Final Fantasy VIII PlayStation

Final Fantasy VIII Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in Final Fantasy takes the series to the next level. Final Fantasy VIII combines an epic storyline with dynamic role-playing elements, breathtaking music, and well-defined characters. The world of Final Fantasy VIII comes to life in a dazzling display of digital artistryThe next chapter in Final Fantasy takes the series to the next level. Final Fantasy VIII combines an epic storyline with dynamic role-playing elements, breathtaking music, and well-defined characters. The world of Final Fantasy VIII comes to life in a dazzling display of digital artistry that spans four CDs. With the addition of an hour worth of CG animation, a new "Junction" system, and compatibility with the Dual Shock Analog Controller, Final Fantasy VIII is a breathtaking addition to the series. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Involving and exciting characters, storylines, and battles keep you glued to your seat - and keep you from noticing the many hours you spend playing this amazing game.
  2. Spanning four discs, this is a massive RPG. You can try and skate through it in 50 hours but can easily spend over a 100 hours playing if you decide to take on all of the side games, collect all of the Cards and experience all there is to experience from this game.
  3. Between the story, the beautiful graphics, music score, and the insanely enthralling card game mini-game, Final Fantasy VIII does the series proud.
  4. The game's major weakness is in the combat system - there's too many loopholes that can be exploited with the Draw technique, making combat tedious and mundane after a while.
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    Things were more "real" this time around. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. I just can't say enough about the graphics in this game either. After you play all the way throuugh this game, you will not be able to say that you did not get your money's worth.
  7. netjak
    49
    A travesty. A mockery of the good name of Final Fantasy.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 130
  1. NaomiM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This game is not a mockery, i really like it and the story, yeah, its got some problems, but they all do! This is one of the best! Better than 7!
  2. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, full of original ideas for its time, epic story line with loads of side quests and hidden bosses. Would love a graphicallyAmazing game, full of original ideas for its time, epic story line with loads of side quests and hidden bosses. Would love a graphically updated re-release :) Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    My favorite Final Fantasy Game!
    It was my second game on playstation 1, and I will remember forever!
    Betten then 7! Saddly most people just
    My favorite Final Fantasy Game!
    It was my second game on playstation 1, and I will remember forever!
    Betten then 7! Saddly most people just talk about 7 =/
    Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This game is definitly one of the best, love the junctions and it has more summons than all of the others which is cool. It has betterThis game is definitly one of the best, love the junctions and it has more summons than all of the others which is cool. It has better gameplay than IX however i loved IX story the best of any FF game. the gameplay of VIII isnt as good as VII but it is a better story which wins me over. Now that VII has crisis core and all the other VII's it makes it almost equal, but not quite! Expand
  5. BryanM.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    This is a very good game I also like the mini game. My only problem was the graphics it looks like they tried to make it look so good but This is a very good game I also like the mini game. My only problem was the graphics it looks like they tried to make it look so good but they really made it look bad. Expand
  6. ConcaC.
    Feb 20, 2008
    8
    The graphics are decent, the story unfolds quite nicely, the characters are developing towards uniqueness the end, a large thing bothering me The graphics are decent, the story unfolds quite nicely, the characters are developing towards uniqueness the end, a large thing bothering me is the linear story approach. Of course you have lots of sidequests that can expand the gametime to 80 hours plus and the final boss is really a challenging one. The replay-factor is large, I completed the game about 8 times. The design of the venues is genius. Esthar, Galbadia Garden, Ultimecia's Castle and the Ragnarok are my fav spots. The soundtrack has a couple jewels, for example the Esthar song, the End battle and the tear-jerking "Eyes On Me". Still I couldn't say I had this much "fun" playing it through. It felt too serious to me. It is a great game, still I had more fun with other FF titles. Expand
  7. StephanieR.
    Apr 22, 2008
    0
    One word.. Boring!! Stopped at Disc 2.

See all 130 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
#4 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999