Final Fantasy VII PlayStation

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1385 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy 7 is a decent game. i have played 7-8 times. Everytime i play, the scene and atmosphere make you seems to living inside the game. This game not only RPG Genre, One part of it is Adventure,
    Full of secret area, bosses in the open area, you can use highwind travel in the air, or submarine in the sea or chocoboo(like a bird) to explore secret area. In early stage of the game,
    Final Fantasy 7 is a decent game. i have played 7-8 times. Everytime i play, the scene and atmosphere make you seems to living inside the game. This game not only RPG Genre, One part of it is Adventure,
    Full of secret area, bosses in the open area, you can use highwind travel in the air, or submarine in the sea or chocoboo(like a bird) to explore secret area. In early stage of the game, you are in the city of Midgar, a future-like design city impress you. Soon You will then go to open map and start your trip,
    the Open Map main theme is very enjoyable, i sometimes stop a while listen to it until it ends. Also many BGM is enjoyable. Such as Tifa scheme, Aerith theme, Battle scheme, one winged angel(boss theme)etc. Character design is epic, each character has their own story. And look like they have soul even this is a game. When Aeris died, Cloud driven to crazy, and with BGM, i sure you must be in touch. In later stage of the game, after 20-30 hours, you come back Midgar city, it feels like i am back home. FF7 most impress me is the cut-scene CG, the Opening scene is epic and has something to do with ending scene(aeris appear first and last). FF7 give you not epic gameplay, but what you are in touch with the story by incredible CG, BGM, Character design. It is the best RPG game ever, since i have played FF9, 10, 13-2
    which not comparable with FF7. i give a 10+1 score.
    Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    What an epic game this was/is. I absolutely love how this game starts out, I'd say the best beginning ever in a video game (The city of Midgar). Every aspect of this game is awesome, whether it's the battles/bosses, music, or story, they are all amazing!!! I would have to say that this game is hands down the best FF ever made, and that's saying a lot for such an incredible series. If youWhat an epic game this was/is. I absolutely love how this game starts out, I'd say the best beginning ever in a video game (The city of Midgar). Every aspect of this game is awesome, whether it's the battles/bosses, music, or story, they are all amazing!!! I would have to say that this game is hands down the best FF ever made, and that's saying a lot for such an incredible series. If you can get passed the boxy character models in this game, you are in for one truly enjoyable ride! A bit of advice, this game is definitely challenging and is what makes it great. You could be doing fine and then all of a sudden a boss will decimate you. You then have to go out and level up, which is fun to do. The secrets and Golden Saucer adds a lot of fun content as well and FF7 has some serious end game content. Not to mention this game also has one of the slickest end bosses and the most beautiful soundtrack of all. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    A game that blew me away then and is just as much fun now. Called "The game that sold the Playstation" and I can see why. It's fun and entertaining, with hours and hours of gameplay and more if you like exploring and levelling up to be mega hard come the boss fights. Plus lots of the coolest characters and definately coolest bad guy. Once you can explore the world it's truly epic, withA game that blew me away then and is just as much fun now. Called "The game that sold the Playstation" and I can see why. It's fun and entertaining, with hours and hours of gameplay and more if you like exploring and levelling up to be mega hard come the boss fights. Plus lots of the coolest characters and definately coolest bad guy. Once you can explore the world it's truly epic, with side quests. With FFXII and Persona4, this is a stand out game, it's just epic, as simple as that. One of the best games I've ever played, which is saying a lot, and even though it seems ancient now and dated its still a game i come back too. With Suikoden and Grandia II its the cream of RPG Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    This is by far my favorite RPG of all time. I consider Legend of Zelda OoT/Chrono Trigger close to it though, and still playing Final Fantasy 6, but the mood in this game just appeals to me so much more. The spin offs they released are utter crap though, so I'm not some blind fanboy. Being one of the only games to really get me attached to the story, even though people consider itThis is by far my favorite RPG of all time. I consider Legend of Zelda OoT/Chrono Trigger close to it though, and still playing Final Fantasy 6, but the mood in this game just appeals to me so much more. The spin offs they released are utter crap though, so I'm not some blind fanboy. Being one of the only games to really get me attached to the story, even though people consider it overrated, but the flawless mood the game sets is beyond anything I have ever seen in another game since it.

    You jump right into the gameplay without some long boring cinematic and it is one of the best execution of story progression in RPG history. This game is a must play for everyone, no matter how your preferences for games are.

    I just wish Square-Enix could make games like this again. You will unlikely see another classic fantasy for a long time, so you better play the classics until then.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is a classic game and it deserves to be a classic game. It has a great story and great characters that make you want to play the entire game and also give it a high replay value. The only down side of the game is the turn based combat but that was the norm for the time in which it was made. If your looking for a good classic RPG to play Final Fantasy VII is defiantly aFinal Fantasy VII is a classic game and it deserves to be a classic game. It has a great story and great characters that make you want to play the entire game and also give it a high replay value. The only down side of the game is the turn based combat but that was the norm for the time in which it was made. If your looking for a good classic RPG to play Final Fantasy VII is defiantly a must play and that is why it deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    As close to perfection in a game as you're ever likely to see. The finest sound track in gaming history, orchestral and oozing with atmosphere which suits the beautifully drawn scenery. The character graphics, whilst not A-grade stuff, have charm in abundance, radiating atypical JRPG at every turn (see Cait Sith for details!) Speaking of the characters, every single one of them areAs close to perfection in a game as you're ever likely to see. The finest sound track in gaming history, orchestral and oozing with atmosphere which suits the beautifully drawn scenery. The character graphics, whilst not A-grade stuff, have charm in abundance, radiating atypical JRPG at every turn (see Cait Sith for details!) Speaking of the characters, every single one of them are memorable by name, even if you haven't played the title for a decade. The Turks, Yuffie, Vincent... these are side characters yet they roll off the tongue. Even the enemies do; Emerald Weapon remains ingrained in the minds of a whole generation of gamers.

    And the story... I doubt that we'll see anything that comes close to it ever again. To this day the only game to have legitimately made me cry with a scene that anyone who has played this game will know about.

    In short, it's a classic in every sense of the word. If they ever re-release this on a modern platform it will sell out again and again, because even if you've put 100+ hours into this title you still want more.

    There are minor faults, don't get me wrong. But they really are minor to the point of not worth mentioning - for example, there's a few translation issues, one or two of the mini games are frustrating, the world map can be confusing and chocobo breeding is nigh on impossible without a guide, but that's literally it. If you're a gaming enthusiast and haven't played this title, go out now, buy a PlayStation 1 from a second hand store and pick up a copy of FF7 - because your gaming career isn't complete without a showdown with Sephiroth on your CV.

