Final Fantasy VII PlayStation

Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1409 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic adventure across 3 cd-roms. What begins as a rebellion against an evil corporation becomes much more. And what erupts goes beyond imagination. With vivid landscapes, lush 3D animation and environments, Square Soft's multi-million dollar masterpiece is like nothing ever seen before.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy VII - Legacy Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless, from its movie inspired soundtrack, to the incredibly life-like FMV, to the detailed battle and Materia systems, to the boatload of simplistic and addictive mini-games. This is what RPG fans have been waiting for.
  2. The first PS one installment of Final Fantasy is still one of the best ever. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. This is the current apex in RPG games. In fact it is probably one of the best OVERALL games ever created for ANY system.
  4. Without a doubt, FF7 is one of the top Final Fantasy games out there. It is also one of the best RPG adventures of all time.
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brought RPGs into the Western spotlight and contained the most debated plot twist of an era. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. netjak
    84
    I think the story sucks, but the game is excellent. The thing about Final Fantasy VII is, whether you like it or hate it, the merits of the game can always be argued very strongly from either point.
  7. There is tons of RPG combat, which is a little too slow for some people and slowed even further by all of the spectacular but lengthy spell animations.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 355
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    This game gets an unfair bad rap because of the damage applied via the Compilation, and a vast majority of the complaints don't even apply toThis game gets an unfair bad rap because of the damage applied via the Compilation, and a vast majority of the complaints don't even apply to this game. Sure, the graphics haven't aged well, but everything else in this game is solid. The battle system is perfect, and the storyline, though complicated at first glance, will fall into place if you play through from beginning to end. FFVII is a masterpiece of an RPG that no gamer should miss out on. Expand
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this gameFinal Fantasy VII is an experience that everyone should try at least once. I have played through it a few times and I can say that this game truly deserves a medal. I honestly believe that it is the best game that has ever been made based on several factors. For me, Storyline is a big factor. FF7 is a game that actively progresses through the story. There are no long breaks where nothing seems to happen. The actual battling is turn based, rapid, and thrilling. Containing an almost never ending assortment of difficult and amusing enemies and bosses that will keep you entertained throughout all three disks. The plot is immense, with surprises, twists, and excitement up until the stunning climax. Graphics wise, the game is not lacking. Although the characters may be somewhat blocky, the battles and cut scenes are magnificent. The soundtrack is one of my favorite parts of the game. The soundtrack fits well with the gameplay and the battle themes are just amazing. Overall, I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  3. Zorprime
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Hands down the greatest rpg i've ever played.
  4. JoeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Totally agree with Chris C, this is the best game I have ever played. I hold it in such high regard that I compare no other game to it, Totally agree with Chris C, this is the best game I have ever played. I hold it in such high regard that I compare no other game to it, because its just pointless. What really sickens me is people giving this game a big fat 0. Obviously, the only reason they do this is because they want to bring the overall average down because, in their opinion, its too high. There is no other reason for giving this a zero because you simply cant justify it. If you ask me, I will only ever give a game a zero if I open the box and suddenly see that the disk isnt there. Expand
  5. TomF.
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    Greatest game of all time.
  6. RyanL.
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    I thought this was a great game but I liked 8 alittle more but other then that one of my top 10s and for those idiots who thinks this game I thought this was a great game but I liked 8 alittle more but other then that one of my top 10s and for those idiots who thinks this game sucks cuz of graphics or no voice acting can go suck a nut you guys arent gamers at all just wanna bes this rpg revolutionized the rpg world nothing came close to it and remember this was made back in 1997. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2017
    0
    It's stupid how people claim this game was "revolutionary" while level design wise it's the same as any generic turn based JRPG at ps1 or 16It's stupid how people claim this game was "revolutionary" while level design wise it's the same as any generic turn based JRPG at ps1 or 16 bits. Different skins and story, but level design wise they are the same. If I can find 100 clones at the same era then it can't be revolutionary.
    Obviously SONY should have bought the media to spread this misinformed speech.

    I can't stand this blonde MC playing as the cult "depressive" while being the fearless immortal who beats everyone just because yes. And those 2 hentai dolls Tifa & Aerith that makes the most disgusting love triangle ever. As for the so acclamed "villain", he is just like an autist with generic visuals - at the time it was really a trend to make anime characters with long silver hair. The talkable "pet" is also a generic element - In fact at this point I started doubting if this was inspired by InuYasha somehow. The big black guy for comic relief, ugh boring. And one of the worst things that can happen to a narrative is the story of this game: Everyone become friends to fight against the supreme villain of evil.
    Expand

See all 355 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

2
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
2
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997