Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in Final Fantasy takes the series to the next level. Final Fantasy VIII combines an epic storyline with dynamic role-playing elements, breathtaking music, and well-defined characters. The world of Final Fantasy VIII comes to life in a dazzling display of digital artistryThe next chapter in Final Fantasy takes the series to the next level. Final Fantasy VIII combines an epic storyline with dynamic role-playing elements, breathtaking music, and well-defined characters. The world of Final Fantasy VIII comes to life in a dazzling display of digital artistry that spans four CDs. With the addition of an hour worth of CG animation, a new "Junction" system, and compatibility with the Dual Shock Analog Controller, Final Fantasy VIII is a breathtaking addition to the series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Involving and exciting characters, storylines, and battles keep you glued to your seat - and keep you from noticing the many hours you spend playing this amazing game.
  2. Spanning four discs, this is a massive RPG. You can try and skate through it in 50 hours but can easily spend over a 100 hours playing if you decide to take on all of the side games, collect all of the Cards and experience all there is to experience from this game.
  3. Between the story, the beautiful graphics, music score, and the insanely enthralling card game mini-game, Final Fantasy VIII does the series proud.
  4. The game's major weakness is in the combat system - there's too many loopholes that can be exploited with the Draw technique, making combat tedious and mundane after a while.
  5. Things were more "real" this time around. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  6. I just can't say enough about the graphics in this game either. After you play all the way throuugh this game, you will not be able to say that you did not get your money's worth.
  7. 49
    A travesty. A mockery of the good name of Final Fantasy.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 118
  1. NaomiM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This game is not a mockery, i really like it and the story, yeah, its got some problems, but they all do! This is one of the best! Better than 7!
  2. StevenS.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    They will never ever make one as amazing as 7, 8, 9 and 10 ever again. This game is amazing in everyway, should keep you playing for like... They will never ever make one as amazing as 7, 8, 9 and 10 ever again. This game is amazing in everyway, should keep you playing for like... 100 hours... love the soundtrack yeah yeah. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    10
    Best JRPG of all times. Is a little bit better than Final Fantasy VII, which gives it the extra score up to 10 in my opinion. The artisticBest JRPG of all times. Is a little bit better than Final Fantasy VII, which gives it the extra score up to 10 in my opinion. The artistic design is more adult and detailed, the history is more adult too. All game localizations are much more diverse between them and make you wish to explore them. The battle mechanic is improved, using magic as an item and the Guardian Force collecting and summoning. The game is also full of secrets for the player to discover and use in its benefit in later battles. The soundtrack is amazing and helps very well at setting the right gaming ambient. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Even though I have not other wise quite liked RPG games, I enjoyed this game a lot. It has a good mix of humor and seriousness, the combatEven though I have not other wise quite liked RPG games, I enjoyed this game a lot. It has a good mix of humor and seriousness, the combat system works well though GF attacks have too long animation. This game is LONG, taking over 50 hours just to get to the middle of the game, if you haven't played the game before. There are few stupid things, which should have been skipped from the game, but the game is still a must buy to anyone, who still has PS1. Expand
  5. AdamD.
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    This game is really good, but not perfect. The story is top-notch and the cinematics are well-done. It's pretty lengthy (maybe a little This game is really good, but not perfect. The story is top-notch and the cinematics are well-done. It's pretty lengthy (maybe a little too lengthy) and gets you hooked easily. The only problems are the battles and the fact that there is no voice-acting. They could have easily added voice acting and have just made the game five discs instead of four, but they felt the immense urge not to. Instead, we get characters that aren't as emotional because everything they say is in text. They fixed that now, but come on. I would have loved this game to be voice acted. Second of all, the battles are fun, but not incredibly fun. They could have made the battles more intuitive and a lot more fun to play, making you actually want to not run whenever you have a random battle. Overall, though, this is a great game with a great story, good characters, an amazing soundtrack and satisfactory gameplay. Also, to the idiots who rate this and other games 0 out of 10, learn what makes a game bad. If you think the game is boring, it deserves a 6 out of 10, not a 0 out of 10. A 0 out of 10 is for a game that is an absolute disgrace to humanity, a game that no one enjoys and is broken in every way. As far as I am concerned, this game is not like that. Please stop being idiots and give the game a fair rating, unless you really, really, really hate it and think it is as good as Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing. Which, in that case, I would be fine with your rating. However, "boring" does not make the game a Big Rigs. Please rate fairly. Expand
  6. ConcaC.
    Feb 20, 2008
    8
    The graphics are decent, the story unfolds quite nicely, the characters are developing towards uniqueness the end, a large thing bothering me The graphics are decent, the story unfolds quite nicely, the characters are developing towards uniqueness the end, a large thing bothering me is the linear story approach. Of course you have lots of sidequests that can expand the gametime to 80 hours plus and the final boss is really a challenging one. The replay-factor is large, I completed the game about 8 times. The design of the venues is genius. Esthar, Galbadia Garden, Ultimecia's Castle and the Ragnarok are my fav spots. The soundtrack has a couple jewels, for example the Esthar song, the End battle and the tear-jerking "Eyes On Me". Still I couldn't say I had this much "fun" playing it through. It felt too serious to me. It is a great game, still I had more fun with other FF titles. Expand
  7. StephanieR.
    Apr 22, 2008
    0
    One word.. Boring!! Stopped at Disc 2.

See all 118 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?