    It's probably the only game I'll ever score a legitimate 10/10 for, because when taken as a package, in terms of duration, replayability, storyline, atmosphere, gameplay... it's perfect, and I don't think it'll ever be beaten.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    From nowadays viewpoint the graphics might be terrible. Since this aspect doesnt make a game worse for my part, I can still say: epic game. Deep story, interesting gameplay, awesome characters, challenging fights, fine balancing... Today still one of the best games ever made.
  8. May 29, 2012
    9
    You just can't consider yourself a serious gamer if you haven't tried this game. Everything here is great: great story, great battle mechanics, great character development, great amount of items, great characters, great length... So, basically, you need to play this game at least once in your life.
  9. May 28, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy has only been able to do something better than this once: Final Fantasy X. This is THE game of the PS1, flawless. Beautifully made and it also has the best story line ever.
    This game must never be seen as "overrated" for it truly stands up to its legendary title
  10. May 21, 2012
    9
    In short, the most defining RPG of the 32-bit era! It's existence spawned a slew of inferior spin off games and movies, but most importantly helped establish the genre and it's transition from 2D to 3D. Good Plot, hours worth of side quests, great music, rewarding, & addictive. Visuals are obviously dated, but remain charming and were amazing for it's time.
  11. May 15, 2012
    10
    Perhaps the greatest video game ever made. The story is engrossing, the graphics...were...awesome, the gameplay is awesome, and then there's Chocobo racing.
  12. May 11, 2012
    10
    VERY GOOD GAME! People *cough* I mean kids think the game is bad because of the bad graphics and bad gameplay. Yet the graphics are very good for that time. The gameplay is solid and very well written.
    People so say this game is bad never played through it OR are very young. go back to playing call of duty you kids.
  13. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Please excuse me if at any moment i offend any one,but i was just reading all of the bad reviews and i can't believe it.... this game is not only a classic, but its amazing in every way especially for its time. the main character is a mystery. That provides curiosity to the player "whats going on?" "who is this guy?" "what is SOLDIER?" and a billion more questions. Its has everything itPlease excuse me if at any moment i offend any one,but i was just reading all of the bad reviews and i can't believe it.... this game is not only a classic, but its amazing in every way especially for its time. the main character is a mystery. That provides curiosity to the player "whats going on?" "who is this guy?" "what is SOLDIER?" and a billion more questions. Its has everything it needs to engross a player in to the game the music is catchy and nice. I feel the graphics are good for its time other disagree that's fine because in any case the story makes up for it. this game was and could still be considered one of the best games ever. the fact there is no voice act provides for the mind to work its imagination a bit. if u like sure some things some times make little sense, but these things are just part of what makes it that much better it leaves you wanting more. this game is so good that i freaking played 6h straight slept 4h only to play another 6h. this game is awesome and i still cant believe there exist people who don't like it... it makes me sad. But, seriously get this game u'll love it and if u don't your'e one of the few who can't appreciate true genies. No offense. Expand
  14. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is a true classic, one of the greatest pieces of videogame ever made and still cherished by many. It brought a graphical revolution to consoles in its release and also added a deep and powerful storyline that slowly evolves into the typical save-the-world stuff that is a mark of the Final Fantasy series. The characters are extremely charismatic, with an extremely goodFinal Fantasy VII is a true classic, one of the greatest pieces of videogame ever made and still cherished by many. It brought a graphical revolution to consoles in its release and also added a deep and powerful storyline that slowly evolves into the typical save-the-world stuff that is a mark of the Final Fantasy series. The characters are extremely charismatic, with an extremely good protagonist (people hate him because he is lazy and traumatized, but that's exactly where he's a good character) and the whole game system (from battle to menu) is extremely addictive. You'll have plenty of time of fun here, about 60 hours for those who take their time and make some of the sidequests, more if you wish to unravel every detail of this huge game that tops the content of many of today's behemoths. If you consider yourself and RPG fan and is not a crying boy who wishes only top-notch graphics of the Xbox and PS3, Final Fantasy VII still tops most of the others games of the genre. Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is the epic RPG ever made. It came in 1997 with pure magic, dreams and a beauty never dresses. Those that we it play it, we discover a video game with heart.
  16. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Loving all the 0 rage on this page, really...a lot of people saying poor graphics haha really? These graphics were mind blowing when this game came out in the 90's. Game play is incredible and the game takes many many hours to complete. This may not be your favorite game but when you bash it and rate it a 0 you fail at life... this game is PERFECTION PERIOD.
  17. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Best RPG of all times if not the best game of all time. Considering that the last PlayStation game to be released was in 2005, or 2004 depending on the region, of course there are going to be games with better graphics. You also have to consider art direction and the context of the game. Saying Minecraft is a terrible game because it isn't as pretty as Skyrim isn't a valid argument, andBest RPG of all times if not the best game of all time. Considering that the last PlayStation game to be released was in 2005, or 2004 depending on the region, of course there are going to be games with better graphics. You also have to consider art direction and the context of the game. Saying Minecraft is a terrible game because it isn't as pretty as Skyrim isn't a valid argument, and how much VO do you want out of a game. As I recall, possibly incorrectly, game like chrono cross, released 2 or 3 years later had about as much as FF7. 327-18 is a substantial enough lead for me however. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    A sprawling and enthralling game that always has a new trick up its sleeve. This game is seen as a classic and deserves the title. Though not quite as brilliant as FF6, this game is still bursting with originality, heart, action and just about anything else you would ever want from a video game.
  19. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Simply the best. Of course, perfection doesn´t exist, but I think this is the videogame most near it. Why? Everything is incredible: its story, its characters, music, battle system. Also the graphics were amazing by the time it was released. I was not interested at all in Final Fantasy until I finished it. Now I´m a final fantasy fan, only because of it. Trust me,Simply the best. Of course, perfection doesn´t exist, but I think this is the videogame most near it. Why? Everything is incredible: its story, its characters, music, battle system. Also the graphics were amazing by the time it was released. I was not interested at all in Final Fantasy until I finished it. Now I´m a final fantasy fan, only because of it. Trust me, this game will learn you to appreciate the world of videogames and to value how a good game must be. If you don´t like it, it´s because you haven´t played it well. Anyone who loves videogames should have it. Expand
  20. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    One of my all-time favorite games, and my favorite Final Fantasy game. It's a long and good game with lots of character and excitement. The combat system and game mechanics i general is rock solid, the characters deep and the plot complex, but not too over the top either. A must-play for all fans of the series and RPG's alike
  21. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some people commenting here are very jaded. I recently tried to re-play this game, and over 15 years later, it was to a certain extent tedious, but considering how many great RPG's have come out and how far game development has come in that amount of time, it's really no surprise. However, to those saying the story was horrible, perhaps you play alot of shooters with extremely linear and copy pasted stories. I am HUGE on story development, and must say in today's era of gaming, that aspect is truly lacking. The story of FF7 was one of the deepest and most immersing I have experienced. It was intricately written and placed, each main character had their own background fleshed out (which is alot more than most games can say these days), how they all came together, some purposely, some seemingly random. The characters played off each other very well, to the point that you feel as if you're part of it while they convey their emotions into you. When Aeris dies, you almost feel yourself die a little inside. When you learn of Cloud's mysterious past, you find that most of what he believes is not necessarily true, and that he lived vicariously through Zack n Sephiroth. His tortured, twisted, demented mind shows exactly why he is a man of few words, and little emotion. The many twists throughout the story, I found at the time to be quite unexpected and enthralling. Each little FMV sequence and dialogue tying this illustrious narrative together. Not to mention the sand-box aspect of the game, where there are so many side-quests, that involve more than just stupid fetch quests (the side quests of today's RPG's), that sometimes also add to the story, or tie up a loose end, were imaginative and great. The arcade! Awesome! In today's RPG's fetch quests are all of the sidequests. That and crafting items, lame... If you can honestly say you dislike this game, or think it's overrated, you are missing a part of your soul. Or you enjoy the horrible re-hash of Oblivion that is every RPG coming out these days, which every single one is lacking in story, but it's ok, you can mash the A button all day and feel satisfied. I'll enjoy what yesteryear has to offer, while you drone the simple minded, lackluster stories, un-artistic, button mashing crap of today's generation. You are probably the same people that hated the new Duke Nukem, because it didn't have really-real-realistic graphics and it wasn't MW3. It's people like you that killed awesome epic gaming, in exchange for marketing research that makes every game these days a remake of last year's game of the year... Bring on some more epic Turn-based RPG's, screw these brainless idiots! Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    best game ever. No videogame storyline has ever affected me in such a way. I've probably played it around 7 or 8 times. But about 6 months after I play it, i want to again. No other game is like that for me. Also, best music. The piano collections are incredible. 8, 9, and 10 are great, but the stories aren't nearly as good. Thats why I'm always surprised to hear 7 isn't somebody's favorite
  23. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is one of the greatest video games of all time, amazing characters, amazing story and amazing soundtrack, there is no other final fantasy like it and or ever will be, an amazing video game a complete Masterpiece
  24. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. By far the best of its time and my favorite and likely the best pure rpg ever. The plot is well written and despite bad graphics this game managesn to make every pixel count. The story is shrowded in mystery and you uncover many twists in the plot that will affect you emotionnaly. It is a game with many secrets and skills at your disposal. Im on my secondThis game is fantastic. By far the best of its time and my favorite and likely the best pure rpg ever. The plot is well written and despite bad graphics this game managesn to make every pixel count. The story is shrowded in mystery and you uncover many twists in the plot that will affect you emotionnaly. It is a game with many secrets and skills at your disposal. Im on my second playthrough and there are still things i want to go back and do. Still secrets i find. Still a game that amazes me Expand
  25. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The game that made me love gaming. If you never played it, do yourself a favor and do so. A little outdated graphics wise but nothing a remake will not fix, hint hint Square. But don't let that stop you from playing this great game.
  26. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I have recently begun a playthrough of all of the Final Fantasy games I own including some I missed out on as a child (I, IV and V). I was bitterly disappointed with the newest effort and wanted to lose myself in a time when I really loved this series. I hadn't played this game in 6 years so I was looking forward to it. As soon as the camera pans down from the stars and you see Aerith II have recently begun a playthrough of all of the Final Fantasy games I own including some I missed out on as a child (I, IV and V). I was bitterly disappointed with the newest effort and wanted to lose myself in a time when I really loved this series. I hadn't played this game in 6 years so I was looking forward to it. As soon as the camera pans down from the stars and you see Aerith I got chills, and I realized while playing that the atmosphere and the edge Final Fantasy used to have is long gone, as well as the ability to make me care for characters. Now this game isn't perfect no matter what the overzealous fans say; the mechanics are dated, the translation is botched and the disc 2 pacing is weird to say the least....but the charm of the game is so powerful that I was able to overlook it. And the music is truly magnificent. Expand
  27. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    If someone asks me what my favourite game of all time is, the answer is quick and blunt; Final Fantasy VII. I bought this game solely because on the back there was a man on a snowboard. Little did I know of the magnitude of my decision. FFVII introduced me to the JRPG genre, and I fell in love. The story starts small but evolves into a brilliant, thorough, engaging epic. You connect withIf someone asks me what my favourite game of all time is, the answer is quick and blunt; Final Fantasy VII. I bought this game solely because on the back there was a man on a snowboard. Little did I know of the magnitude of my decision. FFVII introduced me to the JRPG genre, and I fell in love. The story starts small but evolves into a brilliant, thorough, engaging epic. You connect with each and every character in the game. Be it the ones you control or the ones you face. You never lose track of your main goal but can spend hours exploring and then continuing on your focus. As you progress you develop your characters, learn more about their history and the major plot. Everything is just so perfectly synchronized. The atmosphere, music, scenery, characters, combat and enemies ties together in such a great epic adventure I had never in my life experienced. It's now been 13 years since the release and at the time the graphics and cinematics were beyond what you would expect for the console. As time went by and the Final Fantasy franchise slowly rotted into the ground, releasing games that would never compare to this classic. Changing a system that was far from broken and generally tearing up the name, this game stands out as the best achievement of Squaresoft. I keep trying out their newest installment only to stop half way ending up back where I started. Graphics is not as important anymore. I would rather play a good game with outdated graphics than a shallow cosmetic excuse of a game. If you haven't tried this game yet, you're in for a treat irrelevant of the graphics. Expand
  28. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    A great game. Not the best in the series though. Sure, it had newer 3D graphics, but it has 2D characters and a plot that really needed some refining. And as many people know, graphics do not make a game awesome. A new wave of FF (and rpg) fans surged in with the release of this game and has become a demi god amongst them. Definitely pick it up.
  29. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Best game ever made PERIOD. Everything about it was incredible characters, customization the works so detailed. Its this very game that got me into RPG and gaming altogether
  30. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    By far my most FAVORITE game of all time. Everything in this masterpiece is a living work of art, and is truly what every gamer should experience. We follow Cloud, an ex-member of SOLDIER, who soon joines a group AVALANCHE, and tries to stop midgar from sucking up all of the earth's life. The story is greatly emotional, from twist after twist. The game also features only the greatestBy far my most FAVORITE game of all time. Everything in this masterpiece is a living work of art, and is truly what every gamer should experience. We follow Cloud, an ex-member of SOLDIER, who soon joines a group AVALANCHE, and tries to stop midgar from sucking up all of the earth's life. The story is greatly emotional, from twist after twist. The game also features only the greatest villain of all time, Sephiroth. The music is the best in the industry, and in my opinion better than Mario or Zelda (OPINION!), and the graphics may not be the best, but it was 1997, what do you expect? The fighting is a turn-based style, and works not only in a RPG way, but can be action-like, and have a lot of strategy to it. If you're breeding chocobos one place, or riding down snow mountains in the other, FF7 has as much content to last for a couple of days. The characters are the best part, from cloud, to tifa, to cid, you will get many memorable characters who are known today as the best ever imagined by Square. Ultimately, this is the BEST Final Fantasy ever made, and will always be in my heart as my favorite game of all time. Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hands down the best game I've ever played. Surprising since the first few hours were shaky, and I was only spurred on by my friend telling me I needed to keep going....

