Final Fantasy VII PlayStation

Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic adventure across 3 cd-roms. What begins as a rebellion against an evil corporation becomes much more. And what erupts goes beyond imagination. With vivid landscapes, lush 3D animation and environments, Square Soft's multi-million dollar masterpiece is like nothing ever seen before.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless, from its movie inspired soundtrack, to the incredibly life-like FMV, to the detailed battle and Materia systems, to the boatload of simplistic and addictive mini-games. This is what RPG fans have been waiting for.
  2. The first PS one installment of Final Fantasy is still one of the best ever. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. This is the current apex in RPG games. In fact it is probably one of the best OVERALL games ever created for ANY system.
  4. Without a doubt, FF7 is one of the top Final Fantasy games out there. It is also one of the best RPG adventures of all time.
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brought RPGs into the Western spotlight and contained the most debated plot twist of an era. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. netjak
    84
    I think the story sucks, but the game is excellent. The thing about Final Fantasy VII is, whether you like it or hate it, the merits of the game can always be argued very strongly from either point.
  7. There is tons of RPG combat, which is a little too slow for some people and slowed even further by all of the spectacular but lengthy spell animations.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 345
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Truly genius. Quite possibly one of the greatest games to ever exist. Square has crafted something that truly sets the bar for what makes aTruly genius. Quite possibly one of the greatest games to ever exist. Square has crafted something that truly sets the bar for what makes a good game. A majority of the games released in the past 4 years don't even remotely compare to the quality in which this game contains. This epic spanning three disks hold a plethora of greatness. From some of the best fictional character of all time to some of the coolest attack animations I've ever seen. This game excels in basically all areas. The required boss fights are all fun & with in reasonable expectation of difficulty. The side quest for the most part follow in this vein save with some exceptions hence the reason it's deserving of a 9.5 instead of a 10 contrary to what my above rating suggests. The gameplay is turned based or more specifically ATB done debatably at its finest. The weapon, armor, magic, & summon selections are superb. Sephiroth & his battle theme hold to this day as the best of the best in regards to both villains & music. Overall a phenomenal game that outdoes others in the Final Fantasy series effortless such as Final Fantasy lll, Vl, IX, Xl, Xll, Xlll, Xlll-2, Xlll-3, & quite possibly more. Expand
  2. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This is simply one of the best RPGs ever made, and possibly the single best RPG ever made. The materia system allows for a great deal of This is simply one of the best RPGs ever made, and possibly the single best RPG ever made. The materia system allows for a great deal of flexibility in what your characters can do, which makes for good gameplay, and while there are some "cheap tricks" generally they aren't obvious until the second time through (which obviously means it was good enough for a replay). The story is quite good and engaging and the characters are well developed and it is very possible to empathize with them. The reality of the past is quite entertaining, and it is great to see both the future and the past revealed throughout the game. The storyline is good enough that the game has replay value, and it has a lot of minigames which are entertaining. The pacing of the story is excellent and it feels like you're making constant progress throughout the game towards the ending, with story scattered throughout. All in all, an excellent RPG, and one I'd highly reccommend to anyone, even someone who doesn't play RPGs. Expand
  3. May 28, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this gameFinal Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this game truly deserves a medal. I honestly believe that it is the best game that has ever been made based on several factors. For me, Storyline is a big factor. FF7 is a game that actively progresses through the story. There are no long breaks where nothing seems to happen. The actual battling is turn based, rapid, and thrilling. Containing an almost never ending assortment of difficult and amusing enemies and bosses that will keep you entertained throughout all three disks. The plot is immense, with surprises, twists, and excitement up until the stunning climax. Graphics wise, the game is not lacking. Although the characters may be somewhat blocky, the battles and cut scenes are magnificent. The soundtrack is one of my favorite parts of the game. The soundtrack fits well with the gameplay and the battle themes are just amazing. Overall, I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  4. Zorprime
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Hands down the greatest rpg i've ever played.
  5. GerryD.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    FF 7 was the first FF I ever played, around five years ago, since then I have not found one game anywhere neart as good as this. This is the FF 7 was the first FF I ever played, around five years ago, since then I have not found one game anywhere neart as good as this. This is the only game I would ever consider giving a ten. The plot here is much better than any other games which are considered to have amazing plots like deus ex or half life. Even the latest FF's dont give me the same satifaction as this. Expand
  6. May 30, 2015
    10
    This is the most memorable game you can find, and the best. There are so many epic characters, fantastic gameplay, lovely world map, andThis is the most memorable game you can find, and the best. There are so many epic characters, fantastic gameplay, lovely world map, and AWESOME story!

    You have many interesting and epic hours if you want to do the story, and even more fun hours if you want to do all of the side quests. This game has also very high replay value, because when you are finished with the game, you will miss everyone and starts the game again after a short period.

    The soundtrack on this game is a Masterpiece, you will love it! There are many emotional parts on this game, that is hard to forget. I know the graphics are not perfect, but it's very nostalgic!

    This is the greatest game of all time in my personal opinion. Play this game NOW!
    Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2015
    0
    Story,Characters,Twists, Blah Blah Blah. It's good for a game to have a decent story once in a while, but the gameplay still has to be goodStory,Characters,Twists, Blah Blah Blah. It's good for a game to have a decent story once in a while, but the gameplay still has to be good for it to be a good game. All you do in this is sit through cutscenes, walk around a little, go through a tedious combat section, sit through more cutscenes, read some dialogue, walk around, another boring combat section, more dialogue, more cutscenes, and then it's over. The outdated graphics don't help either. Expand

See all 345 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997