of the series probably the 4th and one of the best PS1 games ever! Probably the 10th best Playstation 1 games yet.Origins is one of the best of the series probably the 4th and one of the best PS1 games ever! Probably the 10th best Playstation 1 games yet. So this game is amazing. Full Review »