    First few hours review: The graphics seem dodgy, your character is made out of a triangle or two. You get text instead of voice acting. You get dumped into a battle system that seems unnatural and clunky. The story is an infantile anti-corporate mess. The main character has no personality. 3/10

    Final review: The graphics are great, the crappiness of your characters becomes loveable and the technique used for the backgrounds creates a unique and beautiful world, that actually looks great. The world map is awesome, and the variety and sheer character of the environments is breathtaking. At one point you return to the city you started in after being away on your travels for a while and it's an utter joy just because you get to experience the place again. An utterly immersive world.
    The text dialogue overcomes the uselessness of every piece of voice acting ever in a video game, and the script is amazing. I actually care what each person has to say, and I find myself emotionally invested not only in my own character but every one of the supporting cast I pick up along the way.
    The battle system is the best I have ever used, you will find yourself using every technique it has to offer, magic, summons and melee all have their place and you will use them equally. The balance is perfect, if you follow the story without spending hours levelling up for the sake of it each battle is just the right difficulty.
    The story itself is a piece of artistic genius. I never cared so much about a computer game, ever. It has all the action, comedy and drama you would ever want, and then goes further to touch on deeper subjects like destiny, good and evil, the meaning of life, love, death, self worth, all of that stuff. Just beautiful. At times you will struggle to hold back tears and in other moments you will be punching the air with win. Your character is a heavily flawed guy, and his victories are not only defeating his enemies, but defeating the significant emotional issues he has been carrying around. It was brave on the part of the writers to put such weaknesses into a main character, but for me it made me root for him way more than if he was standard hero dude with a "kind of troubled" past. This fella is actually a total freak, and to pull himself out of the mental rut he's in gives him more power than could be achieved otherwise. Another wonderful thing about his flaws is they are pretty much the same weaknesses as the bad guy, but because of how Sephiroth deals with them you hate him equally as much as you love Cloud. That's a lot, by the way. This guy is the ultimate badass, and two of his scenes in particular (fire in a village, sword in a back) are the most frightening and shocking things you will see in a video game. A guy that is genetically the same as Cloud, starting with the same identity crisis, but by the end battle so hateful that you are hell bent on annihilating him. Shakespearean I tell ya. And you will be rewarded after the battle with the simplest but most badass automated showdown you could ever see. OOOOOMMMNIIIISLLLASSHHHHH!!!!!!!!!
    Oh and the soundtrack is one of the best ever. Unforgettable.

