Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. 100
    Involving and exciting characters, storylines, and battles keep you glued to your seat - and keep you from noticing the many hours you spend playing this amazing game.
  2. 100
    Involving and exciting characters, storylines, and battles keep you glued to your seat - and keep you from noticing the many hours you spend playing this amazing game.
  3. This game looks amazing. There is simply nothing out there that can even compare to it on the PlayStation, and it's unlikely that we're going to see anything to rival it any time soon.
  4. Pack[ed] with stunning FMV, well-developed characters, and a touching story that revolves round the theme of love. [Nov 2001, p.46]
  5. 100
    This game looks amazing. There is simply nothing out there that can even compare to it on the PlayStation, and it's unlikely that we're going to see anything to rival it any time soon.
  6. Spanning four discs, this is a massive RPG. You can try and skate through it in 50 hours but can easily spend over a 100 hours playing if you decide to take on all of the side games, collect all of the Cards and experience all there is to experience from this game.
  7. 98
    Spanning four discs, this is a massive RPG. You can try and skate through it in 50 hours but can easily spend over a 100 hours playing if you decide to take on all of the side games, collect all of the Cards and experience all there is to experience from this game.
  8. A work of Tolkeinesque proportions and not only the greatest RPG of our times, but one of the greatest games of all time. Wholeheartedly recommended.
  9. 96
    A work of Tolkeinesque proportions and not only the greatest RPG of our times, but one of the greatest games of all time. Wholeheartedly recommended.
  10. Cast all fears aside: the latest Final Fantasy is the greatest game ever to bear the name.
  11. 95
    Cast all fears aside: the latest Final Fantasy is the greatest game ever to bear the name.
  12. Between the story, the beautiful graphics, music score, and the insanely enthralling card game mini-game, Final Fantasy VIII does the series proud.
  13. Teens in clam diggers save the world again. Doesn't have "FFVII's" rep, though. [Jan 2004, p.188]
  14. 95
    Teens in clam diggers save the world again. Doesn't have "FFVII's" rep, though. [Jan 2004, p.188]
  15. 95
    Between the story, the beautiful graphics, music score, and the insanely enthralling card game mini-game, Final Fantasy VIII does the series proud.
  16. My baby, my sweet, precious little FF8. How I love thee, let me tell the ways; Triple Triad, Rinoa, the incrediblly sweet and fresh magic system and Junction, the beyond jaw-dropping FMV's, Rinoa, the biggest surprise Air Ship yet in any FF..
  17. 93
    My baby, my sweet, precious little FF8. How I love thee, let me tell the ways; Triple Triad, Rinoa, the incrediblly sweet and fresh magic system and Junction, the beyond jaw-dropping FMV's, Rinoa, the biggest surprise Air Ship yet in any FF..
  18. This is, in all possibility, the most stunningly attractive game the PlayStation has ever known.
  19. 92
    This is, in all possibility, the most stunningly attractive game the PlayStation has ever known.
  20. A great game, but not a perfect one. The battles and junction system have their flaws. At times you'll be too powerful; at other times, you'll just be drawing spells to gain strength. But the long ending that waits in store will make up for most of the negatives.
  21. Aside from the true graphics engine, Square has gone above and beyond the call of duty with FFVIII's Full Motion Video sequences. The CG's quality is unmatched.
  22. Things were more "real" this time around. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  23. 90
    Things were more "real" this time around. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  24. 90
    For every moment of breathtaking delight, there are a dozen predictable, endless battle sequences.
  25. A must get for any serious RPG gamer. Looks great sitting next to Final Fantasy VII.
  26. 90
    A must get for any serious RPG gamer. Looks great sitting next to Final Fantasy VII.
  27. 90
    For every moment of breathtaking delight, there are a dozen predictable, endless battle sequences.
  28. The game's major weakness is in the combat system - there's too many loopholes that can be exploited with the Draw technique, making combat tedious and mundane after a while.
  29. May not be the perfect game everyone expects from Square, but I challenge any FF player to get into it and not get hooked.
  30. Though complicated and with the occasional fault, it could be remembered as the greatest Final Fantasy game through the 32-bit era.
  31. I just can't say enough about the graphics in this game either. After you play all the way throuugh this game, you will not be able to say that you did not get your money's worth.
  32. 86
    I just can't say enough about the graphics in this game either. After you play all the way throuugh this game, you will not be able to say that you did not get your money's worth.
  33. Unfortunately while the game is graphically superior to FFVII, in terms of setting, story and controls it lags way behind.
  34. 80
    Unfortunately while the game is graphically superior to FFVII, in terms of setting, story and controls it lags way behind.
  35. For all its depth, though, I quickly discovered that I had little control of the game after the early part of it.
  36. 80
    For all its depth, though, I quickly discovered that I had little control of the game after the early part of it.
  37. Somehow, a little bit lost in the beauty and the emotion of Final Fantasy VIII is the actual game system.
  38. 75
    Somehow, a little bit lost in the beauty and the emotion of Final Fantasy VIII is the actual game system.
  39. Final Fantasy VIII has been called an epic game. And it is, if epic means "boring."
  40. 70
    Final Fantasy VIII has been called an epic game. And it is, if epic means "boring."
  41. 49
    A travesty. A mockery of the good name of Final Fantasy.
  42. 49
    A travesty. A mockery of the good name of Final Fantasy.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 102
  2. Negative: 6 out of 102
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Guardian Forces are easy to exploit but other than that, this game is the closest thing to perfection unleashed on mankind. Gameplay is fun, graphics are playable (even today), story is great and the game has the deepest, most beautiful cast of characters ever created in the world of video games. If you like RPGs, you will fall in love with FFVIII. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This game knows how to suck you in. The Junction System may seem weird first but offers many possibilities for different combinations. The Story, altough getting a little stuck in the end, is pretty epic. It focuses on the main chara like no other RPG, probably also a reason why the other characters come a bit short. The Soundtrack is great, the battle system very smooth. Superb Game. Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    The best Final Fantasy game ever made, bar non.
    Final Fantasy 8 is the best game in the series and it has the best character depth, the true
    emotions used throughout the game made it an experience I have never forgotten about since I was a kid.
    Squall, for me, Has to be the best character throughout any Final Fantasy game too.
    The combat system was the best used and this game had the best guardian forces too, the game dosent hold your hand in any way and back on the PS1 days people had to have an imagination not a baby step guide to play games. I miss the SquareSoft games because SquareEnix just can't make a good Final Fantasy game. I praise the recent Hitman but Final Fantasy they really are killing. The best games of Final Fantasy go, FF8>10>7>9. 7 is not the best in the series!
    Full Review »