Gran Turismo 2

PlayStation
  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 1999
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 161
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnsonG.
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    Play this game and start your ENGINE!
  2. BobbyS.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Really goood.
  3. DrewK.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Nice cars and a wide variety.
  4. May 17, 2015
    9
    When I was a kid I played almost 4 hours daily. In that year I think that was the best racing game you can get. Wow. Every single part of this game just screams fun.
  5. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Amazing game, this was a referent for racing games to come, the inclusion on the rally with those physics were key to the success. even now i enjoy a lot playing it.
  6. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This game was one of the most complete racing games of all time. It came with a multitude of cars and tracks, if only racing games now could live up to this standard, I wish they would just remake this game with better graphics because it is damn near perfect.
  7. Dec 14, 2015
    10
    This was the best racing game on PlayStation 1. Also, possibly the best game of PS1 in general. You are a driver who participates in races to buy new cars, install upgrades on cars. It takes many dozens if not hundreds of races until you can buy the best car in the game. However, despite the modest number of race tracks (about a dozen), the races don't feel too repetitive because they feelThis was the best racing game on PlayStation 1. Also, possibly the best game of PS1 in general. You are a driver who participates in races to buy new cars, install upgrades on cars. It takes many dozens if not hundreds of races until you can buy the best car in the game. However, despite the modest number of race tracks (about a dozen), the races don't feel too repetitive because they feel different at different speeds (in different car classes), sometimes they are reversed, or some parts of the track are different, and there are also "endurance" races where your tires wear out and you run 25+ laps. The game is overall pretty hard and the physics of the cars feels realistic. Often if just one wheel touches dirt, the whole car may start spinning and run off the track. Even to start the races, the game requires you to pass 30 training levels ("licences") which teach you to manage sharp turns at high speed and such. This sets the game far apart from the more casual/arcade Need for Speed series. Gran Turismo is demanding to your skill, and you get a feeling of accomplishment when you win races, as they are always hard wins. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2015
    9
    It is a very fun game, but cars were quite slow, Although 9 because of MORE CARS, MORE MAPS, cannot add more, that's my review, metacritic wants me to add more, OVERALL: FUN GAME
  9. CrackS.
    Oct 10, 2002
    10
    I think its the best.
  10. MEAtMan
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Best F...in Game Ever, LUVV IT.
  11. PulmuP.
    Jul 29, 2001
    9
    This game is almost everything I want from a car game, but the graphics could be better.
  12. GinJuice
    Apr 18, 2002
    10
    It's the best.
  13. GTfan
    Jan 15, 2003
    10
    Brilliant.
  14. HoboonthestreetTABERNAKY
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    BEST DAMN GAME EVER!
  15. Soto6895
    Sep 26, 2002
    10
    This game is so fun I can sit around and play it for hours.
  16. HeathK.
    Jul 29, 2002
    10
    This game is hands down the best game ever. The graphics, handling, and upgrades on every car from the '66 Shelby mustand to the Suzuki Escudo are so realistic, true to life, and fun to play. This game is a must have for everyone.
  17. nos_200psi2
    Aug 24, 2002
    9
    This game is hittin, i love the special cars. but there should be more detail and more you can do to a car like choosing from specific parts on racing mods and more upgrades.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    This game ROCKS! As for the spin out part, you gotta know how to drive and play the game for more than 3 minutes. I LOVE THIS GAME!!!
  19. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The greatest racing for the PlayStation and better than the original!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  20. May 29, 2012
    9
    GT2 has everything GT had but more and better. Includes more cars, more tracks and even the new rally mode. The soundtrack was pretty good and the steering was just exquisite. True classic.
  21. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Definitive the best car game you can get on Playstation 1.

    Excellent car sounds, interesting licences, unforgetable music, great performance system, many cool cars to choose, and exciting courses. A really memorable game!
  22. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    My favourite PS1 Racing game without doubt, because there are ton of interesting cars, nice courses, fun career mode and awesome soundtrack! Nostalgic graphics, and challenging in a fun way. You can even tune your car like you wish, and obatin nice prizes and cars when racing to the 1st place.

    Ton of fun, ton of good memories, that's what i call a real game!

Awards & Rankings

1
5
#5 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
2
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. CNET Gamecenter
    100
    Is the game a worthy purchase for GT veterans and racing newcomers alike? The answer is a 400-horsepower yes.
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    The second lap was even better than the first. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  3. CheckOut
    90
    The controls can seem downright impossible to master at first, but with some practice and patience you'll be ripping it up in no time.