    I could go on, I mean I really could go on for a long time describing all the good things in this game. I've played it over 1000 hours (really) since it came out all those years ago, and nothing has surpassed it for me since. Metal Gear Solid is sitting all scratched up in a press somewhere, Gran Turismo gets whipped out every couple of years for a race or two. Medal of Honour has had about 100 better successors and I don't know where that disc is anymore. Final Fantasy 7 on the other hand will always have a place under my TV. Impossible to beat. If you've never played it, find the game and a psx if necessary. And as my friend told me all those years ago, stick through the first couple of hours, by god will you be glad you did.
    Expand
  32. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Sephiroth is an example of one of those game villains who just "don't" die. The earlier villain offering, Kefka, from Final Fantasy VI was manical, psychotic, and succeeded in scorching the earth. When he died, that was it, he died. Playing whack-a-mole with Sephiroth got boring. It's hard to tell he's even the villain. You start the game fighting Shinra corp. You might ask yourself whySephiroth is an example of one of those game villains who just "don't" die. The earlier villain offering, Kefka, from Final Fantasy VI was manical, psychotic, and succeeded in scorching the earth. When he died, that was it, he died. Playing whack-a-mole with Sephiroth got boring. It's hard to tell he's even the villain. You start the game fighting Shinra corp. You might ask yourself why you have to even fight Sephiroth. I wondered the same thing.

    Onto the parts I loved. I loved having a nice variety of characters to choose from. I loved the materia system, exploring the world and finding new bosses to kill. The Golden Saucer was awesome, lots of minigames and other things to do. More RPG developers need to learn players love having a mid-game hub to do other tasks rather than advancing the story. It's a shame square hasn't learned from their success though, as newer games in the series usually lack anything with 10% of the depth of the Golden Saucer.

    Main villain was weak, but it's still a great RPG experience, a far gap between a 9 and 10 though.
    Expand
  33. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    A game with a well-written story that broke ground for showcasing its revolutionary 3D visuals. Not my favorite title in the Final Fantasy series, but still an enjoyable ride nonetheless. Unfortunately, the success of said title has spawned its own mediocre sequel in the form of a movie, Advent Children. The game itself is not as overrated as some people would lead you to believe. It'sA game with a well-written story that broke ground for showcasing its revolutionary 3D visuals. Not my favorite title in the Final Fantasy series, but still an enjoyable ride nonetheless. Unfortunately, the success of said title has spawned its own mediocre sequel in the form of a movie, Advent Children. The game itself is not as overrated as some people would lead you to believe. It's just... really popular. Expand
  34. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I am going to give it a 10, just because of the mini games. I have not seen any other game with so many different mini games: snowboarding, motorcycling and the strategy game where you defended the base with different troops.

    Of course there is still: arm wrestling, boxing, basketball, piano, chocobo racing, shooting game at speed square, torpedo attack the submarine simulator and many
    I am going to give it a 10, just because of the mini games. I have not seen any other game with so many different mini games: snowboarding, motorcycling and the strategy game where you defended the base with different troops.

    Of course there is still: arm wrestling, boxing, basketball, piano, chocobo racing, shooting game at speed square, torpedo attack the submarine simulator and many other for example in Gold Saucer.
    Expand
  35. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    If there was such thing as a perfect game, this would most likely be it. It still outmatches many titles to this date. It's a serious shame there are not many games as good as Final Fantasy 7.
  36. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    This game is still one of the best RPG's ever made, let alone one of the best games ever made. A fantastic narrative, with a story line that builds up enough tension to warrant continuing to play through the rest of the fantastic campaign that this game is based around. Some of the people below who gave it 0 are abosolutely ridiculous and they clearly don't know what makes a well developedThis game is still one of the best RPG's ever made, let alone one of the best games ever made. A fantastic narrative, with a story line that builds up enough tension to warrant continuing to play through the rest of the fantastic campaign that this game is based around. Some of the people below who gave it 0 are abosolutely ridiculous and they clearly don't know what makes a well developed game. As someone who is studying game development I know what I'm talking about and the design aspects are fantastic. Someone below in their review talks about 'no voice'. Voice acting doesn't make a game and also consider the time this masterpiece was made back in 1997 for the rise of the playstation home console system. NOT at all overrated an absolute gem everyone should try, now just need a remake :) Expand
  37. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    FFVII not only changed the history of gaming, it made a footprint impossible to fade away, this game as more time keeps passing by, much better it gets. Soothing music score, nice graphics, cool RPG system and the best story in all the FF and Maybe all the video games to date.
  38. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Favorite game ever. If you haven't played, and don't mind oldschool graphics, then this game will not disappoint.
  39. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely in the Top 3 JRPG's ever and top 5 RPG's ever. Great characters, fantastic storyline, ahead of its time with its 3D graphics. The other +'s includes that it had a gigantic 3D world to explore, it had a wonderful music selection (loved the battle music) and it had just the right amount of mini-games to spice things up without becoming ridiculous. Few games captivated me more as aDefinitely in the Top 3 JRPG's ever and top 5 RPG's ever. Great characters, fantastic storyline, ahead of its time with its 3D graphics. The other +'s includes that it had a gigantic 3D world to explore, it had a wonderful music selection (loved the battle music) and it had just the right amount of mini-games to spice things up without becoming ridiculous. Few games captivated me more as a kid, and I doubt most of the new games ever will. This game is definitely a worthy contender as one of the greatest games ever.

    P.S. I could live without a remake. It might be nice, but I enjoy the original enough to play it without HD graphics.
    Expand
  40. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    I liked this game but 8 and 10 are by a clear mile the best ever final fantasy games. Square soft made the good games and square Enix are just total garbage!
  41. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    The Story of FF VII is well known for a good reason. Its a complex and deep story sucking you in and never letting you out. Also the Materia System is really fun, because you have many and interesting combinations. Great game.
  42. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    To keep it simple. Plot = Hit and miss but one of the most involving and epic in the series. Gameplay = Reached the zenith of JRPGs. Graphics = Gouraud shading looks horrible nowadays but at the time was incredibly atmospheric. Music = Incredibly well done for a VG at the time. It doesn't really bother me nowadays but when you play it again the translations in the game are truly laughable.
  43. May 28, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this game truly deserves a medal. I honestly believe that it is the best game that has ever been made based on several factors. For me, Storyline is a big factor. FF7 is a game that actively progresses through the story. There are no long breaks where nothingFinal Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this game truly deserves a medal. I honestly believe that it is the best game that has ever been made based on several factors. For me, Storyline is a big factor. FF7 is a game that actively progresses through the story. There are no long breaks where nothing seems to happen. The actual battling is turn based, rapid, and thrilling. Containing an almost never ending assortment of difficult and amusing enemies and bosses that will keep you entertained throughout all three disks. The plot is immense, with surprises, twists, and excitement up until the stunning climax. Graphics wise, the game is not lacking. Although the characters may be somewhat blocky, the battles and cut scenes are magnificent. The soundtrack is one of my favorite parts of the game. The soundtrack fits well with the gameplay and the battle themes are just amazing. Overall, I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  44. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game worth playing again and again. One of the greatest games of all time with a impressive one-hundred hour length and fantastic graphics for its time. The graphics today will look aged, but the game play will still be as amazing as the day it was released. The appreciation of Japanese role play games have diminished over the years, with its only true high-definition successorAmazing game worth playing again and again. One of the greatest games of all time with a impressive one-hundred hour length and fantastic graphics for its time. The graphics today will look aged, but the game play will still be as amazing as the day it was released. The appreciation of Japanese role play games have diminished over the years, with its only true high-definition successor being Lost Odyssey on the XBOX 360.

