Final Fantasy VII PlayStation

Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic adventure across 3 cd-roms. What begins as a rebellion against an evil corporation becomes much more. And what erupts goes beyond imagination. With vivid landscapes, lush 3D animation and environments, Square Soft's multi-million dollar masterpiece is like nothing ever seen before.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless, from its movie inspired soundtrack, to the incredibly life-like FMV, to the detailed battle and Materia systems, to the boatload of simplistic and addictive mini-games. This is what RPG fans have been waiting for.
  2. The first PS one installment of Final Fantasy is still one of the best ever. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. This is the current apex in RPG games. In fact it is probably one of the best OVERALL games ever created for ANY system.
  4. Without a doubt, FF7 is one of the top Final Fantasy games out there. It is also one of the best RPG adventures of all time.
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brought RPGs into the Western spotlight and contained the most debated plot twist of an era. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. netjak
    84
    I think the story sucks, but the game is excellent. The thing about Final Fantasy VII is, whether you like it or hate it, the merits of the game can always be argued very strongly from either point.
  7. There is tons of RPG combat, which is a little too slow for some people and slowed even further by all of the spectacular but lengthy spell animations.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 350
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The first game that ever made me feel something for the characters. I cried when Aeris died and rejoiced when I beat the game. I studied theThe first game that ever made me feel something for the characters. I cried when Aeris died and rejoiced when I beat the game. I studied the strategy guide like a text book from school. I spent a good chunk of a summer playing this game and it holds a special place in my heart. It may not have aged very well but to me it doesn't matter. I know one day they'll do a complete remake and I'll purchase it no matter what. The direction the series has gone the last ten or so years is disappointing. I don't know how square enix doesn't understand what made these games so great. It was the exploration and open world feel with steady progression. There was nothing like finally getting the knights of the round summon after all those chocobo races and ripping through every enemy with that summon. I loved the materia system I wish they would do it again in another ff game. People that hate on this game only do it because they didn't play the game when it came it. It hasn't aged too well graphics wise but you can't compare it to today's graphics. It's not fair. You can't say Mario bros is a **** game because of the graphics or that golden eye is **** because of the controls. You have to have experienced the games you rate when they came out. Great story, great music, fantastic open world feel, there aren't many games that can compare to ff7. Most people that played it when it came out know that. Best jrpg ever. Expand
  2. JustinL.
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    Get ready for Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children!!!
  3. May 28, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this gameFinal Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this game truly deserves a medal. I honestly believe that it is the best game that has ever been made based on several factors. For me, Storyline is a big factor. FF7 is a game that actively progresses through the story. There are no long breaks where nothing seems to happen. The actual battling is turn based, rapid, and thrilling. Containing an almost never ending assortment of difficult and amusing enemies and bosses that will keep you entertained throughout all three disks. The plot is immense, with surprises, twists, and excitement up until the stunning climax. Graphics wise, the game is not lacking. Although the characters may be somewhat blocky, the battles and cut scenes are magnificent. The soundtrack is one of my favorite parts of the game. The soundtrack fits well with the gameplay and the battle themes are just amazing. Overall, I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  4. ShinjiK.
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    This game is so amazing it raises the question: Are humans really capable of creating something so beautiful?
  5. GerryD.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    FF 7 was the first FF I ever played, around five years ago, since then I have not found one game anywhere neart as good as this. This is the FF 7 was the first FF I ever played, around five years ago, since then I have not found one game anywhere neart as good as this. This is the only game I would ever consider giving a ten. The plot here is much better than any other games which are considered to have amazing plots like deus ex or half life. Even the latest FF's dont give me the same satifaction as this. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    First game i ever play, and its my favourite game, its almost awsome in everything, amazing storyline, the soundtrack is fuking amazing, theFirst game i ever play, and its my favourite game, its almost awsome in everything, amazing storyline, the soundtrack is fuking amazing, the combat system was pretty good for that time and the freaking awsome cut-scenes,the only 2 problems i catch was this 2 characters models that awfull for me Barret and Cait' Sith and Cloud rocket hands just that. I will remember for the rest of my days the time expend playing this game. No game catch me like this one. But maybe one day another game will catch me. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2017
    0
    El peor videojuego de la historia. Gráficos 0, Las cinemáticas muy bonitas pero en el gameplay los personajes no tienen manos, llevan dosEl peor videojuego de la historia. Gráficos 0, Las cinemáticas muy bonitas pero en el gameplay los personajes no tienen manos, llevan dos piezas de jamón cocido en su lugar. Sistema de intercambio de golpes por turnos, no se puede considerar ni sistema de combate. Una auténtica basura. Expand

See all 350 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997