    If you haven't played Final Fantasy VII, then I suggest you do. The characters are love-able, the game play is memorable and the game play is epic!
    Expand
  45. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best RPG ever all other final Fantasies after this were ok but no where near as high quality as this one. It has one of the sadiest moments ever when Aerith dies. A RPG that will make u cry laught and make you feel for the characters epically cloud Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the most influential games of the late 1990's. Not only did it pave the way for more RPG's (In the United States), but it showed what one game has to offer. Final Fantasy VII (7) has one of the best stories of any RPG (In my opinion), amazing gameplay, and amazing graphics (For it's time, of course.) The sound quality is excellent, and the script is top notch.This game is by far one of the most influential games of the late 1990's. Not only did it pave the way for more RPG's (In the United States), but it showed what one game has to offer. Final Fantasy VII (7) has one of the best stories of any RPG (In my opinion), amazing gameplay, and amazing graphics (For it's time, of course.) The sound quality is excellent, and the script is top notch. The music is phenomenal. The gameplay however, is more of your normal Final Fantasy turned based action, but it fits the game perfectly. If you haven't picked this one up, do so, it's amazing! (You can get a copy off the Playstation network for a low price!) Expand
  47. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    What can i say, excellent cast of characters with interesting backgrounds and even though this games has one of the best stories ever in my opinion that is not what make Final Fantasy VII shine above the rest. Both Xenogears and Chrono Cross had deeper and more interesting stories, but what makes this game my all time favorite is the world itself. You will explore every corner of a hugeWhat can i say, excellent cast of characters with interesting backgrounds and even though this games has one of the best stories ever in my opinion that is not what make Final Fantasy VII shine above the rest. Both Xenogears and Chrono Cross had deeper and more interesting stories, but what makes this game my all time favorite is the world itself. You will explore every corner of a huge planet, from the huge and futuristic city of Midgar, to the lost Forgotten Capital, hidden temples, deserts, snow, underwater and a little bit of outer space and everything fits together in a perfect mix (science vs magic). The game is very unpredictable (especially when disc2 kicks in) and never gets boring even though it is 50 hours long. However stay away from the recently released spin-offs Dirge of Cerberus and Advent Children! While in the original game Cloud was a messed up and confused soul, in the AC version he is just a emo punk.
    My conclusion of this game is simple: Masterpiece!
    Expand
  48. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    It is a great game for it's time, seeming to be a major step from the previous games. The one creative perspective of the game is it's plot. Of course, the game play is also very creative in that on top of fighting monsters, you may have to do somewhat goofy objectives in the game - like one part towards the beginning... Anyways, anyone who thinks this looks like a good game and has theIt is a great game for it's time, seeming to be a major step from the previous games. The one creative perspective of the game is it's plot. Of course, the game play is also very creative in that on top of fighting monsters, you may have to do somewhat goofy objectives in the game - like one part towards the beginning... Anyways, anyone who thinks this looks like a good game and has the ability to play it, I believe you'll enjoy it! Expand
  49. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    My first RPG. This game introduced me to my current favorite genre. Everything about this game is amazing and even to this day it's hard to replicate the enjoyment this game produced at the time.
  50. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Incredible game. Not perfect - there were some mini-games I didn't like (the condor fortress RTS thing for one) and I thought the battles went slowly considering how much you needed to level up. Party/item/materia management was a bit tedious, but it was vital to your success. The story had me entranced for the most part. I was completely surprised and intrigued when you find out Cloud mayIncredible game. Not perfect - there were some mini-games I didn't like (the condor fortress RTS thing for one) and I thought the battles went slowly considering how much you needed to level up. Party/item/materia management was a bit tedious, but it was vital to your success. The story had me entranced for the most part. I was completely surprised and intrigued when you find out Cloud may not be Cloud, though it felt slightly forced (Tifa should have said something way earlier). And FFVII is much more a game than modern RPGs. There's a lot you have to figure out on your own and some alternate directions the story can take in addition to sidequests. It's much more interactive. Also, I was surprised at how long the game actually took to finish and all the content and areas there were to explore. The monsters were....freaking random, but original. I loved the pre-final battle against giant Sephiroth where you had two parties to use. It made me a little disappointed when I got to the real final battle (talk about slow and tedious). But I really did fall in love with it when I played it. The character development is incredible and I loved the whole package despite a few complaints here and there. Expand
  51. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    a great RPG and one of the best of the FF series . almost every thing about this game is great , a excellent combat system and i loved the materia system . a solid story , around 40+ hours of gameplay depending on what you all do , fantastic graphics for its day , intresting charicters , the plot flows perfectly , lots of side stuff to do . about my only 2 gripes with this game is thea great RPG and one of the best of the FF series . almost every thing about this game is great , a excellent combat system and i loved the materia system . a solid story , around 40+ hours of gameplay depending on what you all do , fantastic graphics for its day , intresting charicters , the plot flows perfectly , lots of side stuff to do . about my only 2 gripes with this game is the final boss battle with jenova and sephroth are way to easy . even though on my second play through i speed ran at is fast as i could and jenova and sephroth are just a cake walk to beat . the ending also sucks but if you see FF7 advent children it does help improve it . still despite that this is a real solid RPG in every other department , Expand
  52. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Formula for an incredible game;
    Memorable characters: check.
    Substantial length: check.
    Complex narrative: check.
    Climactic ending: check.
    Popular to spawn its own mini-series: check.

    All this, and other things, make Final Fantasy VII an incredible game, which I will say is NOT overrated.
  53. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    Mmmm...........................materia......................
  54. Funkymonk
    Apr 26, 2010
    8
    I'm going to have to agree with Chris B B, Raxsah W and the others below who said this is overrated. Look, i'll give the game the credit it deserves; It was the first game to really make RPG's mainstream, perhaps even cool. In some ways it was influential. The graphics, music and storyline set new standards for PS1 and it just felt bigger and more epic then any RPG before I'm going to have to agree with Chris B B, Raxsah W and the others below who said this is overrated. Look, i'll give the game the credit it deserves; It was the first game to really make RPG's mainstream, perhaps even cool. In some ways it was influential. The graphics, music and storyline set new standards for PS1 and it just felt bigger and more epic then any RPG before it. However it has also aged badly in some ways as well. Anyone who isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that this is basically a conventional RPG with dated turn based combat, a good plot and excellent PS1 graphics and sound. Ther's nothing TRULY innovative about FF7 or it's gameplay and that's the point that fanboys calling it the best game ever need to think about (not that they will). There are games on the PS1, even, that are more innovative, with gameplay that TRULY pushes bounderies; Metal Gear Solid for example. So fanboys, you're entitled to your opinion but i think you're all deluded. FF7 is NOT the best game ever. FF7 is NOT the best game on the PS1. FF7 is NOT even the best RPG ever. FF7 is just a very good game. Expand
  55. Rayvior
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Where does one begin? Do we address the attention to detail with scenery and weapons. Or do we grasp onto the easy to understand and execute gameplay? FFVII is very much, an RPG of the "golden age". It provided more story than any game of any genre at the time, and catered to the elitist in many. FF7 was just that good. It still is. Especially when companies are nickel and dime-ing with Where does one begin? Do we address the attention to detail with scenery and weapons. Or do we grasp onto the easy to understand and execute gameplay? FFVII is very much, an RPG of the "golden age". It provided more story than any game of any genre at the time, and catered to the elitist in many. FF7 was just that good. It still is. Especially when companies are nickel and dime-ing with DLC. We get to see what a complete and full game feels like. If I had to describe the genre FF7 is in, I would call it RPG Sandboxing. As nothing is linear unless the player makes it so, and even the limit breaks can be put on hold while you play a decent array of mini games. The game is the epitome of micron managing. If playing at Gold Saucer isn't for the player, one could raise and breed Chocobo's. Or explore hidden areas, or even locate that favorite weapon. FF7 has it all. Wish to pick up and play? then theres nothing to it. The game is as simple as Checkers and as complex as Chess. This is not a "like it or hate it" game, that term doesn't even apply to this, the game has far too many things to do, that even people who prefer a different type of genre will easily enjoy FF7. The story is immersive, the characters actually develop, and the plot is easy to follow without getting preachy. FF7 does what most 60 dollar Xbox games can't. Keep in mind this was when games like Zelda 64 came out. FF7 delivers. Expand
  56. peterm
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    This is the best FF in the series, and if not the best, defiantly one of the best game in any system (from Atari to ps3). The game included wonderful cinematic scenes, incredible story, socking moments, a feeling of connection with the characters and incredible fights. If the older remember the moment in time when FF went from 2d to 3d and made a huge impact in the whole industry with it This is the best FF in the series, and if not the best, defiantly one of the best game in any system (from Atari to ps3). The game included wonderful cinematic scenes, incredible story, socking moments, a feeling of connection with the characters and incredible fights. If the older remember the moment in time when FF went from 2d to 3d and made a huge impact in the whole industry with it stunning backdrops and design. Enix's favourite. Truly innovative for its time. Expand
  57. ChrisBB
    Oct 14, 2009
    8
    What can i say about FFVII besides that it is hideously overrated. I think the only thing it deserves credit for is being the first step toward 3d rpgs but i always found it to be a very flimsy step. If you honestly look at FFVII and all it has to offer you find that the only thing that it improved or introduced were better graphics. the gameplay was just like the other ATB bar based FF What can i say about FFVII besides that it is hideously overrated. I think the only thing it deserves credit for is being the first step toward 3d rpgs but i always found it to be a very flimsy step. If you honestly look at FFVII and all it has to offer you find that the only thing that it improved or introduced were better graphics. the gameplay was just like the other ATB bar based FF games and the materia system was surprisingly similar to that of 6. overall the storyline was nothing special. the characters are one of the most overrated things about this game. The have flair and style but no personality to back it up. let me tell you something kids, having a big sword and spikey hair does not make you a good, well written character. the characters, in my opinion, lacked that certain depth to draw me in. While a decent game for the time it was not revolutionary. What gamers saw, was the same thing they had been playing for years, but now in a fancy 3D coating. Consequently, every little thing FFVII seemed revolutionary and original just because this was the first time they were seeing this stuff in 3D. just because it introduced nicer graphics, that does not make it a masterpiece. when it comes down to it, the future of RPGs wasn Expand
  58. DerekG.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    To consider this game's rating, I'd have to say I'll compare to when it came out, because that's when I got it. The graphics were a revolutionary idea, even though now the polygons look horrible and deformed, it had a captivating story, characters and soundtrack, and the battles were enjoyable, especially the battles with Emerald and Ruby WEAPON.
  59. [anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    O.K. this is a very fun, addictive RPG in fact the best final fantasy game ever unless a miracle happens and they mke ff7 2 but that will never happen sadly but this is a MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!
  60. A.Nonymous
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    Out of the Final Fantasy games I've played, this is not my favorite. That honor goes the Final Fantasy VI. In fact, I think this game is a bit overrated. However, it is still an unforgettable classic that RPG fans should definitely play. (As if there's any RPG fan that hasn't played it.) I must say, after playing through it recently, I think the polygonal models have aged Out of the Final Fantasy games I've played, this is not my favorite. That honor goes the Final Fantasy VI. In fact, I think this game is a bit overrated. However, it is still an unforgettable classic that RPG fans should definitely play. (As if there's any RPG fan that hasn't played it.) I must say, after playing through it recently, I think the polygonal models have aged horribly, at least out of battle. I realize the game is 12 years old, so I wasn't expecting Killzone 2 calibur graphics, but they're still almost painful to look at. I'm sure they were truly mind-blowing when the game first was released, but it's 2009 now. In battle, they're actually still impressive, in a way.The summons in particular are still awesome to look at. The pre-rendered backgrounds still hold up, as well. The story is somewhat confusing, but I found it entertaining and even moving at times. At times Sephiroth's motives were unclear to me. (Even more confusing was that it wasn't even Sephiroth...O.o) I also had trouble figuring out who exactly Cloud is, but for the sake of spoiler-avoidance, I won't go into detail. (Though I'm sure most of you have probably heard the story, anyway.) The gameplay holds up well. Lots of classic ATB battles are to be had, and it's fun tweaking your characters and making them into machines of destruction. One of my favorite things about Final Fantasy VII is the music. Nobuo Uematsu created a masterpiece with the game's soundtrack. Just look up some orchestrated versions of some of the songs, and I'll guarantee you'll be in awe. While I still think that Final Fantasy VII is overrated and has too many fanboys, I can't deny it's a great game. I can't imagine that any serious RPG fans are left that haven't played it, but if there are, I'd recommend they check it out. Expand
  61. LoganDisney
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    The best game ever made, without a doubt. An incredible storyline and great characters add to the perfectly suited music of the game and pioneering (heheh) graphics of the game to make it one of few games I could play forever and never stop loving it.
  62. MattB
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Anyone who rates this game lower then a 9 is one of those people who just likes to go a different direction then the crowd. They would do this for anything. If there was a movie everyone loved.... they would make up a reason to hate it. Best game of all time. Haters, hope you enjoy lying to yourself your whole life.
  63. Mergal
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    I was surprised for how long this game was! 4 discs on a playstation! i really don't know how people finish that in 10 hours! i took about 40 hours, having fun in the mini games a bit on the way... replaying the wall market side quests section for how taboo it was, i suppose. i really don't know any other game with a crossdresser as the protagonist; adding in a brothel, and a gymI was surprised for how long this game was! 4 discs on a playstation! i really don't know how people finish that in 10 hours! i took about 40 hours, having fun in the mini games a bit on the way... replaying the wall market side quests section for how taboo it was, i suppose. i really don't know any other game with a crossdresser as the protagonist; adding in a brothel, and a gym for gay men. I really don't know any other game that would have those things. o.o so, i'll thank Final Fantasy VII for leading much of the gaming world into 3D and being so creative about it, though i'm only exaggerating the crossdresser comment of the wall market slums part here for kicks. (but, teehee, you could get sexy cologne!) Expand
  64. JacobD.
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time, it has a intriguing story line with very in depth characters. the fighting system works amazingly well, and it can be hard at parts.here are so many secrets and things to find you will spend hours going over everything, i know i did!
  65. ChrisC
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    one of times great masterpieces. i wont even discuss how great a game it is because i know some will unconditionally support it and others will act the same against it, but ever since i played it when i was 5 years old back in 1997 to now when i am 17 and still playing this piece, i still get emotionally involved in the huge, deep storyline. if only someone were to create a novel from one of times great masterpieces. i wont even discuss how great a game it is because i know some will unconditionally support it and others will act the same against it, but ever since i played it when i was 5 years old back in 1997 to now when i am 17 and still playing this piece, i still get emotionally involved in the huge, deep storyline. if only someone were to create a novel from this game, the artistic story could be shared to everyone, even those that love to hate video games of the sort. Expand
  66. Faisal
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I was with the detractors who are puzzled about the praise that is lavished on this game and believe it to be one of the most over rated of all time. I say was because I have had a BIG change of heart after completing the game for the second time ( after a gap of 10 years!) the other day. I finally can see what the fans have been saying all along - this is without doubt one of the I was with the detractors who are puzzled about the praise that is lavished on this game and believe it to be one of the most over rated of all time. I say was because I have had a BIG change of heart after completing the game for the second time ( after a gap of 10 years!) the other day. I finally can see what the fans have been saying all along - this is without doubt one of the greatest games of all time and probably my personal favourite game. The best 16 bit rpgs can't touch this - yes, including Chrono Trigger. I am suprised myself at how my second experience has so transformed my views and feelings about this game. I think the main reason why is that I had a grasp of the complex plot (with a bit of help from plot analysis articles by fans) much better this time around. The story and characters and music are what really lifts this game above most other story driven games. Having said that every aspect of the game is well designed including the battle system. If you have only tried this game once, not liked it much but suspect it might be worth a second try I recommend you do. You may be in for a big pleasant suprise. Expand
  67. JeremyP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    I am a really huge fan of the final fantasy series, but my favorite of all times is final fantasy 7. I just wish that they still sold that game. I've been trying to find that game for a long time. Please start selling that game again. I really want to get that game. That is my number one adventure game and I love that game so much. It is awesome. Please e-mail me and let me know if I am a really huge fan of the final fantasy series, but my favorite of all times is final fantasy 7. I just wish that they still sold that game. I've been trying to find that game for a long time. Please start selling that game again. I really want to get that game. That is my number one adventure game and I love that game so much. It is awesome. Please e-mail me and let me know if you have a copy of the game. I'm starting my own game also. Expand
  68. RyanG.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    The best Rpg ever. To this day, and its all in the story.
  69. RobertY.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Perhaps not the best game of all time, but among the best. To respond to what was stated by Mike M., there are numerous flaws in his criticism. First -- the graphics were absolutely spectacular for being the beginning of the Playstation Era. I remember, after playing Final Fantasy VIII and IX, thinking back at how much "worse" the VII graphics were. However, upon playing VII again I Perhaps not the best game of all time, but among the best. To respond to what was stated by Mike M., there are numerous flaws in his criticism. First -- the graphics were absolutely spectacular for being the beginning of the Playstation Era. I remember, after playing Final Fantasy VIII and IX, thinking back at how much "worse" the VII graphics were. However, upon playing VII again I realized my error. The fact is, they did absolutely amazing things with the resources they had. Second, regarding the characters. Mike's comments lead me to wonder if he played through the entire game, specifically to Disk 3. They do indeed start by presenting the characters as the usual stereotypes. However, through the game you find out more about each character, including some major things that make them anything but your ordinary "wooden, teen-programmed protagonists." Third, you call Sephiroth an "angst-ridden villain who we must accept as evil simply because he acts like it, with little discernible motivation." There are places you would get lynched for saying this. First, Sephiroth is perhaps one of the most complex villains of all time, because he is truly likable. In addition, his actions are clearly being influenced by an outside source (Jenova), which has an unknown degree of control over him. In addition, his relationship and history with the main character leave room for major psychological examination. I have written college papers on the subject of Sephiroth, and so I think we can drop the mistaken notion you seem to have that he is stereotypical. In addition, the primary struggle in the story is not "ultimate good versus ultimate evil." When truly examined (assuming you've played through the entire game), you can see that the primary conflict is the psychological conflict that the main character has with himself. Even the final battle can be viewed entirely as an allegory for a struggle inside his mind. "Good and evil" are not the sides presented. The "good" characters are clearly flawed, even somewhat villainous in their own ways. The "evil" characters are clearly gifted and most are very likable, despite being on the opposite side of the conflict. There were indeed more groundbreaking projects, similar deep stories, and these games should have a better reputation. This does not, however, diminish the amazing gameplay, graphics (yes, graphics), story, characters, and structure of this game. It's more than a "good JRPG." It's a great, universal RPG that is one of the most timeless classics we have seen in the genre. Expand
  70. JasonD
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    This game is a work of art... I played this game for 70 hours and I had a hard time fighting the final battle not because it was hard(if you can beat the ultimate weapons, Sephiroth is nothing) it was hard becasue I did not want the game to end,this is the only game i have ever played that made me mourn at the thought of it coming to an end. The graphics were outstanding... the best of This game is a work of art... I played this game for 70 hours and I had a hard time fighting the final battle not because it was hard(if you can beat the ultimate weapons, Sephiroth is nothing) it was hard becasue I did not want the game to end,this is the only game i have ever played that made me mourn at the thought of it coming to an end. The graphics were outstanding... the best of its time period. if you dont agree prove it.... tell me a title to look at. But as I remeber it, games went from SNES/SAGA graphics to FF7. the story is the greatest but in my opinion the freedom of this game is what made it the most revolutionary game I have ever played. of the 70 hours of game play 10 hours were story the other 60 were free reign of an entire world with vehicals to navagate every inch of the planet sized map, with side quest and character development that you are FREE to explore or not THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. Expand
  71. Brian
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    I have to agree with tyler. i got this game when it came out first and was absolutely blown away... 1997 i think. i cant see how it could be described as sub par - sub par to what ? what else was really comparible to ff7 at the time? out of every game ive ever played i still rate it no1- best game ive ever played and im sure alot of people would agree.
  72. ZechsM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    My favorite game of all time! totally deserves a 10!
  73. OmbarK.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Many people say this game is one of the most overrated game of all time because it is the first game that a lot of people played, including me. The thing is, many of those people have their own little game from which they all rate others game from and very often this game is FFVI. Personnally, I don't see what these people see in it as I didn't like it but they don't see Many people say this game is one of the most overrated game of all time because it is the first game that a lot of people played, including me. The thing is, many of those people have their own little game from which they all rate others game from and very often this game is FFVI. Personnally, I don't see what these people see in it as I didn't like it but they don't see what we love about FFVII either. Sure, our expectations for future games reflected FFVII's style as but the thing is that it was a great game, it set the bar too high for us to even think about something better, even today. The musical score is simply the best in any game I've layed up to today (and musical scores are pretty bad nowadays if you ask me), the graphics aside from the world map are great, especially battles, AMVs are simply phenomenal for the time, the story is complex and holds many twists, finally, I loved the materia system and the mini-games but that's more personnal. There's a lot of good stuff of which FFVII was the pioneer at the time, mainly storeline and AMVs and will remain for that reason a ground breaking game. Expand
  74. TylerB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    I don't know why someone was complaining about grahpics of this game it came out at the birth of PS1 (it didn't even have analog controls)...he must be a 5 year old who doesn't appreciate where games come from. This IS Final Fantasy. Compelling story, revolutionary combat systems (when it was made), and an excellent game to be the first 3D final fantasy. It is an I don't know why someone was complaining about grahpics of this game it came out at the birth of PS1 (it didn't even have analog controls)...he must be a 5 year old who doesn't appreciate where games come from. This IS Final Fantasy. Compelling story, revolutionary combat systems (when it was made), and an excellent game to be the first 3D final fantasy. It is an unforgettable experience from the first time you go into the land of Midgar. Expand
  75. RafiqyT.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    best game ever all you nay sayers are crazy. it came out in 1997 our only other option was an over head look on a 2mm figure. the story is deep, the game play is great and the music is awesome! so all of you people who were not part of the target audience just shut up and accept it as the BEST GAME EVER!!!
  76. PhilM.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    This game, along with FFVIII are both the best games I've ever played in my life. The inconsistent art style is probably the only thing holding this game back. Everything else is just so perfect, such an immersive game.
  77. sconway321
    May 13, 2008
    9
    This game is fantastic. The story is MINDBLOWING, the characters are brilliant and gameplay is great fun. The only reason I don't give this game 10 is because it felt dated and had bad graphics. But you learn to put these faults aside and enjoy the game. One of my most favourite games.
  78. MartinB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Easily my favorite RPG ever. Its scope and epic-ness is only matched or surpassed by a handful of other games. Those who criticize the graphics need only realize this game was released more than a decade ago(1997).
  79. CloudS.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The very definition of gaming as an art.
  80. JoeyN.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing game Ive got 2 copies of this the original I bought when first released the second Brand New Still Sealed just in case anything happens to my first one. I LOVE this game so emotional, so engrossing and anyone who does not agree otherwise Is not a gamer roll on the PS3 version (fingers crossed).
  81. FredL.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    So awesome... the ultimate game beautiful dramatic and filled with action.
  82. MareusK.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    I have played games since i was 4 years old and i am proud to be able to say that I played almost every game worth mentioning in the game history atleast once. There are still a few titles i am trying to aquire, but its really just a few titles. That being said i have to admit that in my 20 years of playing games there were very few titles which managed to reach the heights of Final I have played games since i was 4 years old and i am proud to be able to say that I played almost every game worth mentioning in the game history atleast once. There are still a few titles i am trying to aquire, but its really just a few titles. That being said i have to admit that in my 20 years of playing games there were very few titles which managed to reach the heights of Final Fantasy 7. For those who judge this game purely by graphics i can only say i feel sorry for them because they are blind to the true art game, just as they are probably blind to to any form of art. They probably judge a book by its covers too. Its really sad they dont make more games like this. All of my best games come from 10 years ago. Baldurs Gate, Planescape Torment... Final Fantasy 7. I don't know which is better. Fallout series... God... I wish they would just dump the graphics and start making good old games with good story... Expand
  83. DavidH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Why in the name of God did I never play this game ten years ago? I'll say it... it puts ever other game I've played to shame. Okay, the characters and story aren't exactly the stuff of high art (Barret is about as cardboard as they come), but you care about them and they make you laugh. Still today, the level of depth this game offers is astonishing. When I eventually Why in the name of God did I never play this game ten years ago? I'll say it... it puts ever other game I've played to shame. Okay, the characters and story aren't exactly the stuff of high art (Barret is about as cardboard as they come), but you care about them and they make you laugh. Still today, the level of depth this game offers is astonishing. When I eventually complete it (and I don'tm want to do that until I've beaten Weapon), onto IX and Tactics for something more challenging. Expand
  84. Jon
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Best RPG I have ever played.
  85. ChristianS.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    For me this is the better game of my life. I love the storyline and im waiting if there is a release for the PS3, try to serach in youtube "final Fantasy VII PS3". The graphics doesnt means if this a good game, this game has relesed in 1997, and for these times the graphics was cool. If you are a RPG fan, you must try this game, the Materia system is addicting as hell and im still playing For me this is the better game of my life. I love the storyline and im waiting if there is a release for the PS3, try to serach in youtube "final Fantasy VII PS3". The graphics doesnt means if this a good game, this game has relesed in 1997, and for these times the graphics was cool. If you are a RPG fan, you must try this game, the Materia system is addicting as hell and im still playing since 2005 =D. Expand
  86. AndyO.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    FInaly Fantasy VII is the greatest game ever. Amazing graphics for it's time, memorable characters (love them or hate them you know who Cloud and Sephiroth are), great story, and amazingly successful. This game is the reason I play RPG's still, I long for something close to FFVII.
  87. Neen
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    I have played every FF game and this one still holds top spot. But don't take my word for it, play it all the way through with an open mind, and remember that this was the first 3D final fantasy title and that the achievements made at that time were phenomenal. If you look into the underlying templates of history and religion expressed in this game you will understand why it is so popular.
  88. IsaacM.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    My favourite game of all time. The best story, the best baddie, the most shocking twist at the end of disc 1 (yes all you who have played it know what I mean and shed a tear or 2). The 1st time I played this game was in 1998 and I was in awe!! The most inspired story telling I have yet to see in a game. There is no better RPG period!! That includes all the RPG's to come!!!
  89. LukeG.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The storyline was amazing and flawless. I have prbly played this game through many times on the pc and playstation the 6 years ive owned it and still want more. It was my first RPG i had ever played and i thought i would find better later on, but i didnt! Wow what a great game!
  90. AlasdairD.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is, quite simply, the single greatest game ever made. It is perfection. It's also really cheap now, so even if you have to forgo buying food for a few days, do so.
  91. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This is simply one of the best RPGs ever made, and possibly the single best RPG ever made. The materia system allows for a great deal of flexibility in what your characters can do, which makes for good gameplay, and while there are some "cheap tricks" generally they aren't obvious until the second time through (which obviously means it was good enough for a replay). The story is This is simply one of the best RPGs ever made, and possibly the single best RPG ever made. The materia system allows for a great deal of flexibility in what your characters can do, which makes for good gameplay, and while there are some "cheap tricks" generally they aren't obvious until the second time through (which obviously means it was good enough for a replay). The story is quite good and engaging and the characters are well developed and it is very possible to empathize with them. The reality of the past is quite entertaining, and it is great to see both the future and the past revealed throughout the game. The storyline is good enough that the game has replay value, and it has a lot of minigames which are entertaining. The pacing of the story is excellent and it feels like you're making constant progress throughout the game towards the ending, with story scattered throughout. All in all, an excellent RPG, and one I'd highly reccommend to anyone, even someone who doesn't play RPGs. Expand
  92. JerkGuy
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    I have little if not any respect or regard for anyone
  93. JoeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Totally agree with Chris C, this is the best game I have ever played. I hold it in such high regard that I compare no other game to it, because its just pointless. What really sickens me is people giving this game a big fat 0. Obviously, the only reason they do this is because they want to bring the overall average down because, in their opinion, its too high. There is no other reason for Totally agree with Chris C, this is the best game I have ever played. I hold it in such high regard that I compare no other game to it, because its just pointless. What really sickens me is people giving this game a big fat 0. Obviously, the only reason they do this is because they want to bring the overall average down because, in their opinion, its too high. There is no other reason for giving this a zero because you simply cant justify it. If you ask me, I will only ever give a game a zero if I open the box and suddenly see that the disk isnt there. Expand
  94. SophieB.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    After about 9 years of playing video games constantly (since about the age of 6, and I'm still only 15 and probably have a lot more games to play ^-^) I can safely say this is my favourite game ever. Even if the graphics are dated, you need to remember how long ago this was made - and a game which is as complex and well-plotted as fun and addictive is rare.
  95. MarkC.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    I would say this is the greatest game ever made, everything about it is amazing. The story is what all rpg's should aspire to, because it brings you in so easily, and gets you so involved. I have never felt heartbroken for a caracter in a game, but at one point in the game you'll see what I mean. It is a very long game, I think when I finally beat it I had played 58 hours, that I would say this is the greatest game ever made, everything about it is amazing. The story is what all rpg's should aspire to, because it brings you in so easily, and gets you so involved. I have never felt heartbroken for a caracter in a game, but at one point in the game you'll see what I mean. It is a very long game, I think when I finally beat it I had played 58 hours, that right there speaks volumes about the games quality and story. Anyone who hasn't played this game really needs to go out and get it. Expand
  96. DaveW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    I can see nothing to complain about with FFVII. The story is excellent, the world is well thought, and the gameplay is solid. I believe that it has yet to be surpassed in the RPG genre since everything went 3D. There are those games where everything comes together to form an experience, this is one of those rare wonders.
  97. ChrisC.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game ever created. A must buy and all of that jazz. Look at how many people gave it a 10, and then look at how many people gave it a 0. Not to mention that the people who didn't like the game (how, I will never know) never explain why. "Oh, well....the music is bad." Yes, the music is so bad that there are orchestras that tour the U.S. playing the entire FFVII score Easily the best game ever created. A must buy and all of that jazz. Look at how many people gave it a 10, and then look at how many people gave it a 0. Not to mention that the people who didn't like the game (how, I will never know) never explain why. "Oh, well....the music is bad." Yes, the music is so bad that there are orchestras that tour the U.S. playing the entire FFVII score and it sells out instantly. I still get songs from the game stuck in my head probably about twice a week. "CLOUD LOOKS LIKE HE HAS HORSE HOOVES FOR HANDS" Yeah, well, how about you try and go back to 1997 (yes kids, thats a bit over TEN (10) years) with a developer's kit for PS1 and try to do a better job. I am sorry that FFVII does not satisfy every orgasmic graphical, extreme realism, and high definition desire that you've ever wanted. To be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if every person who gave a low rating due to graphics is an Xbox360 fanboi. In any event, if you have not played FFVII, I would suggest stopping what you are doing, and running to the nearest EB/Gamestop/Rhino to pick up a copy. The story is phenomenal, the music is widely acclaimed, and the gameplay is intricate and detailed enough that you can customize your playing style, but not so complicated that you get left behind before you can even learn the system. Yes, the game is long. It is very long. It's even longer if you do all the side quests and other fun stuff that they threw in there. The length of the game is something that I love. I have played the game start to finish probably at least 6 or 7 times. Stop reading this and go play it. (and Final Fantasy Tactics, too) Expand
  98. GerryD.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    FF 7 was the first FF I ever played, around five years ago, since then I have not found one game anywhere neart as good as this. This is the only game I would ever consider giving a ten. The plot here is much better than any other games which are considered to have amazing plots like deus ex or half life. Even the latest FF's dont give me the same satifaction as this.
  99. ThomasH.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game ever created. If you've never played it, then just play it, and you'll see exactly what we're all talking about.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brought RPGs into the Western spotlight and contained the most debated plot twist of an era. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. You can play the game time and time again. Always finding something new, from a new piece of materia to a new place, to defeating the ultimate weapons. The story twists and turns all the time always keeping you guessing as to what will happen next.
  3. Without a doubt, FF7 is one of the top Final Fantasy games out there. It is also one of the best RPG adventures of all time.